We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Special Hotel”
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Hervey Bay
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Special Hotel”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed at this hotel two nights before relocating to my tour hotel in central Munich. From the moment I walked through the door until I departed two days later, my stay was perfect. Sebastian and his staff practice what he preaches ... customer satisfaction and true hospitality. My room was very comfortable, breakfast was a lovely way to start one's day in a cheerful, welcoming breakfast room, staff so helpful and obliging. I had a small problem using my IPad and Inga was only too happy to assist. A short walk in very pleasant surroundings to the castle and the beergarten which sells very good food. I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it. Oh, and a special mention of two lovely young gentlemen, Sebastian's twin sons and dog. They made my stay extra enjoyable. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quitosmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,624
    389
    85
    19
    3
See reviews for
531
1,073
96
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have had two 3/4 day stays at Laimer Hof and we are going back in September for the third itme. This hotel suits us very well. Not too large, friendly owner and staff and always interesting people there too. It's not in the centre but in a very nice area, and very well served on the tram and walk from the station for coming and going to the airport. Good value for money too.
Says it all I think!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I can't say enough positive things about this hotel. Myself and other reviewers are not exaggerating when I say the hospitality at Laimer Hof is second to none. Sebastian, his wife and the rest of the staff were amazing from the moment we dragged our jet-lagged behinds in the front door. The hotel location is great, yes, it is in a more residential area, but it's a 10 minute (slow pace) walk to a tram that will take you to 'downtown' in a 15 minute ride. I enjoyed the peaceful respite and neighborhood feel of this hotel. From the hotel we walked to the Biergarten (the largest in Munich) in about 15-20 mins (again, slow pace). And 10 minutes the other direction is the Nymphenberg palace and well maintained grounds that are worth a stroll even if you don't tour the palace museum. There are several restaurants in the area too and more near the tram stop.

Back to the Hotel and their above and beyond service. On the day we went into Munich, Sebastian made us a custom map/itinerary using a city map and highlighting not only what he recommends for site-seeing, but also the best order to see them to avoid any extra hiking across town. The amount of time he spent with us was so special, we felt like he truly wanted us to have a great experience not only at his hotel, but also in his city. Everytime we walked through the lobby a cheerful greeting always awaited us, no matter who was behind the desk. The coffee drinkers in our group also enjoyed a hot cup freshly brewed in the lobby for a fraction of the price you would pay in a café.

We had 2 rooms on the first floor and even with our windows open, I did not notice any noise from cars outside or other guests walking down the hall. Air Conditioning is rare in smaller hotels, so I always travel with a small desktop sized fan for the night stand. Our room was quaint but large windows allowed for great airflow and we had no complaints at night. Other reviewers have mentioned the bathrooms and yes, the shower is small, so ladies may need to shave their legs outside of the shower. The hot water and water pressure were fine, and the small shower is so miniscule in inconvenience in comparison to this ABSOLUTE GEM of a hotel. Stay away from the big name standardized American style hotels and enjoy the culture and hospitality of Hotel Laimer Hof.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I can't praise this hotel enough. I've never had such genuine and welcoming service. Nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is nice too, comfortable rooms, in a nice area with great access to the city.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JSMorgano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairland, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was our first trip to Germany and based on other reviews, we decided to stay at Hotel Laimer Hof. What an excellent choice! Sebastian and the hotel staff were friendly and very accommodating. Everyone was wonderful with directions, how the catch the tram, dining suggestions, etc. The hotel is an absolute gem and sits in a lovely residential neighborhood. We had a parking space next to the hotel, which is a plus. The rooms are spotless, the breakfasts were very good and it was just a over-all enjoyable experience. We are so smitten with Germany, that we have already booked another trip this year to the Deutsch land, and our first stop is Hotel Laimer Hof!

As an aside, the hotel is just a short walk from the Nymphenburg Palace - a must see, the Hirsch Garten - great beer garden, and the tram to downtown Munich. Munich is awesome, and if you get a chance, be sure to stop at Augustiners beer garden. It's on the tram line to Munich.

Happy travels!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

If you are visiting Munich, especially for the first time, then Laimer Hof is the best choice of hotel! Sebastian is super friendly and speaks excellent English. He will make you feel welcomed and will provide detailed info about everything that you need to know about food, transportation, places of interest in and around Munich, etc. The rooms are cozy and well-equipped. Public transportation is available within five very pleasant minutes walk (and is the best way to get around Munich). Also within walking distance are multiple restaurants and the Nymphenburg palace, which is a sight to behold (especially at sunrise).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swidgets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The friendly staff were so helpful and welcoming; they actually served as personal tour guides. While away from the city center, there is good access to public transportation just a short walk away. You can even buy passes from the hotel. There is no elevator and the rooms are small. Both are typical for a small European hotel, especially an older building. This is actually part of the charm. The staff had excellent suggestions for dinner and the hotel breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
3.6 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Property: Hotel Laimer Hof
Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#8 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, very safe and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing