We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrade in order”
Review of Hotel Biederstein

Hotel Biederstein
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Biederstein
Ranked #204 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed again at the Biederstein this year, and I feel I should upgrade the hotel to 5 stars (last year I was a tad stingy and gave 4). We had booked the same family room as before, but the previous occupants had apparently left the room in a state where the owners felt they could not rent it to us. Thus the owner called me the day of our arrival in the morning, apologized, and offered to either have a repair/cleaning company come to the hotel and fix the family room by 3 pm, or to give us better rooms for the same price, or first try the other rooms and if we didn't like it go back to the family room. This I call commitment to service.

The location was as great as ever, the rooms comfortable, spacious and immaculately clean, the service friendly, the breakfast buffet excellent. I wouldn't know what to criticize. Whenever I'll need a hotel in Munich, Biederstein it will be.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryKaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 58 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our family spent 10 nights at Hotel Biederstein in June. What a great choice. The staff was so friendly and helpful. We wanted a simple place to stay while seeing both Munich city sites and the Bavarian countryside. Karen and Andreas were excellent sources of information and assistance. The rooms were comfy, clean and quiet, and the buffet breakfast was varied and excellent. Lulu, our favorite waitress, served us eggs to order each morning and was so sweet and efficient. We had a double room and a family room, and this combination was perfect for our family of 2 parents and 3 older children. We could walk to the Englischer Garden, the subway, and we found parking on the street for the few days we had a rental car. The neighborhood is mostly families, and pretty quiet, but there are lots of restaurants within walking distance. If you don't feel like taking the subway, you could actually walk to Marienplatz within about 30 minutes. It's very pedestrian friendly. If we return to Munich, we will definately stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babs K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We (a couple with two small children, 4 and 6) stayed there for a couple of nights after a 2-week vacation in the Bavarian countryside, just to sniff a bit of city air. Hotel Biederstein does not look like much from the outside - it is part of of an unassuming apartment complex from the 1960s or 70s. However, its location is excellent, in a quiet residential street that is just steps from both Munich's beautiful city park "English Garden" and the hip neighborhood of Schwabing. There is also a fine traditional restaurant/beergarden ("Osterwaldgarten") just around the corner. The metro is 10 minutes away and brings onw downtown within another 10 minutes.

Staff is friendly, the rooms are not luxurious but clean, functional and comfortable. Fine breakfast buffet. Overall a good place to stay if you look for a more intimate, relaxing setting in this fabulous city.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HenryKaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Located near the lake in the picturesque English Garden (a few minutes walk from Műnchner Freiheit underground station), the hotel is in a very quiet and safe neighbourhood and it's a good base to explore Munich. I had a clean, tidy, functional room, which was like sleeping in a soundproof chamber (very unusual for a city hotel). The extremely helpful staff all spoke excellent English and the buffet breakfast was very tasty. For business travellers, this is certainly much better value than the larger chain hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeDa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

As I have been coming to Munich on a regular basis over the last 10 or more years, I decided it might be time to switch hotels. I always wanted to stay close to the Englischer Garten, Munich as it is a favourite place of mine and I knew there was a hotel(s) almost backing onto it so I decided to see what the Hotel Biederstein (or its sister hotel , Hotel Gästehaus Englischer Garten ) were like because of their close proximity to the park. I was not disappointed. My room in the Biederstein, although somewhat plain and relatively small, was clean & sufficient for my needs. There seemed to be a fairly relaxed manner about the hotel and reception were helpful and unobtrusive – more the flavour of a guesthouse than a hotel. The Biederstein provided a very nice breakfast on a sunny terrace and I was more than content. There is not much more than a small lobby there and ones room but at the bottom of the street you can find a good restaurant where you can sit outside and enjoy a tasty meal in pleasant surroundings. The hotel is located in a quiet residential district. The Biederstein is not particularly cheap but neither are many places in Munich unless you are particularly astute or compromise a little on location or the state of the fabric of the accommodation. As is often the case when you find accommodation that suits your style or mood at a particular time, provided the basics are there – clean room & facilities, basic comfort and food that is enjoyable – then it leaves one with a favourable impression and a wish to return, which is the case with myself and the Biederstein.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ooDormouseoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2007

A small and cozy family-run hotel in a decent location (in Schwabing, near the Münchner Freiheit subway station). And if you like relaxed Old-World charm, you might enjoy staying here. Breakfast was very pleasant, with a fresh Continental buffet, and staffed by a cheerful lady who always remembered who likes which drink in the morning.

But there are problems, too. First, I didn't get all the messages that people left for me with the front desk. I got maybe two out of five over the course of a four nights' stay. Second, they never once got my wake-up call right. One time the phone didn't work; one time the manager forgot (or was sleeping); I don't know. There's really no excuse for it. If you absolutely need to get your messages or to be woken up in the morning, this isn't the hotel for you.

They had just installed wireless internet a day or two before my stay, and I can tell you that it hardly worked in anyone's room. There was a PC in the lobby that anyone could use (when it was working, ca. 75% of the time), and down there I found the wireless signal strong enough to catch as well, but there's a big difference between internet access at a public PC in the lobby and wireless internet access in your room. Don't count on the latter.

All in all--not a disaster, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DrGoldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2003

Owned by the same people as the smaller Englischer Garten. Much nicer rooms though with a bigger breakfast room-they are normaly closed for Christmas though! really good value!

1  Thank gigibebek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Das Nikolai Hotel
Das Nikolai Hotel
#201 of 385 in Munich
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen Schwabing
0.2 mi away
Hotel la maison
Hotel la maison
#244 of 385 in Munich
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fleming's Hotel Munchen-Schwabing
0.5 mi away
H'Otello H'09
H'Otello H'09
#227 of 385 in Munich
206 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City Nord
Ibis Muenchen City Nord
#112 of 385 in Munich
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Biederstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Biederstein

Address: Keferstr. 18, 80802 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $195 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Biederstein 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Biederstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biederstein Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing