We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #2 of 395 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Enterprise, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Laimer Hof for three nights and had a terrific stay. The hotel is located in a nice leafy neighborhood, a short walk to the tram and to Nymphenburg Palace. The staff is terrific. Every staff member that we encountered was very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very nice. We chose this hotel based on the excellent reviews and were very happy with our stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AdeleMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,455
    351
    77
    19
    3
See reviews for
475
963
90
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Read the reviews and so took the plunge...
Very warm welcome from all the staff at this small family run hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and their knowledge and the information they could give on all aspects of Munich was amazing. You want to know how, where, when, then these are the people to ask
The Nymphenburg Palace is literally 5 mins walk away and the hotel is 10 mins walk from the nearest station, 5 mins from the nearest tram stop. The city centre is 15mins away on the train.
Too far out for you?
Don't worry... Public transport in Munich is amazing. A day ticket €10.60 unlimited travel anywhere in the city on the underground, bus, tram or train for up to five adults!
Hotel was spotlessly clean, breakfast was continental buffet style, room was comfortable.
Don't expect 100s of rooms and a busy reception. It's a small hotel, quiet and has great character supported by the positive helpful attitude of the staff.

Room Tip: Didn't see a lift so if you have trouble with stairs make sure you get a room on the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiloSnowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

While the Hotel Laimer Hof is by no means a bells and whistles hotel, the genuine friendliness of the staff and their knowledge of the area is unbeatable. We arrived early and many guests were checking out, but the staff quickly greeted us, let us know our room was not yet ready, allowed us to store our luggage, and gave us directions to get to the Palace, which is in walking distance. They even provided a map with a highlighted route to ensure we did not get lost. When we returned, our room was ready and we took transportation into Munich, again supplied with maps and knowledge from the staff. The rooms are a bit dated, but are comfortable and clean and you will not find better folks running a place than at the Hotel Laimer Hof. We had an early flight, so unfortunately we did not get to enjoy breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejonesy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Laimer Hof Hotel

The hotel fully meets the standards of a 3 star establishment. Its outstanding strength is the quality of the reception staff who know everything worth knowing about Munich and its hinterland and are keen to advise you on the best way to get there. Look out for Jan Poppe on reception, he is excellent. There is plenty of tourist information in the reception area, free WiFi and a PC and printer that is free to use.The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Nymphenburg Palace and has good public transport links with the city centre and the airport. Complaints are dealt with fairly and in a professional manner by the proprietor. Value for money depends upon when you visit. If you coincide with a trade fair (Messe in German) expect to pay top prices at any hotel in the Munich area. Check with the hotel before you visit to see if your dates overlap with a trade fair. Bedrooms are adequately furnished and the breakfast is good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElmarExmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I recently stayed one night only at the Hotel Laimer Hof, and, similarly only one night in the Munich area. With limited time, cold wet weather and a public holiday to contend with, I opted to stay close to the hotel. It was toward the end of the day, so rather than paying to rush around the interior of the Schloss Nymphenburg, I took a leisurely stroll around the grounds,which costs nothing and is a pretty and green treat. The grounds of the world's largest beer garden were empty, with drinkers presumably sheltering indoors, so I headed to the nearby Bavarian restaurant for a hearty, tasty and inexpensive meal. Transport options to Munich town were within a convenient walking distance, and I don't doubt the hotel would be well located for a longer stay.
My small, single room was clean, comfortable and adequate for my brief stopover, though were I staying longer I would prefer something just a little larger and with a spare, functioning power point to charge the mobile phone, etc.
The downstairs lounge/breakfast area has a lovely, warm and cosy atmosphere, with a free pc for visitors' use (as well as the free WiFi).
Staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful and I wished I had more time to enjoy the hotel and the destination.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meander19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Quivira, Kansas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

There is a good reason this small hotel is one of the highest rated hotels in Munich. The service is outstanding, the hotel itself is cozy, the breakfasts are very good, with typical Bavarian bounty of breads, including Bretzels, meats, cheeses, eggs and a wide assortment of other breakfast foods. The dining area is very comfortable and reeks of Gemuetlichkeit. We found it to be in a good location as well to see the attractions in this part of the city. From the nearby tram and S-bahn stops, one can easily explore the rest of the city. Tram and Bahn tickets are for sale at the desk. For a three-day group pass covering two to five people, we paid 10.40 Euros. A real bargain for those who hop around the city by public transportation as we did, especially in inclement weather, which many times prevails in Munich. There are many restaurants and cafes within short walking distances. We ate in the dining halls of the Hirschgarten and Kurgarten beer halls. Both are good but the latter is much quieter. For the former, aim for the family side rooms or you will be overwhelmed by the noise. Of course, both have outside areas, which in the case of the Hirschgarten are vast. This is the largest outdoor beer hall in Munich, sitting thousands. Four ATM machines are located at the tram stop at Romerplatz and two small grocery stores are there as well. Lastly, rare for Munich, the hotel has free parking. Our room was on the small side but comfortable but the bathroom was spacious. The owner and his staff speak excellent English and go overboard helping their guests. We enjoyed our stay immensely. We'll be back!

Room Tip: There are two rooms that can accommodate three people. One is at the end of the corridor on the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biorntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Laimer Hof. The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. The location is perfect if you want a quiet residential neighborhood that's a reasonable streetcar ride to the center if Munich. There are several restaurants in walking distance. Good choice if you're traveling with kids as the Hirschgarten has a large playground (also the beer garden at Schloss Nymphenburg has a small playground). Would happily call this hotel home again on our next visit to Munich.

Room Tip: Request the turret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#1 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,287 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Botique Hotel
Bavaria Botique Hotel
#10 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 747 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#6 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Property: Hotel Laimer Hof
Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing