We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Laimer Hof while we attended the Octoberfest in September. It was a perfect situation as we could easily walk to the bus to go in and out of the city. Our room was very large with great windows that we could open up all the way to let the cool breezes in. As most other reviews have mentioned Sebastian and staff are the most accomodating and helpful of any place we have stayed. Constantly answering questions with a smile and a laugh...can't imagine doing that all day! The breakfast is more than enough, the property is very clean and there are 2 great restaurants within close walking distance. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor in a very large corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tlorourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,580
    386
    83
    19
    3
See reviews for
516
1,048
96
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed three nights during the beginning of Octoberfest. Sebastian and his staff went out of their way to assist us with tips in getting into the Octoberfest, transportation, restaurants and the like. Their breakfast is impeccable, filled with all sorts of fresh goodies. Rooms are on the smallish side BUT are equipped with all amenities and immaculate. Slept like a baby under the comfortable duvet. The owners have gone out of their way to make comfortable cozy places to sit and have a coffee or drink a beer in their beautiful building on the edge of the park. Would stay here EVERY time I am in Munich!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our host was extremely friendly and helpful. The entire staff was very attentive and eager to please. Quiet safe, scenic neighborhood, easy access to transportation, buy bus/tram pass go anywhere. Palace and gardens in easy walking distance, nearby restaurants and shopping. Breakfast was lovely. Room was spacious, and comfortable, price was definitely good value for quality and service received. Enjoyed our visit and would recommend highly.
PS Excellent English so language not a problem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredatlastinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wash dc
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The staff was superior, in every way. Very friendly and helpful. The single room I had was small and not very well appointed. the overall atmosphere at the hotel was very good. Breakfast was traditional in nature. Location is very good, although you do have to walk a bit to get to restaurants and mass transit. We had a car, but found taxis were the best means of getting around.

Room Tip: This is an older building, so the rooms likely all a varied in size and configuration. when booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just returned from 4 nights at this nice hotel. Set a little away from city centre but with easy access via tram or S or U Bahn. Rooms nice and clean with modern good sized bathroom
Staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect
Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

My and my father stayed here last weekend and we thought it was brilliant. The hotel stayy (ALL of them) were really lovely and friendly and nothing was too much bother. They had advice of everything we asked and there was always someone around. The hotel itself is such brilliant building yet the inside it traditionally bavarian! We loved the little touches- haribos on our pillows, the candlelit stairs outside and the fact that renting a bike is free! The location is really good in our opinion but we like to see it all! It is minutes away from the palace- definatly one of the nicest parts of Munich we saw and about a 10/15 minute tram into town but the area itself is lovely as its very near the biggest beer garden in the world and also a smaller one near the palace too. We would totally reccommend this hotel to anyone and they deserve all the credit they get! Thankyou!!

Room Tip: Excellent twin room with modern, clean bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emspiderx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The owners describe themselves as passionate hoteliers. That is no idle boast, but their passion is apparent in every aspect of this hotel. It has a welcoming, comfortable feel from the moment you enter the front door. Even its strikingly elegant appearance from the street is a hint of the ambience inside.

It was 25 years since we lived in northern Germany and a couple more since we visited Bavaria. I chose the hotel mainly because of its Trip Advisor rating and partly because, in my previous life, the office paid for 5-star hotels and sustenance. The Laimer Hof is impressive because it is in a quiet suburb a hop and a skip away from the magnificent Nymphenburg Palace and its gardens, and also near a good variety of restaurants. Just walking around and having a coffee in Romanplatz was educational, yet Munich main station was only a 15-minute tram ride from there and one pass covered my wife and me for three days.

Nothing is too much trouble for Sebastian and Alexandra and their staff. Their advice was always helpful and, as others have said, you tend to feel more like extended family than anonymous guests in a hotel chain. Our original attempt at booking was rejected because of Oktoberfest so we reversed our travel around Bavaria to stay in Munich for four nights from September 10th. Sebastian most days paraded his fine range of lederhosen and accompanying shirts in the spirit of the coming festivities, but I managed to resist all his blandishments to join the clan!

We had a tower room and it was spacious. The bathroom was spotless. Australians and North Americans will concede we have bigger bathrooms, but this was perfectly adequate and the shower was effective.

Breakfast was hearty fare and fuelled you up ready for another day’s sightseeing – or shopping.

I’m a fairly tough marker and I was going to deduct a point because the hotel has no lift. However, Sebastian will gladly take your cases up two floors, with no apparent effort. I have travelled a lot in Germany and in my view this is the best-value accommodation in which I have stayed and undoubtedly the friendliest. A deserved tick of excellence.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Happyladdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#9 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
3.6 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Property: Hotel Laimer Hof
Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
#16 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing