We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent friendly well situated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #2 of 395 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent friendly well situated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Staff really helpful and friendly. Eg we checked in to Lufthansa on the hotel pc and printed out the boarding cards for free.
excellent breakfast.
easy walk to the Nymphenburg palace and the Hirschgarten.
Quiet area, but with the usual German public transport efficiency you can get back from the town centre easily enough.
I doubt if I have ever met nicer hotel staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DB2357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,440
    350
    77
    19
    3
See reviews for
471
957
89
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights last November with another couple. We were made very welcome by all the Staff. Very comfortable rooms and excellent breakfasts. Easy to use public transport to see Munich. Staff full of good advice and happy to recommend and organise visits and trips. Have recommended the Hotel to friends and will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeb, Oman
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed here for three nights at the start of February, a nice atmosphere and cosy little room. Sebastian was very friendly and helpful. I think for the size of the hotel complimentary coffee and tea left available downstairs would be a nice touch.

The location is nice, residential, not too hectic and pleasant to walk around. I would suggest taking the tram rather than the S Bahn, the walk along the main road is pretty soulless and the tram ride gets you closer to the door.
Thanks for a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChangiChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for just the one night just before Christmas in 2012. The hotel is a gem, a short tram ride from the centre of Munich. Free wifi included, quiet rooms (even though ours was right next to reception- we didn't hear a thing, the staff are very courteous in this matter), standard tv channels, in all languages. Breakfast, if needed was €8 or so per person, very continental, breads, cheeses, cereals, porridge, perfect for us and great for stocking up before traipsing round Munich. Rooms were comfy and warm, the duvet is split into two so both get the same amount (no duvet hogging here)
The gent on reception was very helpful regarding the routes to get to the Munich Olympic park, with detailed routes for trains etc, and they had a lovely basket of homemade pfeffer nusse to pick at. Just next to reception there is a small tv gathering room, where you can sit, make friends, have a beer and relax in friendly surroundings.

If we come to Munich again, which is likely as we had a great time, Hotel Laimer Hof is our first port of call. Thank you so much, and a huge thanks on how Christmassy the breakfast room is in the morning, I loved it!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KarmaandCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I had two nights in Munich for business. I chose a hotel based a little on budget and location but primarily for the warmth of the welcome and friendliness in this family run hotel I experienced on a previous stay.

The location is well placed for Laim S-bahn station on the line from the airport. It's a 10 minute walk from the station or a couple of stops on a bus. On arrival the check-in process was quick, with a useful chat about local information and restaurant suggestions. The single room with en-suite I stayed in was clean, and spacious enough for me.

I didn't have a chance to sample the breakfast or explore the local area around the hotel but I can confirm access to the city centre is easy thanks to a local tram stop and also the S-bahn station.

My positive experience of this hotel is all based on it's owners and staff. I'd recommend the hotel and I'll stay again next time I'm in Munich.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrWinnersSonInLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Arriving at the hotel very early in the morning and covered in snow, we were welcomed like family friends. This set the tone for the rest of our visit and advice on what to do and where to go was offered freely and in detail. The hotel is set in a lovely neighbourhood and we'll definitely go back for more of their hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The service at Hotel Laimer Hof is outstanding!

Sebastian, Alexandra, Jan and the whole Laimer Hof Team go out of their way to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable.

Highly recommended stay if you are in Munich.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#1 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#10 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#5 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Property: Hotel Laimer Hof
Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#8 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing