We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, but be aware of see-through shower!!”
Review of Cocoon Stachus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cocoon Stachus
Ranked #47 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place, but be aware of see-through shower!!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed 2 nights with our 3 teenage kids. Positives include the fun lobby design, friendly and helpful reception, clean, fun rooms and comfy beds. Location was mixed -- very convenient to the train station and downtown (which was a big plus for us) but it was uncomfortable having to walk back and forth past a strip club to get there. The biggest problem for us was the see-through shower (zero privacy). This should have been clearly disclosed --- it was fine for me and my husband, but very awkward for the kids. They took turns showering while the others waited in the lobby; and skipped showers entirely the second day just to avoid the whole situation. It would be great if they at least "frosted" the showers in a few triple rooms. Also, the 6th floor is not reachable by elevator. They had to haul luggage up the last flight of stairs. This was OK for us but could be a problem for someone else. We did not try the breakfast, but were glad to exchange housekeeping for drinks! Otherwise, we really did like the hotel and loved the chirping bird in the downstairs bathroom (!)

Room Tip: Confirm that the room is accessible by elevator if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 925Calimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    270
    80
    23
    5
See reviews for
82
236
56
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Loved the design and feel to this hotel and its laid back nature. It's definitely quirky & good for people who want something a bit different than a boring business-type hotel. Booked a three bed room and had a lovely spacious top floor room with a balcony. Only downside was the third bed was a fold up "Z" bed.
Staff were very helpful - printing off tickets for us, giving information about local places to eat and drink etc.
The breakfast was excellent, great value and choice.
Some people may find the location tricky if they're not comfortable with big city life. We had no problem coming from London and being used to walking around areas near train stations at night.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beabea98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2014

A fantastic hotel with a great vibe and decor (particularly liked the bird songs playing in the lobby bathrooms!). We sprung for the "deluxe" room which was definitely worth it, it was really gorgeous with a large bath and interesting layout. A very unique place to stay, glad we ended our trip in this hotel :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank menzir .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Looks good but pictures on booking don't match with our room. Clean room and bathroom. Chairs stinks because guest smoke there. Very noise, had not good sleep. Double bed is in fact a twin with two small separate covers. If look for cheap and design it is good.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nikolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Reservation Department at Cocoon Stachus, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Nikolas D.,
thank you very much for your kind feedback. All our hotel photos show exactly the rooms we sell at the hotel.
Based on a guest survey, all our double / twin rooms are furnished with 2 single blankets rather than with 1 big one.
Our Hotel is a non smoking property so the chair should not smell at all. Of course it can be possible that some of our guests ignore our policy and start to smoke in the room.
We hope you had a pleasant stay in Munich and are looking forward to welcoem you again in the near future.
Your, Cocoon Stachus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel is general was really cooly decorated, and we liked the room. A few cons:

- the open shower to the room was fine, but the wall that is shared between the shower and the washroom is transparent...which kind of sucks for the person in the washroom!

-the room was very hot and we had to go down twice to get it set cooler - I see another reviewer has mentioned this. It is centrally controlled by the staff as I am aware.

-the room was very trendy but obviously cheap - you couldnt really open the windows because the curtains would fall off, and it was overcrowded with hanging chairs and stuff

some pros though:

-front desk staff were friendly, helpful, and polite

-free wifi and free access to tablet in front lobby!

-quiet side street, mere minutes from the old city and same from the train station


Summary: if you get a good deal and good rates, it is a great choice because it is clean and although it is not in a popular location, if you are backpacking it is so close to the train station and the same distance to the Aldstadt.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 122Courtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel has got it all and is definitely good value for money. It has a very fresh modern feel with designer decor both in the hotel lobby, dinning room and the rooms themselves. Staff are very friendly and helpful and gave us some great tips for our stay in Munich. The rooms are very clean and have a feel of a modern studio apartment rather than a hotel room. The breakfast is a large buffet and is definitely value for money with a wide selection of both hot and cold dishes. The hotel is situated about 10mins walk from the main train station and about 20mins from the main town square (Marienplatz). We planned to explore by foot but the staff recommended that we go by bike instead. That turned out to be a great tip. We hired our bikes from the hotel directly for €10 which was cheaper than most of the local bike hire places. Overall I rate this hotel highly and would definitely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brucey_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I was rather disappointed after seeing the hotel and room in person. It has some "design" compared to other hotels. But overall the room is very small and basic. No safe is provided. The WiFi signal is too weak that it was impossible for me to get connected in the room. A big minus! The good thing is the location. It is very close to the train station and old town. However, the neighborhood could be noisy at nights.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyTaipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#44 of 382 in Munich
312 reviews
0.0 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#10 of 382 in Munich
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirabell
Hotel Mirabell
#18 of 382 in Munich
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#61 of 382 in Munich
809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#36 of 382 in Munich
1,105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cocoon Hauptbahnhof
Cocoon Hauptbahnhof
#77 of 382 in Munich
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoon Stachus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoon Stachus

Property: Cocoon Stachus
Address: Adolf-Kolping-Str. 11, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocoon Stachus 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the lobby at the bar, from the room to the Alps, from the house door to the Oktoberfest, new ideas from your neighbours of the whole world: 69 rooms for contrarian thinkers and late risers, swift-travellers and dawn-breakers, evergreens and striplings, business people and holiday-freaks. City-located, fresh and last but not least… keep-smiling priced. Cocoon: designed with mind open for new impressions to touch your soul. Offering you nights to remember in the pumping heart of Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cocoon Stachus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing