We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable stay”
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2008

This was our first visit to Munich and our stay at the Hotel Laimer Hof helped to make the experience special. We wanted somehere that was of a good standard but not outrageously expensive with good links to the city centre, and we were not disappointed. The hotel was excellent, the bedroom being very comfortable, and the breakfasts really good. Using the superb tram service we were able to get easily into the city entre. For one night we needed to stay in another (much more expensive) hotel because the Laimer Hof was fully booked and we missed the warm ambience that we had left behind. We had read in other reviews about the friendly owners and this was what we, too, found. Sebastian was ever helpful and a great ambassador for the city. We very much hope to visit Munich again in the near future and we will certainly make the Hotel Laimer Hof our base.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank auditman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,881 - 1,887 of 2,290 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2008

We spent 3 nights at the Laimer Hof Hotel in Munich and it is one of the nicest establishments we have stayed in in Europe. The decor is appealing and the help and attention of the owners is outstanding. All things are easily reachable from the hotel with excellent public transport near by. Rooms are comfortable with newly renovated en suite bathrooms. The breakfast is ample. I have only one 'gripe', there is no communal 'smoke free' zone for non smokers and the lounge area becomes unbearable for non-smokers when smoking guests light up. Otherwise, 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fordaleDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2008

We stayed at Laimer Hof in December, and found the area it is located in very nice, and the transport to town was quite good as well. We enjoyed our walk to the Nymphemburg Palace, and had a wonderful, hearty meal at the nearby beer hall. Also there is another little tavern at the end of the street where Laimer Hof is which we enjoyed a drink in.

Sebastian is certainly enthusiastic with helping hotel guests, full of information, and can book tours, transport tickets and the like, so no need for a Tourist Information Office at all.

The breakfast is very good, and there is free internet in the foyer.
The rooms were spotless, however, the shower was very small. There is no lift at this Hotel/Pension, so if you have any health problems that could cause you discomfort when hiking up the staircase, then you should advise Sebastian at time of booking. We personally found them a bit much, we are in our 60's, but quite healthy!

The smoking area is in the Foyer, and I must admit I found this a bit disappointing when we first arrived at the Hotel - not sure what will happen now with the new non smoking laws which were introduced on 1st January in Germany.

Sebastian is this hotel - so when he is off duty the scene changes quite a bit in reception.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank surfbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2008

This place was one of the best places we stayed on our trip. Located just 2 minutes from Shloss Nymphonberg, I would stay here again on my next trip to Munich. It is located in a nice, quiet neighborhood with an excellent staff to help you with whatever you need. Rooms are very nice comfortable. The one we had didn't have a place to sit except on the bed though. Family-run and they are willing to help with plans for
the day. 10 minute walk to the S-Bahn Laim station; then a 10 minute ride to Marienplatz. Only a 5 minute walk to the #17 tram. Very easy to get to from airport. Breakfast was very nice and free Internet access (wireless too). A very nice place is you don't care for the regular hotel type places.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank ScubedCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2008

This is a great choice for your stay in Munich. The hotel is well located, close to the tube and to Nymphemburg Castle. The owner, Sebastien, is very friendly and welcoming and will do all he can to help you with your stay and give advice on local restaurants, place to visits. He speaks perfect French, ce qui qui est parfait pour nous français!

Je vous recommande l'hotel sans hésiter c'est un très bon choix. Immediately after our stay we booked a room for the 2008 Oktoberfest as it gets very busy around this time of year and the hotel is a charming location and a good choice to visit both the city and the fest. Warmly recommended without any hesitations!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Frenchcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

Sebastian and family and staff welcome you like old friends and do everything they can to make sure you enjoy your stay. Where other hotels are efficient but rather impersonal, the Laimer Hof is responsive to your needs and warm and caring. It is the extremely high quality personal service which sets the establishment apart from all others. We felt really at home.
Before our arrival I made some special requests and these were dealt with promptly, effectively and to my complete satisfaction.
After midnight on December 22 I witnessed with my own eyes Sebastian go out in search of some Australian guests who had got lost. The temperature was -15. He did not return until he had found those lost guests. That's the kind of service you get at the Laimer Hof!
In the hotel, comfort is the key word. We had 2 adults and 2 children in our room but were never too cramped. Breakfasts are top class with delicious fresh rolls and a wide selection of cheeses, meats and jams. There is fresh fruit, eggs, yoghurt, a variety of teas and juices and as much coffee as you want.
Parking was never a problem even for the large van I was driving. If I couldn't get parked in the hotel car park I was always able to find a spot right outside. The GPS system in the vehicle was a bonus and helped me to find the hotel easily.
There are many excellent restaurants nearby and we ate traditional Bavarian, steak house, Greek and Italian all within walking distance.
We spent eight days at the Laimer Hof over Christmas and the hotel was the basis of a wonderful experience. If you are travelling to Munich stay there!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Thomsonionioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

Once again my wife and I booked the "top rated" hotel in a major city based on Trip Advisor reviews. I am sorry but this is not the best hotel in Munich.
Yes, Sebastien and his family are wonderful and have transformed their house into a very nice upmarket bed and breakfast.
But to be rated No 1 requires a lot more than than being friendly and helpful.
For example, it has no dedicated parking other than 4 bays along the side.
No tea or cofee in the rooms.
The bathroom is tiny and shower cubicle not ideal for someone over 6 foot.
A double bed is not 2 single matresses pushed together on a double frame - the gap is a pain.
The bigger chains provide all the above at a similar price.
Please reviewers, mark your reviews sensibly or the whole idea of using this site is irrelevant.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank welltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#7 of 389 in Munich
1,158 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#3 of 389 in Munich
1,606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 389 in Munich
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 389 in Munich
1,768 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#16 of 389 in Munich
877 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#7 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $84 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, very safe and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing