We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, good location, delicious breakfast”
Review of Cocoon Stachus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cocoon Stachus
Ranked #50 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Espoo, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Great staff, good location, delicious breakfast”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and really liked the place. The building is old but hotel is renovated in a stylish way. Check-in was easy and fast. You can exchange maid service on a daily basis for a 5€ voucher for hotel bar. Breakfast was a good selection with quality. Room was big for German standards, birch wallpaper looked nice behind the bed. The only downside was there is no fridge/minibar in the room. Shower was excellent, good water power. Would like to return to this hotel if we come back to Munich.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henri_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Reservation Department at Cocoon Stachus, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Henri,
thank you very much for your excellent feedback. We are sorry that our room concept doesn't include a minibar, but we serve cold drink 24/7 a our bar/lounge area. We hope you had a fantastic time in Munich and are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Greetings from Munich,
Your Cocoon Stachus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    274
    81
    23
    5
See reviews for
83
240
56
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Perfectly located, close to Center and train station. Very nice and friendly staff and tasty breakfasts :-). One may not like The room set up, but I loved it as its extremly functional.i shall come back with great pleasurs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPrzytulski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Close to everything including the train station. Don't let it deter you. Great little place. The staff was absolutely the best. Florian took great care of us and gave us great places to eat, especially Mongos, The rooms are small but are incredible at using space. Very cute, comfortable bed, interesting shower. Very clean. Very self serve but you get a free drink if you skip cleaning service. Downside, Wifi was good in the lobby but only good in our bathroom!! Stayed again 1 night at the end of our trip and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived, the room was already ready. We paid at checked in right away. Reception was very friendly and helpful. One of them assisted us in printing our car rental voucher as it was required. Done within minutes. The lift is quite small but managable. We love the concept of the room. Housekeeping was great. Assisted in changing our towels everyday.

Hotel is about 5 -7mins walk from Munich central station. Alot of shopping malls ard. The hop on hop off bus was just mins away. Recommended the gray line!

As no one is perfect, a little flaw was that up the street there are casinos and strip club... but once you know exactly where to walk.. you cn bypass all tht. Pizza hut, KFC are all walking distances!

Really impress with this hotel!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fafababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I spent some nights in the Cocoon because of a trade fair in Munich. The place is a very unique boutique hotel. Very centrally located (4 Minutes to both, Main Station and Karlsplatz, where the inner city is. The rooms are small, but very nicely decorated and clean. It is possible to obtain a voucher for the bar by skipping the room service to save the environment. Very nice idea.

The beds are comfortable and the breakfast (10 EUR) is a good start for the day. Would stay here again. Only minus is the air conditioning, which is either heating or cooling and is kind of centrally regulated. In you room you can only turn it on or off.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The hotel is located neer to Main Train Station and Marienplatz, it is very comfortably for travellers. In hotel nice staff. One from them speak by russian. Good continental breakfast. Small, but clean rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oksana20130626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Reservation Department at Cocoon Stachus, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Oksana,
thank you very much for your kind fantastic feedback.
We really appreciate that you have take the time to write this review about our hotel.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kindest regards
Cocoon-Stachus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife stayed here on the vacation portion of a business trip.She stayed in a single room & was very pleased to find a full size bed. The overall design of the room & hotel was quirky & fun. The staff was pleasant & helpful, she didn't have time to learn much German and they were always quick to help her in very well-spoken English. It's location is near the main train station, which will always mean certain things: you are close to multiple forms of transportation, there are many options for places to get a bite to eat, and some people may think it "seedy" (ie. strip clubs). As a lone woman walking around the area at night, she never encountered a single problem so don't let the area put you off of a really great hotel that is also a great value.

Room Tip: Some people have expressed concern about the shower being exposed to the room. Not sure if this is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlflook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Reservation Deparmtent at Cocoon Stachus, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Sir,
thank you very much for your wonderful feedback.
We really appreciate that you have taken the time to write this review about our hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you again.
Kindest greetings from Munich,
Your Cocoon Stachus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#44 of 382 in Munich
327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#12 of 382 in Munich
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#36 of 382 in Munich
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirabell
Hotel Mirabell
#16 of 382 in Munich
754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#61 of 382 in Munich
826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cocoon Hauptbahnhof
Cocoon Hauptbahnhof
#73 of 382 in Munich
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoon Stachus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoon Stachus

Property: Cocoon Stachus
Address: Adolf-Kolping-Str. 11, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocoon Stachus 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the lobby at the bar, from the room to the Alps, from the house door to the Oktoberfest, new ideas from your neighbours of the whole world: 69 rooms for contrarian thinkers and late risers, swift-travellers and dawn-breakers, evergreens and striplings, business people and holiday-freaks. City-located, fresh and last but not least… keep-smiling priced. Cocoon: designed with mind open for new impressions to touch your soul. Offering you nights to remember in the pumping heart of Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cocoon Stachus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing