We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in Munich”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home away from home in Munich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Being a lover of family run boutique hotels as opposed to big chain hotels with no soul, we spotted this hotel before going to Munich and booked three nights. Our expectations were exceeded! what a wonderful experience and the cherry on the top of a wonderful holiday in a beautiful city. I cannot fault Laimer hof in any way, the breakfast was top class, the service fantastic, the rooms perfectly comfortable. The hotel is situated in a quiet, beautiful road which is walking distance from the train and some super little restaurants, including two authentic Bavarian beer gardens. The staff are all so helpful especially Jan, who was our favourite and will go out of their way to advise on queries such as booking overland train tickets, shopping, and all travel enquiries. We had only booked for three nights and tried to extend, but could only get one extra night as they were fully booked, next time we will book our entire stay in Laimer hof. It really was a home from home, and when walking back to the hotel were so excited when we turned the corner and saw our beloved hotel, with its warm reception, comfortable rooms, ultra friendly service, hot showers and comfortable beds!! I can't wait to return to Laimer Hof.

Room Tip: The room at the top is fantastic, old world, romantic and charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,604
    387
    84
    19
    3
See reviews for
525
1,059
96
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

The hotel is clean, comfortable, friendly and excellent value for money. It's a 10 to 15 minute tram ride followed by a short walk from the railway station, in a quiet area though with various shops conveniently nearby the tram stop. Access to the city centre was quick and easy, but we ate at two local restaurants, the better of which, we thought, was the French one just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Our room wasn't huge and the bathroom was compact, but for the price it exceeded my expectations. If I visit Munich again, and I would love to, I would definitely stay at Hotel Laimer Hof again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We found the people at Hotel Laimer Hof were terrific. They bent over backwards to help us have a wonderful experience in Munich. They helped with directions, suggestions for dining, help with customs and procedures with the transit system, and even helped us with our internet connections and electrical connections when we needed help the most. The room was comfortable but not luxurious. The location was not downtown but that was what we were looking for to get a feel of being in a residential neighborhood. Public transit was very close so we could be downtown within 15-18 minutes. We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texas_Cougar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
233 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

This hotel is located in a safe, upscale suburban part of Munich. It is only a few blocks from the train into the center of the city which is about a 15 minute commute. There are at least a dozen restaurants within a ten minute walk, including one of the best beer halls in Munich. It is only two blocks to the Nymphenberg Palace Complex with its extensive gardens.

The hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating. Their service is outstanding. The rooms are average. The mattresses and pillows are typical European fare, thin and not very comfortable. The en-suite bathrooms are the size of a large closet with shower stalls thinner than a telephone booth. All-in-all, it is a bargain at the modest rates they charge.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USAtouristcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from October 19-23 and absolutely loved it! They were so helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Our room was good size and very clean. In loved that we could open the window at night to get fresh air - you don't see that in the States. They are so close to the trolley system which takes you to the Center of Munich, train station and other key places. We have always said this would be our go to hotel when ever we are in Munich. The went up and beyond when we had problems with our airfare. Loved the cold beer when we registers after a long time traveling! We only had breakfast one day due to early tours, but we thought it was substantial for a continental breakfast. GREAT place - we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
233 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at this hotel near romanplatz and the nyemphburg palace. It is about less than half an hr journey from the airport. The hotel staff has kindly arrange taxi transfer for us at a cost of 70 euro each trip which is reasonable as most websites quote about that price.

We had breakfast for only one day. Because we are from Asia and the breakfast spread is mainly western bread and cereals. So we choose to go to other cafes for breakfast instead.

On day one our room was right next to reception and was a little bit noisy when the tourists come back. So we requested to change room. N we got 28which is right at the attic on the third floor. This room is more spacious than the one at ground floor n iit's clean. Only minus factor is there is no lift so we need to carry the luggage up . But the hotel staff are very very kind to help us with the luggage.

Met a few of the counter staff during our 5 days stay. They have been really really helpful n pleasant. The boss is a very cheerful and friendly guy. It is a nice mini hotel which is just less than 15 mins tram ride to city centre and main train station. Not bad.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonghuihua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great Staff. Second to none. I literally love them

The hotel is not luxurious. But, it is not as expensive as many places.

The breakfast is filling and quality, but a bit pricey based on American standards.

Also, the hotel is a good long way from the main town. You have to factor that in. It is literally right beside the Nymph... palace which is a must see.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#7 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
3.6 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Property: Hotel Laimer Hof
Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#10 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, very safe and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing