We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very attentive & helpful Manager - But......” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very attentive & helpful Manager - But......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

It is pleasing to report that the hotel is located in a quiet residential area and that although the hotel car park was full we were easily able to park in the street. Further, the free WiFi connection is good. However, we have encountered much superior amenities in a hotel ranked #83 in the same city. We have so far stayed in 9 hotels in various European countries both rural and city based. All, including the two in Poland and the one in Praha, were superior and often cheaper than Laimer Hof. The twin room we were given was on the second floor and despite us having two suitcases and two cabin bags there was no offer of assistance lugging the luggage up the stairs. This brings us to the room itself. Room 24 is half to two thirds the size of rooms we have had in all other hotels. It was difficult to place our luggage in such a way as to avoid falling over it. To describe the furniture as antique is being kind. The mattresses were too small for the metal beds. The wooden furniture was scratched and damaged. The bathroom was modern and clean yet again the smallest we have encountered. The main lighting in the room was inadequate. The manager was very attentive and apologetic informing us when we were leaving that we had unfortunately been booked into the smallest of their 4 Twin Rooms. Although we should have mentioned our dissatisfaction regarding the room size upon arrival, we felt uncomfortable to complain as then another couple would have been delegated to this 'single' room. The staff were friendly. The breakfast was of a very good standard as we have come to expect in Germany. All in all, the attentiveness and friendliness of the manager did not compensate for the small size and inadequate furnishings in our room.

Room Tip: One should avoid booking rm 24 as a Twin or Double Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HOK_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laimer_Hof_Munich, Manager at Hotel Laimer Hof, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
I am very sad to learn that our guests from Australia did not like their room. I am running the hotel Laimer Hof together with my wife and approximately 10 employees since 2003. We have many regular guests and try to do all we can to make their stay pleasant. As our hotel is not too big (23 rooms), we are almost always successfull. Otherwise we would not have been able to "survive" for nearly 10 years...

One of our policies is to permit room changes as long as this is possible.

If there was any problem with the bed or the room size we could have offered a different room without any hesitation. Each of our 23 rooms is unique.

Our hotel is a "historical building" and we are not allowed to change the room sizes, exterior aspect and so on.

We are in the hotel 12 hours a day. Our guests from Australia did not inform us.

For us, guests who do not tell us that they would like to have a different room, are very difficult to handle. When leaving the hotel it is too late to change and we may only apologize.

So dear readers and guests, please come to the reception, come to us and inform us. Give us the chance to make your stay as pleasant for you as possible. We will do our very best!

Best greetings from Munich and Nymphenburg Palace

Yours sincerely

Sebastian and Alexandra Rösch (Manager) and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,580
    386
    83
    19
    3
See reviews for
516
1,048
96
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at the Laimer Hof hotel in April on the last leg of our travels through Germany. The room was large by European standards, it was exceptionally clean and quiet. It was the staff that really made our stay great. Friendly, outgoing, helpful. There are numerous good restaurants within walking distance, the tram is a 5 minute walk and the Nymphenberg Palace is about a 10 minute walk. Sebastian and high crew are exceptional hosts.... highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CEngles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

In 2010 we stayed at this superb, family-run hotel. Our experience was so positive we made a point of staying there again this year, when we returned to Germany. My wife was recuperating from a broken ankle and when we checked-in the owners--who work there seemingly for all hours--immediately --and without making a fuss--gave us a large room on the ground floor. This was just one example of this exceptional hotel's service. The location is wonderful--within an easy walk to the trams--and the immediate meighborhood has several excellent restaurants and, obviously, the wonderful Nyphenburg Palace and its grounds. When we return to Munich we will stay there again. I wake each morning at home thinking of the superb breakfast and the "stop-at nothing" attitude of the proprietors and staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaucho66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The four of us stayed in December when it was snowing, as we came to visit the Christmas markets, it made our stay even more special. The breakfast was great. All the staff in this hotel were excellent, going out of their way to explain where to visit and the cost of the transport etc. Sebastian was a perfect host, his English is impeccable and he has a great sense of humour. Very easy to get around Munich from the hotel, just a short walk to the tram. if you have time, please do visit the palace which is 5 mins walk, it will take your breath away. if you are coming from the airport, you can get a ticket for 5 people for 20 euros which you can use unlimited travel for 24 hours. All in all, a great place to stay, thank you Sebastian and Co.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan7Bedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here just prior to Christmas for four days. Staff were very friendly and helpful and really went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay. The room was spotless, as was the bathroom. The hotel is easily accessible by the tram or u-bahn, and only a ten minute walk to the Schloss Nymphenberg. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gemmacgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Just spent 3 nights here and it was excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful and great fun to talk to. They gave great insight into where to go and made our stay perfect. The location is great too, 5-10 mins from Laim station, and the Hirschgarten is close too. Literally a few mins from Nymphenburg palace, a very romantic location. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iancook1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I can only amplify what other reviewers have written: this hotel is a gem located in a quiet and tony neighborhood an easy 15 minute tram ride to the heart of Munich. The rooms are well appointed and nicely decorated. The bathroom more than adequate for all needs. The wifi actually is peppy (on the ground floor anyway) and the breakfast great. The beautiful Schloss Nymphenburg is a pleasant two minute walk away and their are restaurants in the neighborhood. But what really seperates this hotel from the others is the manager Sebastian and his staff, including Jann. If ever two people were born for the job of hotelier, it would be these two extremely friendly, competent young men. The only other experience that came close to this was when my wife and I stayed in Prague at the House of the Big Boot (Dum um velke boty). Frankly it's the only hotel we've ever stayed in anywhere, that we would go back to if for no other reason than to visit the staff. I wish Sebastian, his family, and staff much success in the future. Tschuss Sebastian!

Room Tip: Our ground floor room was quiet and had good internet connectivity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DLG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#9 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
3.6 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Property: Hotel Laimer Hof
Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
#16 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing