We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in June 2013 for my husband's 50th birthday surprise holiday. It was our 1st visit to Munich and what a good choice. Sebastian gave us a wonderful welcome and provided us with all the information we could possibly need to enjoy our stay, including local eateries, public transport, places to visit and the weather. The hotel is in a lovely quiet residential area within a short walk from Nymphenburg Palace and close to tram links which get you in to Munich in 10 mins. The room was lovely, although very hot as it was 36 degrees but we were provided with a fan so it was bearable. Excellent shower and everywhere was very clean. We tried all the restaurants and beer gardens which were recommended to us and all were excellent. All in all, a lovely little hotel and we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Front facing rooms would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penelope H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,654
    393
    86
    20
    3
See reviews for
541
1,096
96
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in February 13. It's a bit of a trek to get to from the airport; we had to get a train then a bus. we followed directions off the hotel's website but they weren't very clear. We got there eventually.

The staff are very friendly and helpful but the man there could talk and talk. You had to pray he wasn't there so you could make a quick get away out the hotel.

Our room was clean and basic. The furniture is quite odd and eclectic.
Breakfast was good but the same every day. The cost of everything you use is added onto your room. Double check your bill when you pay at the end because we got over charged.

The hotel is near the palace but everything else you need to get a train or bus. The location is not ideal.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xAngel1508xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We recently stayed 3 nights at the Laimer Hof. Frankly, our reactions to the hotel were mixed.

There are good points about this hotel. It is located in a very nice area of Munich and is very close to one of Munich’s main attractions, the Nymphenburg Palace. There are also a number of reasonable eateries nearby, including a beer garden we enjoyed. There can be no faulting Sebastian and his staff when it comes to friendliness and advice-giving. They were extremely helpful.

On the other hand, our room was small. The bathroom was tiny. The shower was the smallest we had ever seen. It was so small that you had to take care when turning lest you inadvertently knock one of the taps and douse yourself with either icy cold or scalding hot water. The hotel is located some distance from the centre of the city. This is probably not so much of an issue when the weather is dry and warm. However, it was an issue for us whilst we were there, during a period of inclement weather. The hotel itself seems a bit on the “tired” side and could do with a revamp.

We do not regret staying there. It was close to some of the sites of Munich. However, having stayed there once I rather doubt that I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Apropos10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

After a long flight from Australia, we were so warmly welcomed & made feel at home. All the staff were exceptionally friendly & helpful. The hotel has such a delightful ambience, & although the rooms are smallish, it did not affect our comfort & enjoyment at all. The breakfasts are so delicious, & beautifully presented, we overindulged every morning! There are restaurants close by for dinner. Public transport is also reasonably convenient for going further afield & exploring the city centre etc. We would not hesitate staying at Laimer Hof again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksolt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here for a total of 4 nights during our recent trip. Well our first room was very very small, it was extremely clean and very quiet. Breakfast room is cute and breakfast and coffee were great. On our return we were unfortunately placed in a very small room again, however our double bed had been given away and my wife and I were forced to sleep in two single beds. The young an at the front desk however was very apologetic and offered us a couple of beers for the inconvenience. Without prompting the next morning, sebastian approached me and had made arrangements for us to be put in a larger tower room for our final night in munich. In addition to this on our way out that day to return our rental car sebastian came running outside to give us a metro ticket, to help us around and also saved us having to purchase one. When we returned later that day, our bags, and all had been carefully taken to our new room (which was an amazing room with tons of windows, great airflow and much bigger in size. When we first got into our room at the laimer hof we did not know how this hotel got such good reviews and ratings. When we left we realized why. Great staff, attentive, friendly and lovely to deal with, but the owner sebastian as well as the young man who had accidentally put us in the wrong room for the night, were just fantastic to deal with. The location is fantastic, the palace is literally around the corner, the streets are quiet and the area is like you are in another small town and not a major city. Metro and tram are easy to walk to, beer gardens are easy to walk to and grocery store is just up the street. Great final impression and great service at a reasonable price (by european standards).
Side note: Do not eat at the italian restaurant il golfo i think its called. It was overpriced, the waiter was snooty, and our lasagna literally tasted (identically tasted), like chef boyardee canned pasta. and they apparently they have the only credit card machine that exclusively only takes german credit cards.

Room Tip: If you can book a tower room, tons of room, great air flow and really cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRSK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

From the moment I stepped into the lobby of the Hotel Laimer Hof, I was greeted by Alexandra and Sebastian, and treated as a "most important" guest. The entire staff is dedicated to friendliness, courtesy and "guest comfort". Sebastian, Alexandra and their staff were/are "at the ready" for answers to, and requests for.... A truly quaint, family owned and wonderfully comfortable B&B. My sincerest appreciation to the Hotel Laimer Hof and everyone who made my stay a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Ask to see rooms before accepting assigned room. I am 6'2" tall and 230 lbs. My room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We made reservations months in advance and requested the Honeymoon Suite for our 54th Wedding Anniversary and was pleased to get it. The hotel is very clean and well kept. The personnel are extremely friendly, genuinely so. They were always available to help with information and with whatever assistance was needed. The breakfast was excellent with many selections. The location was perfect for us with a park about 2oo meters away and a Beer Garden about 600 meters or so away. We plan on another trip to Munich this next year and will certainly stay there.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
1,497 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
1,535 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 383 in Munich
541 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 383 in Munich
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Property: Hotel Laimer Hof
Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#7 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, very safe and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing