We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Laimer Hof
Nearby Hotels
Marc Munchen(Munich)
$151
$131
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$815
$367
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$107
$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Arthotel Munich(Munich)(Great Value!)
$88
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bavaria Boutique Hotel(Munich)
$127
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Eurostars Book Hotel(Munich)(Great Value!)
$115
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Platzl Hotel(Munich)
$321
$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$457
$294
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
anna hotel(Munich)
$277
$180
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark(Munich)(Great Value!)
$101
$82
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,365)
Filter reviews
2,365 results
Traveler rating
1,835
414
91
22
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,835
414
91
22
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnymphenburg palacelargest beer gardenlaim stationtram ticketsquiet neighborhoodminute walkwonderful hostspublic transportationno elevatorfamily run hotelcity centrewithin walking distancecharming hotelthe entire staffhome away from homesmall hotelhighly recommend this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
913 - 918 of 2,365 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very surprised by the wealth of negative comments by another recent reviewer. Sebastian was a fantastic host, the hotel a very classic small European hotel. He attended to all our needs was very forthcoming with information and personable, the booking was well-handled, the room was very charming, and there was a great breakfast. The location is not central, but has very good connections. Most of the sights we wanted to see, the Pinakothek, Allianz Arena, Therme Erding are spread out and require a bit of a commute wherever you stay. The large beergarden is only a 10 minute walk and Nymphenburg only 5 minutes. The neighbourhood is very nice and quiet, as was the room at night. Great experience and my children 11, and 13 loved it and felt very at-home here. We were even able to get our laundry done in-house at very short notice before we left. Could not have been better. And all at an excellent price, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The tower room we had had nice character, and was quiet though it was 3 floors up by stairs. However, I wouldn't feel I was in an authentic European hotel if I didn't have stairs to climb.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biggsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

It is worth noting than many reviews spend an inordinate amount of time on transportation into the city. This hotel requires transportation to see downtown or historical Munich (either public or a car). Also no elevators and lots of stairs. There was no air conditioning so when you are on the top floor you must open the windows which was pleasant in May because the neighborhood is tree lined and quiet. It might be a consideration at other times of the year. Double doors off the hall into the room BUT NEITHER LOCKED!!

Staff is very personable and helpful. Our room was furnished in shabby used furniture from another era, not antique, just used and not very functional. Bathroom was remodeled and well appointed. Maid service was spotty--only one set of over washed napless towels. Personality and fluent English was not enough to counter the disappointment in physical facilities. We had stayed in about 30 different hotels on this trip all booked based on Trip Advisor or Booking.com. This was our only mismatch between description and reality.

Room Tip: Many stairs and no elevators.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laimer_Hof_Munich, Manager at Hotel Laimer Hof, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear guests, dear readers,

I am very sad to learn, that these guests did not like their room. I am running the hotel Laimer Hof together with my wife and approximately 12 employees since 2003. We have many regular guests and try to do all we can to make their stay happy. As our hotel is not too big (23 rooms), we nearly always are successful. Otherwise we would not have been able to "survive" for 11 years...There are over 1000 reviews of happy guests.

Our hotel is just beside the “Nymphenburg Palace”, one of the main attractions of Munich. Unfortunately we cannot be next to all the historical attractions of Munich. The public transportation system of Munich is one of the best of the world. Most of our guests are astonished and admire it. In about 12 minutes our guests are in the heart of the city. And: It is safe at any time and very clean!!

One of our policies is to permit room changes as long as this is possible.

If there was any problem with the the room, its furniture and its decoration we could have given to them another room without any hesitation. Each of our 23 rooms is different. Our hotel is a "historical building" and we are not allowed to change the room sizes, exterior aspect and so on. Nor are we allowed to add an elevator. There are 7 double rooms on the ground floor. If you had told us you could certainly have had one of them. So you would not have had to use the staircase.

No client has to carry his luggage if he does not want to or if he is not able to carry his luggage.
We do ask every single client at his arrival as well as at his departure if he needs any help with the luggage. Please just let us know and we will certainly help you!

Our double doors are automaticaly locked when the client closes the door behind him and nobody can never enter the room. The second interior door is for extra noise reduction. Withhin nearly 12 years of business never nothing got stolen or never anything happened. It will be hard and difficult to find a place and neighborhood more safe than ours in Europe.

As many hotels in Munich we do not have air condition. In Munich we do not really need it. The mountain climate only provides us (unfortunately) with very few hot days each year. But we need a very good and expensive heating system instead.

For us guests who do not inform us that they would like to have another room or that they do not understand how things work or how they are organised are very difficult to handle. On leaving the hotel it is too late to change or to explain and we only may apologize.

So dear reader and guests, please come to the reception, come to us and inform us. Ask questions, please. You are in a different country. Many things have become common in the western world, but there still are differences. We are here to help you and to try to make yourself as comfortable as possible. Give us the chance to make your stay as pleasant for you as possible. We will do our very best!

We are a 3 star family run hotel and not a 5 star luxurious hotel. Due to the good reviews many guests think that automatically the Laimer Hof must be a 5 star hotel at least, but this is a mistake. Our rates are also those of a 3 star hotel and not those of a 5 star hotel. A short glance on our home page shows the reality. Please use the modern information means! It avoids deceptions. We try to have guests who are correctly informed and happy with us and our hotel.

Best greetings from sunny Munich and Nymphenburg Palace

Yours sincerely

Sebastian and Alexandra Rösch (Manager) and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was our second visit as we were there in 2013 and now in 2014. The staff go out of their way to help in anyway possible. While this is a small hotel it has a big heart and sets a great example of how guests should be treated. It is clean and is situated very close to bus stops and the S-Bahn. It is a place where we would visit time and again.

Room Tip: We found the rooms on the top front floor to be very good
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Excellent quiet location if you are intending to visit Schloss Nymphenburg or the Hirschgarten. Easy access to the airport via the S Bahn. Close to a major S Bahn Station and Bus/Tram stops. Small family run Hotel. Staff excellent and very helpful with information on how to get around Munich. Very nice breakfast. Wifi and free use of PC in reception. Would stay here again especially if exploring the west side of Munich.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Austria_Staff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Excellent service from all the staff at the Laimer Hof. Their English language is superb. Their French sounded good too. They go to so much trouble to help. Fantastic.

Transport tickets can be bought at reception which is really helpful, and maps and leaflets are all available.

There is free use of the computer in reception area. There is also a tv in reception as well as in the bedroom.

Breakfast is good, with a wide range of food. Coffee or tea is plentiful, with staff constantly bringing more along at no extra charge.

The room was small, but adequate to use as a base. I particularly liked the German style furniture and the bedstead was very pretty. In contrast the bathroom was modern, with clean towels provided every day. Everything was clean and tidy. Personally, I found the pillow uncomfortable and wouldn't want to have stayed for too many more nights due to this. I'd bring my own next time.

Laim is a lovely district. Very green and quiet and yet within close distance to public transport. The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from a gorgeous (vast) garden and the Nymphenburg Palace. This is a bonus if you want to spend a day in the area. There are various restaurants nearby - French, Italian and a German beergarden. There is also a bakery/small café round the corner for snacks.

I would definitely recommend this for any short stay holiday in Munich if you enjoy peace and quiet and don't want to spend late nights out and about.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunshinetimes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews