We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST IN MUNICH....LOOK NO FURTHER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #2 of 395 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
dallas, texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“THE BEST IN MUNICH....LOOK NO FURTHER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel is situated on a quiet side street of one of the most prestigious areas of Munich. A short walk to the trains for a 10 min ride to Downtown Munich. Great Restaurants (German, French, Steak) all in short walking distance of the Hotel.
Very nicely decorated, very clean and just little touches that made you feel so welcomed.
Sebastian and Alexandra are the very best host. You feel like "family". Breakfast was another treat. Fresh breads, meats, eggs, vegetables all perfect...One more treat that I loved "Latte Macchiato" at breakfast.
This place will not disappoint, you just have to understand the next place you stay probably will not match up to this standard. Sebastian and Alexandra, Thank you for an incredible stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kv-dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,431
    350
    77
    19
    3
See reviews for
470
951
89
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We only were in Munich for one night and staying here was the best choice. The location is great, only a tram ride to downtown Munich. The hotel was clean and pretty typical of a European hotel. What made this place great was Sebastian and Alexandra the owners. They provided great info on what to do and how to get there, it was like talking to family and getting the low down on what is worthwhile to see. Wish we could have stayed longer. Would definitely go back and stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinksMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you map the location of this hotel it seems like it may be too far to explore Munich. How wrong you would be. The Laim S2 trains top is a 15 minute walk from the hotel and a 10 minute ride into the city center. The tram is even closer (about a 5 minute walk) but a little longer of a journey. The best part about the location is the tranquility of staying in a suburb near the Nymphenburg Palace. Aleksandra and Sebastian are wonderful and helpful hosts. Sebastian will talk your heads of if you let him. And Dicky the dog is quite the charmer.
Laim has a few restaurants in the area that scracth most of the itches of any guests (Greek, Steak, Italian, French, etc.). Best of all, the hotel is within walking distance to the Hirschgarden which is the largest Beer garden in Munich and serves the quite-potent AugistnierBrau.
The only negatives were that everythging in the room needed to be opened by a different key (a kind of B&B charm if that interest you) and that the double mattress are two twins pushed together that easily slide apart.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms or bad rooms, as you are in a suburb where you can sleep with the windows wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is an excellent choice if you are planning a visit to Munich. The hotel looks like it is on the outside of Munich-which it is but with the location by the palace and garden comes tranquility that you do not find in the downtown city area. There is much to do inthis area and other sights in downtown are easily accessed.

The owners Sebastian and Aleanxdra cannot do enough to make your stay at their hotel one of you most enjoyable.

Since there are many reviews here are some tips if you are coming to this hotel for the first time:
1. This is a historical hotel and many times Americans are used to the large hotels found in chain hotels--if you want a large room--pay the difference and get a room for 3-4 people but the 2 person rooms are very clean and adequate just smaller than Hitlon or Marriott usual chain rooms
2. Breakfast at the hotel is excellent and has a Bavarian Flavor
3. The trams 16 and 17 are only a short walk from the hotel--the S1 can get you from the airport--get off at Laim--you may want to make a google map with directions from the train stop to the hotel --in both English and German--the walk is about 10 mintues....stay out of the bike lane with your suit cases or you might get run over...LOL....there are also buses and taxis to get to the hotel and Sebastian and his staff can email directions
4. buy the group tourist ticket if there is more than one of you....at the airport ....there is a 3 day ticket and other options--they will also sell you 2 tickets--we needed 4 days of tickets --so we purchased a one way group ticket for the S1 on the day we arrrived --the a 3day group ticket--they sold both tickets at the same time at the Bahn ticket airport both--just make sure your 3 day ticket is makrked tostart the next day
5. have euros--many of the smaller more traditional non-tourist restaurants do nto take credit cards
6. There is a regional train from Munich to Salzburg,Austria that is very easy to use and the ticekts are every cheap ---the hotel is great at arranging this---NOTE: We can share with you from our experience in Salzburg, the ticket office -even though they speak English--does not always give the right information....the train schedule -which is in German--has abbreviations--
RE means regional RJ or ICE are different trains-with different tickets Both the information and ticket offices told us the platform and train back to Munich--unforutnately it was not the same type of train we rode into Salzburg on--we had to pay again--the trip was great any way and well worth the extra cost...now we know how to read the schedule
7. Tours by Locals has some great Munich tours that are private--get a guide who is German or who has been in the country for over 10 years ...this will help you get a better feel for the area and culture
8. If you are American--allow for airport time and many times there are double screenings at teh Munich airport..and make sure you keep all your borading passes if you are going to multiple countries or your flight schedules...this will help out processing as some EU countries did not stamp passports and this will be questioned by German custom authorities

Room Tip: see above--if youa re disabled--make sure you let Sebastion and his staff know when you book under c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 2travelisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed the four day weekend over Thanksgiving 2012. Our family room was so spacious, the staff warm and informative and the location safe and quiet! A top notch visit from arrival to checkout! We would highly recommend and will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Laimer Hof for two nights in November, 2012. The hotel is in a quiet residential area outside of Munich, in Nypmphburg. There are a number of restaurants within easy walking distance, including the large beer garden, and the palace is only two blocks away. The hotel staff, including the owners, are excellent and could not be more helpful. The breakfast was nicely done, and the rooms are nice, very clean, though they tend to be a little small. Car parking is free, and is located alongside the hotel. Wi Fi worked well through out the hotel, though there was a two hour limit, which is going to be improved by December, 2012. The trip to downtown Munich is a short, simple, 15 min tram ride. We are very glad we stayed at Hotel Laimer Hof, and would highly recommend this well run hotel.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, but the owners will help get your bags up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobeby04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were EXTREMELY pleased with our stay! From the time you check in the staff is extremely friendly and helpful with any questions you may have. Their location is outside the main city area, but it is still easy to access everything from the subway. We enjoyed the Nymphenburg area greatly. Walking distance to Nymphenburg Palace (gorgeous!), a beer garden, and many wonderful little restaurants. You may also catch the tram to the city, which we enjoyed from the subway.

The rooms are small, although I understand there are larger ones from what we had, but that's Europe and is a fun experience. There are no safes in the rooms, but the staff will lock anything you may want behind the desk. Breakfast is delicious and fun to dine with other hotel guests in a family-style room. Staff is extremely friendly and able to answer any question you may have, and offer recommendations. This was a nice escape from the city life. I would HIGHLY recommend staying here. Note that the front desk is not staffed from 11pm-5 or 6am, but the doors are locked and only guests can access the building so we felt very secure and safe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaHoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#1 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,249 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#10 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 730 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Property: Hotel Laimer Hof
Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#7 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing