We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel in excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good hotel in excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Nothing was too much trouble for Sebastian & the team. They were all friendly & helpful suggesting places to visit & restaurants in the area.

The rooms were very clean & well equipped- the only thing missing was the ability to make tea/coffee in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,581
    386
    83
    19
    3
See reviews for
516
1,048
96
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

From check in to check out this hotel was perfect. Munich is very easily traveled via their public transportation system, so getting to this gem was easy. A little off the main tourist areas, it is very quiet and beautiful in the surrounding residential neighborhood. The night staff person (Jan?) was super helpful in giving recommendations, directions, transportation information, etc. He showed us to the room, suggested good beers to try and was really great to talk to. Perfect location, immaculately clean room, and great wifi! Would recommend to anyone and will definitely return!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be quiet because of hotel's location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coastalsummit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
244 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

It was our first trip to Germany and we chose Munich as our jump off point to view Ludwig II's castles. We booked the hotel online and communicated with the staff for directions. I commend Jan for all his assistance, from carrying our luggage to the 3rd floor to suggesting restaurants for dinner and assisting us in our tours. The hotel is highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr_Bingcarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

The directions from the Hauptbahnhof were clear and easy to follow. Public transportation in Germany is the absolute way to go!

Check in went smoothly and we were offered another chance to add breakfast. The desk clerk was willing and able to help us up the stairs even though we had very heavy luggage.

The first night's dinner recommendation was a local beer garden that looked fun and festive. It would be a great place to visit again in warmer weather or during Octoberfest. Food and beer were good although the waiter spoke only limited English. While there, we witnessed our first, under the restaurant table dog fight! It makes for a good story.

The next day we left early for Neu Shwanstein (sp?) via the tram, train to Fussen, and, city bus from there. At the HBF, we enjoyed getting our Starbucks fix and chowing down on German pastries. The castle was a wonderful, must see place in a simply beautiful area of the world. After a long day of travel were very happy to just buy fruit at a market and have a quiet night.

We began our checkout day by taking our luggage to the HBF and storing it in convenient lockers for the day. From there, it was on to Dachau for an interesting and emotionally draining day. On return, we made the quick walk to the city center to see the clock tower and beautiful old buildings. Very few stores and shops were open because of it being Sunday (this is true in most of Bavaria).

Back at the HBF we took a very efficient train to the Flughafen for our 9 PM flight home.

Laimer Hof is a great hotel in a convenient location with enough activities available right in the neighborhood. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was about right for European standards.

We would love to go back to Munich and will return to this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rockie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Won't repeat the glowing detailed testimonies so well expressed by virtually all the guests who have stayed at the Laimer Hof. In essence this little hotel has special character stamped throughout every aspect of its operation and the entire staff should take a bow for showing how customers should be treated and valued.

If you want to go home with very fond and positive memories of the place and the people who work there do yourself a favour and make the Laimer Hof your accommodation choice in Munich. You won't go wrong!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel had the best service among all the hotels (5) we stayed in during our vacation. The staff speak English fluently and will answer all your questions efficiently. They give suggestions on how to get around the city and provide detailed directions on the map. The have tickets to the subway and tram which you can purchase at the front desk.
The room we stayed in was the turret room. Big, spacious with an old world charm. Fantastic comfortable beds. Bathroom is small but modern. It is in a residential area so it is quiet and very safe.
The location is far from the center but only a 5 minute walk to the Nymphenburg Palace which is a place one must visit when in Munich. Access to public transportation via tram is approximately a 10 min brisk walk. The subway is about 20-30 min walk with your luggage. Breakfast was okay, not a big spread like the other hotels.

Room Tip: For a family of 4 the turret room is great. However, it is on the 3rd floor so if you have difficul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msb444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Exceptional service and attention to detail that matters on a personal level is a scarce commodity these days.

My wife and I got all of that, and more when we stayed at Hotel Laimer Hof in Munich during March 2014.

As owners and hosts, both Sebastian and Alexandra proved that they would go the extra mile – even for guests that they’ve never met, and whom haven’t even arrived yet, as was proved in our case:

I accidentally booked the wrong dates for our special trip. I only discovered this shortly before we were due to arrive, and although Laimer Hof was booked to capacity, Sebastian accommodated us in a special top floor suite, with the most wonderful amenities and extras – at no additional cost even though the mistake was not theirs. Spacious, luxurious, comfortable down to the last minutiae.

They were also extremely helpful and informative on shops, restaurants and activities that suited our unique tastes and wish list, ensuring that we had a very special trip without disappointments and frustrations.

The location of Laimer Hof is absolutely ideal as it’s within close proximity to everything and anything you might want to experience. Sebastian’s warm & friendly disposition, as well as a passion for excellent customer service and an honest realness makes him the best host that we’ve come across in all our travels.

I would recommend Hotel Laimer Hof to anybody without any hesitation. And oh yes, there’s one more thing that deserves special mention... The BREAKFAST... Absolutely sublime!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WReyneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#9 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
3.6 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Property: Hotel Laimer Hof
Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
#14 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing