We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem in Munich”
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
New Berlin, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in Munich”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Whenever we travle in Europe we seek out small urban hotels in the bigger cities. Hotel Laimer Hof is a hidden gem in Munich. The location is fantastic. A block from the palace in a quiet residential neighborhood, easy walking distance to tram and to little local restaurants. The owners and staff are absolutely the nicest people you could hope to meet -- very friendly and helpful. The rooms are smallish but very comfortable and super clean. The building itself is storybook like. It is one of the best places we have stayed and will stay there again if we travel to Munich.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_B60133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,624
    389
    85
    19
    3
See reviews for
531
1,073
96
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, VA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and children stayed at the Laimer Hof in February, 2013. All I can do is echo every single accolade posted by others. Sebatien was fantastic, even helping to hand me our luggage through a first floor window. Family room was comfortable for five. Tram stop down the street was perfect for getting to Marienplatz and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tfitz62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Laimer Hof is near the Nymphenburg Palace--an easy walk of 5-10 minutes to one of the must-see sights in the Munich area.. But it is the staff that makes the place terrific. There isn't a question they can't answer with great enthusiasm. They get transportation tickets for the trams and subway. They recommend restaurants. They answer general cultural questions about Germany and its culture. The city's biggest beer garden is nearby.

You can take a nearby tram and be in central Munich in 10 minutes, then return to the quiet neighborhood and leave the tourist behind.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandMCentralNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tn
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Jan and Sebastien are the nicest guys you will ever meet. Friendly and efficient. The hotel deserves all of it's accolades. It is charming and very well kept up. The rooms are very nice. We had a large bathroom, my friend's was a little smaller. Traveler tip: If you need to wash out some things you can dry them on the towel warmer! The neighborhood is lovely and the Nymphenburg palace is only a couple of minutes down the street on foot. I'm definitely coming back. (and the breakfast is lovely)

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BigWatusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gobabis, Namibia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Jan (the host) made us feel welcome and at home, from the moment we walk into this lovely little hotel.... Not only was he friendly and very helpful, he new about our African countries and customs.... We enjoyed our stay there and everything was only a short walk from the hotel, and they also supply us with tram tickets and lots of advice.... We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Laimer Hof, and which to visit again some day!!!!
Greetings from Namibia..........

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa_swart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Location: Perfectly located to explore Schloss Nymphenberg and surrounding areas down the river. 10 mins walk to entrance. Also 2 mins walk in most directions to restaurants, cafes and other eateries
Building: Very pretty. Traditional german style like a mini fairytale castle. Inside everything is very practical and made for using.
Staff: Extremely knowledgable, helpful and very friendly.
Atmosphere: Family run hotel with friendly atmosphere and suitable for children
Room: Small but adequate and clean. Old style german furniture.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We flew into Munich at about 8pm from Australia. So after a long flight to be welcomed as we were at this hotel was very nice. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed a very comfortable room, excellent service by the boys in the front desk and a substantial, varied breakfast. The hotel is a little way out of the main centre of the city, but we preferred this as we got to explore a little more. Comfortable stay, welcoming and helpful hosts, they will supply you with your tram tickets and anything else you might need.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissacunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
3.6 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Property: Hotel Laimer Hof
Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#8 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, very safe and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing