We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, but not too flash a place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten
Ranked #232 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent location, but not too flash a place.”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed here in late October 2011, and found this place to be just ok, for us. The selling point is the location, which is excellent- just around the corner from the Poccistr. U-bahn stop (catch U3 or U6), and only three or so stops to Marienplatz. It was perfect for us, in that sense and we couldn't have asked for better for that price!

We got a room with a shared bath, which meant one shared toilet between three rooms, and what appeared to be one shared shower between 6! The shared toilet was fine; we never encountered anyone else, and it was always clean. The shared bathroom was a pain in the butt, though! It was occupied a few times and I also had a few knocks/handle twisting while I was in there. They definitely need more showers!

The breakfast was good, and offered a decent range of cold foods (as well as warm hard-boiled eggs). The rooms were alright, nothing special. We had twin beds, which were comfortable enough, but with lumpy pillows. The flat screen tv and the sink in the room were the two highlights.

The main problem I had with this place (besides the shower) was the thin walls/ceiling! We could clearly hear people in the adjoining room every night, to the point of being able to make out their conversations. The worst part was the noise through the ceilings, though. We had room 1, which sits directly below the residence of the owners, so every morning from 6am we were woken with loud thumps and voices through the ceiling. NOT conducive to a good night's sleep!

Overall, a decent enough place, worth it for the location alone. For the price, you can't expect too much.

Room Tip: Avoid room one! SO much noise from the owner's residence above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    29
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
17
20
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I stayed for a couple of nights toward the end of August. The location was good; an easy 20 minute walk to the centre, and as noted it 's very close to the subway.

However. I had a single room on the ground floor, and I felt that the security aspect for a sole female traveler was not that good. The bathroom was perfectly fine, but I didn't feel the room itself was very clean. The bed was pretty uncomfortable, and when I requested an additional pillow as the one given was almost flat, it was provided, but with evident reluctance . There was also a lot of noise from the corridor and people using the adjoining bathroom.

I appreciate that Munich is an expensive city, but I really don't feel this pension was worth the money - 50 euros per night , for the quality of the room. Yes the breakfast was fine, but only typical of what I experienced in other pensions.

Room Tip: Avoid room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

For the price, this hotel was great! The two of us got a huge room (the hotel was fairly empty) with plenty of space and furnishings, including a nice new television. The decor was kind of funky but everything was clean. No room service, staff was very hands-off (gave us the key and told us to go for it) and make your own beds, which was fine for us. Delicious breakfast! Be warned though: a room with a "bath" gets you a shower but not a toilet so it's not an additional bathroom.

PROS: delicious breakfast, spacious rooms, clean, location close to fairly close metro and some good quick eats

CONS: curtain didn't block out any light, cold bathroom, squeaky steps and loud doors, residential area makes it a bit difficult to find

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarity003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Friendly staff, yummy breakfast, nice and close to central train stations, comfy rooms, only problem being thin walls. Otherwise everything else was GREAT!!! Happy to stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebonybridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

This is a pension not a hotel. Reception is on the first floor using stairs that creak loudly, same going up to the second floor rooms. The laminate floors in the corridors creak and I don't mean just an odd squeak!! Bring your own towel and soap, though a single towel is provided it gets soaked just drying your hands. The curtains in my room were thin and ill fitting and by the way the floorboards were creaky as well! Most rooms appear to have a shower, no complaints there. Two shared toilets on each floor were clean enough and there was a shower room. Likewise there is a decent size shared fridge and microwave in the corridor. Breakfast very basic German style buffet with limited choice but I did not go hungry and the coffee was dispensed from a proper bean machine. Good points, the pension is on a quiet street, no bus or trams, Poccistr. U-bahn stop about 300 yards away (catch U3 or U6), bed was comfortable and surprisingly did NOT creak and the linen was clean. Even the floor creaks did little to disturb my sleep especially after a full day exploring Dachau KZ. Frau Kuhn the owner is very pleasant and eager to help and though her English is limited it did not hinder communication very much, even better if you have a smattering of Deutsch. Munich has BMW prices for it's hotels and even the very modest Schmellergarten can charge and get away with it, thank goodness for Berlin and Cologne. All in all the pension sufficed for my needs but it is a one star and well past a good refurbishment and if I had taken my wife with me I would probably be in the ICU of the nearest krankenhausen now!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAFpolizei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Friendly and helpful staff, free Internet access, wash sink in the room, nice balcony with chairs and table facing a quite yard. The room had everything a single traveller may need. Very close to a U-Bahn station, which makes it easy to get anywhere. Plentiful breakfast offering a decent variety and a very good coffee.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowtanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lima, ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

The Pension Schmellergarten is located 2 blocks from the Poccistrasse subway stop on the U-3 or U-6 line. From the Hauptbahnhof take U-1 (towards Mangfallplatz) or U-2 (towards Messestadt Ost) 1 stop to Sendlinger Tor. Change to the U-3 (towards Furstenried West) or the U-6 (towards Klinkum Grosshadern). Poccistrasse is 2 stops after Sendlinger Tor. The pension is located at 20 Schmellerstrasse, in a pleasant residential neigborhood. We felt very safe walking in the area late at night. There is a large yellow sign identifying the hotel. Entrance is on the side. You will need to climb a flight of stairs to reach a small office area on the second floor. Upon arrival you will be greeted by a friendly manager. The rooms are small by American standards, but quite sufficient and very clean. Bathrooms, at least on our floor, are shared. The breakfast room is sunny and cheerfully decorated. Breakfast was typical, containing juice, hard boiled eggs, pastrys etc. The espresso was very good .As this was a traditional pension, we were not suprised that the managers 4 year old son and their friendly dog were present in the public areas. Both child and dog are well behaved. We enjoyed their company but guests who are not comfortable around young children or animals might have some reservations. We paid E52 nightly during the off season in February. This was an excellent value. We were able to leave our luggage on the day of our departure and collect it before catching an evening train. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Munich.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohiobillLima_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Herzog
Hotel Herzog
#149 of 383 in Munich
375 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Westend
Hotel Westend
#268 of 383 in Munich
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brack
Hotel Brack
#46 of 383 in Munich
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rivoli Hotel
Rivoli Hotel
#196 of 383 in Munich
272 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel AMENITY Munich
Hotel AMENITY Munich
#111 of 383 in Munich
224 reviews
1.8 mi away
Brecherspitze Hotel
Brecherspitze Hotel
#266 of 383 in Munich
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten

Property: Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten
Address: Schmellerstr. 20, 80337 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing