We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Imposing square with some impressive buildings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Odeonsplatz

Odeonsplatz
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.25*
and up
Munich 2-Hour Segway Tour: Historic Center and English Garden
Ranked #36 of 300 things to do in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
201 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Imposing square with some impressive buildings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

This historic is square in right in the heart of Munich. You can visit the beautiful twin-towered 17th century Theatinerkirche. The square is dominated by the Feldherrnhalle, built in the 19th century as a monument to the Bavarian military. There is a lot more history associated with it, which is worth reading up on (or Googling!!). When you’ve finished here, you can either stroll through the Hofgarten, wonder down Ludwigstrasse towards the Schwabing district or relax in the cafes in the adjacent pedestrianised area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RB_BRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    350
    140
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“hang out for a full day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

spend a full day and an evening in the streets of odeonsplatz, visit the cathedrals and have a nice breakfast in the cafes on the street watching the pigeons. then visit the porche sowroom and the mercedez benz showroom. spend one day at this amazing typical german town.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rindalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We went here to pass a couple of hours before leaving the city but it was a highlight so glad we did! The underground takes you right there and you are surrounded by beautiful buildings. We had a lovely walk round the area- some areas are really peaceful even in the city- and enjoyed the gardens in the autumn sunshine. An added bonus was the trio playing classical music by the station.

Helpful?
Thank Sambagirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
208 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The first place we visited!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We got the U bahn here and stopped at the San Fran coffee company for a drink and bite to eat.
There are some very interesting buildings in this Platz and the history that also happened here is worth a read up of.
We took some photos and went in the church. Job done.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank frenchi700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great area and city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Munich has some of my best memories of my trip throughout Germany, such a vibrant city with beautiful ladies all over and people riding bikes on the well planned pathways. We spent a lovely summer afternoon around the Odeonplatz visiting the many memorials, great churches, and other historical structures; the highlight being the spectacular Theatinerkirche. I fully recommend anyone going to Munich spend a little time in this area and do a little exploring.
There in summer '12.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank metalhank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Odeonsplatz also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Odeonsplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing