We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Place in Quiet Neighborhood”
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The friendly staff were so helpful and welcoming; they actually served as personal tour guides. While away from the city center, there is good access to public transportation just a short walk away. You can even buy passes from the hotel. There is no elevator and the rooms are small. Both are typical for a small European hotel, especially an older building. This is actually part of the charm. The staff had excellent suggestions for dinner and the hotel breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

945 - 951 of 2,290 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

Visiting Munich again, and we will continue to stay at Hotel Laimer Hof. Staff is great and helpful in every way, The hotel location is ideal -- very safe neighborhood, where I am comfortable with my wife and daughter traveling alone -- including easy access to S-Bahn, tram, and bus. Grocery stores and restaurants nearby. Rooms are very quiet and comfortable. What else can I say? Oh, very reasonable rates!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wcurr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here for many reasons: the staff (who all spoke excellent English) were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast (included) was delicious, plentiful and fresh, the area was very quiet and safe, and there were many choices in walking distance for evening meals. Very close to Nymphenberg Palace (2 blocks)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

For a real taste of Munich, stay at the Lamier Hof. By staying out of the city centre, we found we went to less obvious/touristy places as well as the central Munich must-sees which made our experience more like a holiday and less like a race! The staff's clear explanations as to the public transport near the hotel made the trams easy to use - despite going out into central Munich 2 out of 4 nights, we never needed to get a taxi and relied on the extremely efficient trams. There are good food options near to the Laimer Hof, in particular, the restaurant near to Schloss Nymphenburg or you can take the tram a few stops or borrow one of the Laimer Hof's bikes (for free) and be at the Hirschgarden within 10 minutes. If you are expecting a big chain hotel with lifts, giant baths and room service, you will be disappointed but if your priority is a warm welcome and a stay with character, this is the best hotel in Munich.

Room Tip: Double bed translates as twin bed in german. If you want a queen size bed rather than two single bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatyD507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I spent just a few days here in October and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location is wonderful and extremely quiet at night which is best if you like to escape the busy city center area. The staff were more than willing to provide recommendations of places to visit and even a place to eat based on my beer preference! A very welcoming group at the hotel, I would certainly stay here again for the service alone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stemelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Our group stayed at the Hotel Laimer Hof and had a marvelous time. Staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and very accommodating. Hotel is within walking distance of the Nymphenburg Palace and convenient to trams. Great breakfast. The only draw back was no elevator---but staff transported luggage to each room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

If you want to stay in a Hilton o Sheraton, why not visit Milwaukee And eat at the best local German restaurant?
Have been to Germany many times over the years and the Hotel Laimer Hof is as goodas it gets.the location is perfect! the tram line. Is close by, the neighborhood is upscale and quiet with some excellent and reasonable restaurant within walking distance. Each room is different, comfortable and quiet. the owners are friendly, very knowledge and Accommodating. If you want a great place that's reasonable don't miss the hotel Laimer Hof.

Room Tip: Ask at the desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KVinjeDahlJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#7 of 389 in Munich
1,158 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#3 of 389 in Munich
1,606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 389 in Munich
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 389 in Munich
1,768 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#16 of 389 in Munich
877 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#7 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $84 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, very safe and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing