We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Cocoon Stachus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cocoon Stachus
Ranked #51 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Loved the design and feel to this hotel and its laid back nature. It's definitely quirky & good for people who want something a bit different than a boring business-type hotel. Booked a three bed room and had a lovely spacious top floor room with a balcony. Only downside was the third bed was a fold up "Z" bed.
Staff were very helpful - printing off tickets for us, giving information about local places to eat and drink etc.
The breakfast was excellent, great value and choice.
Some people may find the location tricky if they're not comfortable with big city life. We had no problem coming from London and being used to walking around areas near train stations at night.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beabea98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 611 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2014

A fantastic hotel with a great vibe and decor (particularly liked the bird songs playing in the lobby bathrooms!). We sprung for the "deluxe" room which was definitely worth it, it was really gorgeous with a large bath and interesting layout. A very unique place to stay, glad we ended our trip in this hotel :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menzir .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Looks good but pictures on booking don't match with our room. Clean room and bathroom. Chairs stinks because guest smoke there. Very noise, had not good sleep. Double bed is in fact a twin with two small separate covers. If look for cheap and design it is good.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Nikolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Reservation Department at Cocoon Stachus, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Nikolas D.,
thank you very much for your kind feedback. All our hotel photos show exactly the rooms we sell at the hotel.
Based on a guest survey, all our double / twin rooms are furnished with 2 single blankets rather than with 1 big one.
Our Hotel is a non smoking property so the chair should not smell at all. Of course it can be possible that some of our guests ignore our policy and start to smoke in the room.
We hope you had a pleasant stay in Munich and are looking forward to welcoem you again in the near future.
Your, Cocoon Stachus Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel is general was really cooly decorated, and we liked the room. A few cons:

- the open shower to the room was fine, but the wall that is shared between the shower and the washroom is transparent...which kind of sucks for the person in the washroom!

-the room was very hot and we had to go down twice to get it set cooler - I see another reviewer has mentioned this. It is centrally controlled by the staff as I am aware.

-the room was very trendy but obviously cheap - you couldnt really open the windows because the curtains would fall off, and it was overcrowded with hanging chairs and stuff

some pros though:

-front desk staff were friendly, helpful, and polite

-free wifi and free access to tablet in front lobby!

-quiet side street, mere minutes from the old city and same from the train station


Summary: if you get a good deal and good rates, it is a great choice because it is clean and although it is not in a popular location, if you are backpacking it is so close to the train station and the same distance to the Aldstadt.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 122Courtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel has got it all and is definitely good value for money. It has a very fresh modern feel with designer decor both in the hotel lobby, dinning room and the rooms themselves. Staff are very friendly and helpful and gave us some great tips for our stay in Munich. The rooms are very clean and have a feel of a modern studio apartment rather than a hotel room. The breakfast is a large buffet and is definitely value for money with a wide selection of both hot and cold dishes. The hotel is situated about 10mins walk from the main train station and about 20mins from the main town square (Marienplatz). We planned to explore by foot but the staff recommended that we go by bike instead. That turned out to be a great tip. We hired our bikes from the hotel directly for €10 which was cheaper than most of the local bike hire places. Overall I rate this hotel highly and would definitely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brucey_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I was rather disappointed after seeing the hotel and room in person. It has some "design" compared to other hotels. But overall the room is very small and basic. No safe is provided. The WiFi signal is too weak that it was impossible for me to get connected in the room. A big minus! The good thing is the location. It is very close to the train station and old town. However, the neighborhood could be noisy at nights.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyTaipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The expectations were high but we ended up disappointed with the Cocoon Hotel in Munich. Hotel had a hip appearance, and was modern and clean, but room was a let down. Room was on the top floor, in the attic and very small. We struggled to comfortably move about with the 2 of us and suitcases. Air conditioning was not functioning correctly (centrally controlled?) and would not cool the room so it remained hot and stuffy. Location is average, a 10 minute walk from the main station, in the "Red Light" district.

The service was poor and disappointing. They were very strict with check-in, making us wait until 2pm on the dot. We were deceived with the breakfast offering, when asked during check-in we opted to pay for the following day's breakfast and decide the other days after experiencing it first. We returned the following days to have breakfast also (as it was quite good), however discovered upon checkout that the subsequent days were more expensive because we didn't pay/book them in advance! They failed to advise this to us at check-in, and were not accommodating or apologetic about it at all.

PROs
Modern/Trendy decor/style

CONs
Poor/Rude Service, Inadequate Air-conditioning for warm days, Very small rooms, Poor WiFi

Room Tip: Avoid top floor due to poor A/C in summer, gets hot and stuffy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RB26VL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Cocoon Hauptbahnhof
Cocoon Hauptbahnhof
#52 of 389 in Munich
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#32 of 389 in Munich
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 389 in Munich
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#13 of 389 in Munich
599 reviews
0.1 mi away
IntercityHotel Muenchen
IntercityHotel Muenchen
#135 of 389 in Munich
772 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#7 of 389 in Munich
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoon Stachus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoon Stachus

Address: Adolf-Kolping-Str. 11, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $91 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocoon Stachus 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the lobby at the bar, from the room to the Alps, from the house door to the Oktoberfest, new ideas from your neighbours of the whole world: 69 rooms for contrarian thinkers and late risers, swift-travellers and dawn-breakers, evergreens and striplings, business people and holiday-freaks. City-located, fresh and last but not least… keep-smiling priced. Cocoon: designed with mind open for new impressions to touch your soul. Offering you nights to remember in the pumping heart of Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cocoon Stachus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing