We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Nice Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Munchner Kindl
Ranked #294 of 382 Hotels in Munich
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, left town and then came back for 2 nights before flying home. We stayed in the room on the 5th floor, which had 4 beds, a room with a toilet & sink and another room with the shower & a sink. It was plenty of space for 4 of us. Being July, it was a bit warm, but the room had a fan and we noticed an unused fan in the hallway, so we used that as well for the 2nd sleeping area (I would imagine as long as there were enough fans for each room being used, they didn't mind). The hotel was clean, smoke-free and the staff was very nice & helpful. The breakfasts were good and we enjoyed cocktails at the bar one evening also. The location was great...within walking distance to the Karlsplatz & Marienplatz, but far enough removed that it was quiet. Not only was this a Rick Steves recommendation, but family/friends stayed there in March 2012 and had a good experience also.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    40
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
34
33
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We tend to stay in this hotel every year en route to and from our two-family ski trip to Austria. The location couldn't be better for shopping and airport/railway station transfers. The breakfast is tasty and what you ask you will get in no time. However, it's a small hotel in an old building without lift. So if you are physically challenged or travel with lots of luggage you'd better consider other options.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaaremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

The hotel was pretty much what I expected. I've never been to Germany before, but had seen the pictures, so I knew the rooms were small. We had a 1st floor, street side room. It was noisy at night but too warm to shut the windows. Also, it was during Oktoberfest, so the noise was expected. The hotel is perfectly situated close to everything. We were able to walk from the train station, to the Oktoberfest grounds and surrounding restaurants.

The breakfast was average, just enough to get us going. The owner is very friendly and a wealth of knowledge. I'm not sure why they advertise a restaurant and have a menu outside, because it's not open. The bar area is adequate, but they don't seem to welcome outsiders.

Overall, perfect place to stay for us and what we had planned. Definitely would stay there again, the price was great for the location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wingnutz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Room was on the top floor we knew there was no elevator. The room was extremly hot. when we complained they told us not to open the windows. It was hotter in the room than outside. When we returned there was a nasty note on the door telling us to beep the windows closed. The breakfast was nothing special and the restaurant was not open. Wanted to check out early and was told we would have to pay for nights reserved.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michael2666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

The Hotel Munchner Kindl is a great family run hotel in die Alstadt, a block away from Die Augustiner-Großgaststätten, and in a really good location. The owner is most wonderful - her hotel is comfortable, very clean, and charming. Rick Steves recommended the hotel, and he was right to do so.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

The hotel is located in the central location. Close to everything! It's even a walking distance to the main train station (or u can catch a short subway ride). We were uprated to a superior room on the top 5th floor! The room was very cool! They dont have an elevator (since it's in the old historical building), but we didn't mind the walking. The breakfast is in the bar downstairs which is pretty cool too:)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alenka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

This hotel is steps from the Marienplatz very close to places to eat and lots of shopping and culture. Owners were pretty helpful in giving us direction and providing us breakfast (which is not included in the price of the room). The hotel itself is pretty quiet but the street side is a bit noisy especially on a weekend due to a bar being next door. I wanted a street side room thought so thats my fault...I'm used to European rooms being small...thats expected, but the bathroom was literally a closet. We had a hard time using the toilet and not bumping our elbows and other vunerable limbs on anything. Overall for the price it is ok, munich is a pretty expensive city and you won't find anything this close to the city center for near the price. Worth it for convenience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annageez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Asam Stadthotel
Asam Stadthotel
#228 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlanta
Hotel Atlanta
#275 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herzog Wilhelm
Hotel Herzog Wilhelm
#340 of 382 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Der Tannenbaum
Hotel Der Tannenbaum
#352 of 382 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Munchner Kindl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Munchner Kindl

Property: Hotel Munchner Kindl
Address: Damenstiftstr. 16, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W-Lan Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Munchner Kindl Hotel
Munchner Kindl Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing