We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Siegestor has great location in Munich”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Pension Am Siegestor
Ranked #163 of 383 Hotels in Munich
San Francisco
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Siegestor has great location in Munich”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We selected this hotel because we knew we'd be using the S-bahn and U-bahn a lot, plus we wanted to explore the Englischergarten. This large, urban park has two outdoor biergartens, playing fields, lakes, and lovely paths to explore.

The hotel's location made it very easy to get around Munich. It also was fairly quiet, being on a side street near the University. The underground station was less than a five minute walk, and the Marienplatz was just two stations away. A plus was the presence in the neighborhood of inexpensive dining options, due to it being a student part of town. Other things we could walk to included the Alte Pinakotek and Neue Pinakotek, both wonderful art museums worth hours of your time.

It cost about $12 USD to take a taxi from the Hauptbahnhof when we arrived late at night. At the end of our stay, we took the S-bahn to the Airport for about the same price.

As for the hotel itself, it is in an older building with some attractive architectural features. We particularly got a kick out of the creaky old cage-style elevator that you must take to reach the upper floors. Our first room was on the top floor, very clean and quiet, with a view of the sunrise over the rooftops, and a double door that made it even quieter.

The hostess is very cheerful and accommodated our late arrival without any hint of negativity. She was able to sell me stamps for post cards, and she also sells some as well. Our room was kept very clean, but I must confess that the TV reception was iffy, if that concerns anyone. We didn't care much.

We left to visit Austria, and returned for two final nights before our flight home. When we returned, we were given a smaller room, not as pleasant as the first one, and which required us to use the shared bathroom in the hallway. If you are a little picky about this, ask for the room with the "double door," as it is very good and the bathroom is en suite.

The other guests were quiet at night, and very pleasant at breakfast in the morning. There was a good deal of conversation between tables while we ate, and we discovered people were visiting from many different countries. Breakfast was simple but filling: sliced deli meats and cheese, a boiled egg, bread, juice, coffee.

I thought it was a good deal for the price, and we loved the location. We got all around Munich by bus and underground, and never felt unsafe walking the neighborhood at night. I would recommend the place to traveling couples or singles.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2Bgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    27
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
31
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We had a great time in "Am Siegestor" pension during Oktoberfest 2011!!!
The hostess, Monika, was great! The traditional Bavarian dresses added a lot to the ambiance + The price was very good, especially when the city goes crazy!!! Never had any problems with the shared bathrooms - very clean!

The location is also very god - very close to underground (U6 and U3), so you can reach every place in the city; very close to the Englischer Garten - good place to chill out!

Very recommended!

Yana

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yana_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

My husband and I were traveling for our first time to Europe, and although loaded with advice from friends and family, we were still a little weary on what to expect. The first part of our trip was dedicated to Germany, and beginning in Munich. Most places in Europe we stayed in I booked after extensive research online, esp. on TripAdvisor. I came across this place because of its affordable price and excellent location. Let me just say it was an incredible place and I am so happy we stayed there.

First, as I said, we were fresh in Europe/Germany and not sure what to expect. It was pretty easy to find, if you familiarize yourself with the train stops, it's only about 2 stops from the center of Munich (Marienplatz) and then a quick block and a half walk around the corner from the Universitat stop. It is in a beautiful location, with very wide, clean streets, bustling with students attending the university you pass on your way to the pension. The Siegestor is an impressive piece of architecture just down the street, and we had a view of it from our window. Upon arrival, the owner and manager, Monica, was an incredible hostess, she was there for anything we needed! She was super nice, charming, spoke perfect English. You can tell she really enjoys what she does and takes pride in her pension. It just shows. She always greeted us, answered any questions we had, and set out an incredible little European breakfast, the best breakfast in our whole stay in Europe. I immediately fell in love with Germany and Munich, and all thanks to our perfect stay in the Pension Am Siegestor.

Toilets/showers are shared for the whole floor, (sink in our room) but on our floor there were 3 bathrooms (each pretty big) and I never had to wait. We went in May, and it was beautiful weather then, and the city was not too busy. Large, clean, comfy beds, spacious rooms. Internet value at E$2/per day (for Europe, that's a value). Couldn't have asked for more. What an enjoyable stay!!! Loved the Pension Am Siegestor!!!!!!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Two things not in my guide book:

*Make sure you take a walk into the Englischer Garten, people were swimming in the river (in the middle of the city?!?), walking dogs, bike riding, etc. Also a large, friendly biergarten in the middle of the park. Beautiful, romantic experience.

*Also make sure you go to the top of Peterskirche tower in the Marienplatz, it's a tiring hike up to the top but worth it for the view!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agirlnamed3mily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights on a trip to see U2 at the Olympic Stadium - the place is full of character and charm as is the proprietor, Monika. Very convenient for all Munich has to offer with Marienplatz/City centre/Hofbrauhaus/Englischer Garten all walkable. Rooms are very clean and breakfast is a tasty continental style, served attentively by Monkia. We took in day trips to Berchtesgaden (Eagle's Nest) and Dachau, prebooked with Viator, which were both excellent.
Would love to visit Munchen again some day and would have no hesitation to stay here again - the place was also great value in what is quite an expensive city.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRP072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My daughter and I stayed in one of the larger rooms on the fifth floor. The room was immaculate, sunny, and very comfortable. The bathroom was modern and also immaculate. Frau Clauss is a superb and genuinely friendly host.. The hotel is ideally located in the vibrant university district , just steps from a U-Bahn station (and a few short stops from the city centre) and within walking distance of the Englischer Garten. This affordable hotel offers a great deal of old world charm and I would return there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WollongongWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Thank you Monika for the wonderful time that we spent at your immaculate Pensione and the efficient way in which you handled our booking and all the correspondence prior to our arrival. Your caring concern for every guest, the incredible breakfast that you produced every morning, and your helpfulness with itineries and information about Munich and the surrounds. We had a wonderful stay and would recommend this Hotel to anyone. PS - the wifi is so reasonable and excellent connection

Room Tip: All are good as far as I am concerned
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PonkySouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

There's not much more I can add to the reviews already written except to say that they all accurately reflect mine and my partner's experience at this small, conveniently located hotel. Our room and shared bathroom was spotless. Breakfast was typical and good. And Frau Clauss exudes motherly love on her guests. Free wireless Internet was a strong, reliable connection. You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank azo49008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet
0.5 mi away
Das Nikolai Hotel
Das Nikolai Hotel
#207 of 383 in Munich
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#183 of 383 in Munich
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton Astoria
Hotel Carlton Astoria
#205 of 383 in Munich
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
das Hotel in Munchen
das Hotel in Munchen
#237 of 383 in Munich
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
H'Otello H'09
H'Otello H'09
#212 of 383 in Munich
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Am Siegestor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Am Siegestor

Property: Hotel Pension Am Siegestor
Address: Akademiestr. 5, 80799 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Munich
#61 Family Hotel in Munich
#95 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hotel Am Siegestor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing