We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I booked this hotel based on reviews on Tripadvisor. Hotel Laimer Hof lived up to our expectations and more!! Great location in a leafy suburb of Munich, easy access to Munich City by tram. Their instructions from the airport are accurate and easy to follow. Germany as usual has an excellent transport system that does not let you down. Some great restaurants nearby and would recommed the Italian at the end of the road and the beer garden which is 10 minutes walk away, which seats 800 people and provides great wholesome Bavarian foood. The hotel staff are the best, incrediably friendly and always happy to help - nothing is to much trouble. The bedrooms are roomy (however our USA visitors need to realise they are roomy by European standards). They are of a high standard and very clean. Breakfast is excellent value at 8 euros per person and will set you up for the day. Will definately return.

Room Tip: They do not have a lift so if you have difficulty climbing stairs ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,236 - 1,242 of 2,314 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Hotel Laimer Hof is under rated. Instead of number 2 it should be number 1. The best part of the hotel is the staff. They do everything to make your visit to Munich a great experience. The hotel is a ways from downtown but local transportation is very close and very affordable. The staff makes it easy to locate and use. One of the best things about the hotel is that it is in a very quiet neighborhood. The rooms are a little small but very adequate. They are immaculately clear. Breakfast is great and a good variety. This is a can’t miss hotel. You will enjoy your stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MontanaTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Hotel Laimer Hof is a charming hotel. The staff are incredibly helpful and were only too willing to show us the best ways to travel locally when we arrived and helping us figure out how to get to the airport when we left. The room was simple but clean with plenty of old world character, nestled away in a residential area a 15 minute tram ride outside of the city center. It it is a 5-minute walk away from the Nymphenburg Castle area and gardens, Munich's largest beer garden is about the same distance, and all forms of transport are within a ten minute walk. We sat and had beers in the small but cosy reception lounge both with the staff and other guests, something that you wouldnt do in a large branded hotel. Only slight niggle was the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room. However, staff only too willing to make you a drink to take upstairs. Highly recommended for that personal touch!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Crofter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My trip to Munich in 2011, introduced me to this very special Hotel. It is not a large impersonal hotel, but a wonderful friendly one. It is located in a very nice neighbourhod, just minutes from the Nymphenburg Palace. It is also just a few minutes walk from one excellent transportation system.

In 2011, the hotel was staffed by the most friendly and helpful people. They could not do enough for their guests. They were well informed about all the places of interest, and how to get to them.

The rooms were kept clean, and well maintained. The choices for breakfast were wonderful. Traditional German ffood, and drinks, and they would try to please with requests for alternatives too!

I was to stay with them for ten days. Ten days of excellent service.

This year, (2012), I returned for a visit to Munich, in early Septembe,and had no hesitation in booking a room with them. I was to spend two weeks at Laimer Hof Hotel.

Nothing had changed! The staff were as pleasant and helpful as in 2011. The food was also as good as before.

If you are looking for a quiet, friendly, and helpful place to stay, LOOK NO FURTHER! THIS IS THE BEST!

I plan on returning to Munich again in the future, and look forward to another pleasant stay with them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RalphRushlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was our second stay at this lovely hotel. Sebastian is truly concerned about your enjoyment of his hotel and the city. The proximity of the Nymphenburg Palace, the Botanical Gardens and easy access to the whole city of Munich by way of the tram service made our stay memorable to say the least. Laimerhof's breakfast is worth every penny. The bottom line is great accomodations, excellent service, great access and friendly caring people make this a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank europa912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in August and had a lovely stay. We had 2 rooms between 5 , a double and a triple room. There was plenty of space in the double but the triple room was slightly small, however we were only there to sleep. The location of the hotel is only a 10 min tram ride away from the city centre. You will be in a lovely residential area which is next to the world famous Hirschgarten and also the beautiful Schloss Nymphenburg Palace. There are also several lovely places to eat nearby. The staff at Laimer Hof certainly make you welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them. You are also able to buy tram tickets from the hotel. Breakfast was 8 euros and was excellent value. We would certainly return here when visiting Munich.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunsoaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Laimer Hof for two nights in Sept 2012 and were extremely satisfied with our experience. The location, in a VERY QUIET, residential area of Munich, is simply unbeatable... a five minute walk to the Nymphemburg Gardens/Palace OR five minutes to the tram that takes you to the Munich city center in about 10 short minutes. The staff at the hotel was extremely friendly and professional... and very willing to provide recommendations for 'things to do and see' in Munich. Although the room we stayed in was small and a bit spartan, it was more than adequate for our needs. The breakfast was great, too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZdesertdweller1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 390 in Munich
1,202 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 390 in Munich
1,635 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 390 in Munich
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#3 of 390 in Munich
587 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
4.6 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 390 in Munich
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#13 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $73 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, very safe and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! We hope to welcome you in our authentic and genuisely German hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing