We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pension Am Siegestor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Pension Am Siegestor
Save
You added Hotel Pension Am Siegestor to your Saves list
Ranked #135 of 395 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at the Hotel Pension Am Siegestor! This is a gem in such a lovely city! My parents and sister had a room with a private bath. The three of us had a room with no bath which was no problem. Our room had a sink and there were two showers and three toilets down the hall. The breakfast was very nice. Everything was so clean. The view from our room was of the Univisity. There is an amazing pizza place that I will have to remember to review right down the street. The subway is right around the corner as well. Great location, great place, fabulous price!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christyristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    26
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
30
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Munich was first stop on our trip throughout Europe and we only stayed two nights. I wish we stayed longer. Pension felt like home, and city had so much to offer.
We were welcomed like a family member, treated very well. Room was spotless, breakfast had everything you would want, including eggs, unlimited coffee, juice, bread, cheeses and so much more.
Monika Clauss takes care of your every wish, and I don't think "NO" is in her vocabulary.
We hope to travel to Munich soon and will stay there again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McDeeTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon le Siyon, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel is located near the university and the central Leopold Strasse with a lot of restaurants and cheerful students. One metro stop from Marian plats. The owner is super nice and super friendly. The breakfast was great. The rooms are large and very clean. We would definitely stay there again on our next trip to Munich.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The good: Really cheap--especially for a location so close to the old town in Munich. We paid 70 euro for a double room with a shared bathroom. The room was huge with a sink inside and was very clean. The building is really old, but it a very cool way. Really creaky stairs, really tall ceilings, a cage-style elevator—the kind that your parents talked about, but that you probably never actually rode in before--. The location is also awesome. It is in a university neighborhood so there are a ton of bars and restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel. The English Garden is also only a few blocks away. The metro stop is really close and since Marienplatz is only two stops away, you can just buy the short stretch ticket if you want to take the train in. Otherwise, it’s about a mile walk to the downtown. We mostly walked. Plus because the hotel is right next to the Siegestor arch, you can’t really get lost even after a long night at the Hofbrauhaus. Last, the staff really, really went out of their way to be helpful, accommodating and friendly. They really could not have been nicer.

The not-so-great: I don’t typically rent hotels where there is a shared bath, so my perspective may be a little biased because of this. The shower heads were really corroded with lime or some kind of mineral deposit, which just made it feel a little icky when everything else (shower basin, tile etc.) was really clean. We woke up late one morning and they were out of hot water. Actually, it would oscillate between icy, freezing water to scalding hot water. Also, the breakfast room only has four tables, so you either wait, take breakfast to your room or skip it. Since the building is so old, some things in in it are old and a little tired.

Despite the negatives, I’d recommend it for a cheap stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kk0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, NJ
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Monika Clauss is a delightful host, eager to please and provide information about the area, and her enthusiasm is positively infectious. (Our review title is her answer to most any request.) We found the location convenient: an easy walk to the Englischer Garten and one block from the u-bahn. It's an older building with charm, but the rooms felt modern and were spotless. We took two rooms with en suite baths. The bathrooms were compact but nicely appointed. Breakfast was a nice rendition of the typical German spread, cheerfully served by Monika.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AsquaredNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This Pension/hotel is close to the centre right next to a UBahn station so that one can be in the centre of town within minutes. Akadamiestraat is a broad and handsome avenue in the University area which though busy is extraordinarily quiet at night time. It is in an old stone built house with the hotel on the upper floors and offices on the lower floors. It is an easy walk from the Odeonsplatz.
The hotel is immaculate throughout; the decor is simple and attractive. The rooms are simply furnished and very comfortable.
The breakfasts are wonderful! One can easily survive the entire day on one of Monika's breakfasts.
Rooms are moderately priced but the quality of everything belies the price tag.
Monika is herself truly friendly and helpful with a huge knowledge of her home city.
We had a totally restful two nights there and would look for rooms here first when returning to Munich.
The hotel does take credit cards by the way though the notices say not. The upper floors are served by a beautifully maintained antiquated lift which makes access to all floors very easy.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street are perfectly quiet and have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here after meeting some folks in Venice who had glowing reviews of Monika and her hotel. Excellent value and monika is a breath of fresh air; super friendly and welcoming!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discoshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hauser Hotel
Hauser Hotel
#232 of 395 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Das Nikolai Hotel
Das Nikolai Hotel
#209 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#24 of 395 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
das Hotel in Munchen
das Hotel in Munchen
#221 of 395 in Munich
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.5 mi away
H'Otello H'09
H'Otello H'09
#174 of 395 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#243 of 395 in Munich
3.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Am Siegestor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Am Siegestor

Property: Hotel Pension Am Siegestor
Address: Akademiestr. 5, 80799, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Munich
#61 Family Hotel in Munich
#95 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hotel Am Siegestor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing