We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, perfect host”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Pension Am Siegestor
Ranked #179 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location, perfect host”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I definitely recommend the Am Siegestor. Keeping in mind that this is a reasonably cheap guest house, it was a lovely place to stay. Its best feature is the wonderfully warm welcome you will receive from the host Monika; after staying in impersonal hotels and hostels, it is so refreshing to feel looked after and at home. The location of the guesthouse is also a definite plus. It is right by the Englischer Garten which is great for any number of outdoor activities. Also, there are plenty of nearby restaurants and bars in the surrounding streets. Don't be concerned about not being right in the city centre, it is a short 10 minute walk or two stops on the underground (the guesthouse is right around the corner from the Universitat station which takes you directly to Marienplatz, giving you access to the Hauptbahnhof and from there, long distance and regional trains). The room was clean and comfortable, the television worked, and the free wifi had good and reliable signal. Breakfast, included in the roomrate, was typical guesthouse fare (bread, ham, cheese, condiments, cereal, boiled eggs) but there was a wide selection and it was of good quality. I really enjoyed the Am Siegestor and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AdelaideJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    27
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
31
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed here on our first trip to Munich this December, as we chose to experience the Christmas markets, and all the other delights Munich has to offer. This really is a lovely place to stay, where guests are made to feel welcome from the minute they arrive. Frau Clauss gives a personal but professional touch to the whole place. We would definitely choose to stay again if we were to vist Munich.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over back may be quieter, but it goes without saying the ones at front have better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPLeamingtonSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at the Hotel Pension Am Siegestor! This is a gem in such a lovely city! My parents and sister had a room with a private bath. The three of us had a room with no bath which was no problem. Our room had a sink and there were two showers and three toilets down the hall. The breakfast was very nice. Everything was so clean. The view from our room was of the Univisity. There is an amazing pizza place that I will have to remember to review right down the street. The subway is right around the corner as well. Great location, great place, fabulous price!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christyristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Munich was first stop on our trip throughout Europe and we only stayed two nights. I wish we stayed longer. Pension felt like home, and city had so much to offer.
We were welcomed like a family member, treated very well. Room was spotless, breakfast had everything you would want, including eggs, unlimited coffee, juice, bread, cheeses and so much more.
Monika Clauss takes care of your every wish, and I don't think "NO" is in her vocabulary.
We hope to travel to Munich soon and will stay there again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McDeeTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon le Siyon, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel is located near the university and the central Leopold Strasse with a lot of restaurants and cheerful students. One metro stop from Marian plats. The owner is super nice and super friendly. The breakfast was great. The rooms are large and very clean. We would definitely stay there again on our next trip to Munich.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The good: Really cheap--especially for a location so close to the old town in Munich. We paid 70 euro for a double room with a shared bathroom. The room was huge with a sink inside and was very clean. The building is really old, but it a very cool way. Really creaky stairs, really tall ceilings, a cage-style elevator—the kind that your parents talked about, but that you probably never actually rode in before--. The location is also awesome. It is in a university neighborhood so there are a ton of bars and restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel. The English Garden is also only a few blocks away. The metro stop is really close and since Marienplatz is only two stops away, you can just buy the short stretch ticket if you want to take the train in. Otherwise, it’s about a mile walk to the downtown. We mostly walked. Plus because the hotel is right next to the Siegestor arch, you can’t really get lost even after a long night at the Hofbrauhaus. Last, the staff really, really went out of their way to be helpful, accommodating and friendly. They really could not have been nicer.

The not-so-great: I don’t typically rent hotels where there is a shared bath, so my perspective may be a little biased because of this. The shower heads were really corroded with lime or some kind of mineral deposit, which just made it feel a little icky when everything else (shower basin, tile etc.) was really clean. We woke up late one morning and they were out of hot water. Actually, it would oscillate between icy, freezing water to scalding hot water. Also, the breakfast room only has four tables, so you either wait, take breakfast to your room or skip it. Since the building is so old, some things in in it are old and a little tired.

Despite the negatives, I’d recommend it for a cheap stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kk0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Monika Clauss is a delightful host, eager to please and provide information about the area, and her enthusiasm is positively infectious. (Our review title is her answer to most any request.) We found the location convenient: an easy walk to the Englischer Garten and one block from the u-bahn. It's an older building with charm, but the rooms felt modern and were spotless. We took two rooms with en suite baths. The bathrooms were compact but nicely appointed. Breakfast was a nice rendition of the typical German spread, cheerfully served by Monika.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsquaredNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet
0.4 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#174 of 382 in Munich
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Das Nikolai Hotel
Das Nikolai Hotel
#204 of 382 in Munich
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
das Hotel in Munchen
das Hotel in Munchen
#245 of 382 in Munich
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton Astoria
Hotel Carlton Astoria
#203 of 382 in Munich
79 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel la maison
Hotel la maison
#247 of 382 in Munich
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Am Siegestor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Am Siegestor

Property: Hotel Pension Am Siegestor
Address: Akademiestr. 5, 80799 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Munich
#61 Family Hotel in Munich
#95 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hotel Am Siegestor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing