We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Boutique Hotel, Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocoon Stachus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cocoon Stachus
Ranked #43 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Modern Boutique Hotel, Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had trouble finding this hotel as my iPhone map pulled up the other location and when we showed up we were informed we had a reservation at the other one. Not their fault, but just an FYI that there are two! The front desk attendants were extremely helpful and friendly and I was impressed with the service for it being an inexpensive, boutique hotel. Our room was very clean, and I loved the bright colors of the wall graphics, however, it was VERY small. This wasn't a huge issue for us since we were only staying one night, but had we stayed more than one night, I would have been feeling very claustrophobic. The breakfast buffet was absolutely fantastic and totally worth the price!!!! I believe it was 9 euros. They had hot and cold items, a variety of fresh juices and a nice espresso machine.

The location was good, centrally located to the subway and about a 15 minute walk to Marienplatz. I wasn't blown away by the location, but it was good considering the price of our room and the fact that it was in a quiet area was a bonus.

The highlight of our stay here was when we were leaving. It was raining very, very hard and we were on a tight time schedule to get to the underground train. One of the desk attendants by the name of Mickey offered to walk us to the train (since we had no clue where to go and it was pouring) WITH umbrellas! He had one umbrella over my head/suit case and another over my mother with her suitcase. He got completely soaked and had such a great attitude the whole time! We tried to give Mickey a tip and he wouldn't take it. SUCH a nice gesture and because of this I would definitely give Hotel Cocoon another try - I would just book a larger room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Cocoon Stachus, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Amkriss,

thank you for your feedback.
We always try to make our guests stay as memorable as possible, this is what Hotel Cocoon is all about. And Micky has done a great job. It would be great to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, your Hotel Cocoon Stachus Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    260
    77
    22
    4
See reviews for
77
226
53
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

excel hotel. staff friendly, helpful & speak good english
Rooms functionable and clean.
Excellent brkfsts.
5 mins mainline stat 15 slow stroll to old town
suitable all ages.
Colin . June 2012

Room Tip: double has amazing walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Cocoon Stachus, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Colin M,

thank you for your nice comment.
We are delighted that you have had a good time at the Hotel Cocoon Stachus.
Hope to see you again.
Your Cocoon Stachus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We did wait a while for us to be entertained at the check in counter, but we did arrive super early too, around 6am. We didn't mind since check in wasn't until 2pm or until the room was available, we just wanted to leave our bags. Staff was helpful to answer our questions. The free internet worked fine for us in the room and in the lobby.

We got a triple room so the space was limited with all our luggages but we really liked the modern design. Our shower included 2 types of shower, we can choose from rain shower or a telephone/hand held shower. The shower has a clear glass view to the bedroom. Beds were comfortable. We didn't see the ipod dock though.

Their elevator only goes up to the 5th floor, you have to use the stairs to go to your room if it's on the 6th floor.

Location was ok, few blocks from the train station and the main shopping area.

Room Tip: If you need the use of an elevator, please inform them, so they don't assign you a room on the 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilcozym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

stayed in this hotel for one night and my experience was negative. When I arrived I did not feel welcome by the staff, rather I felt like I was interrupting two friends that wanted to keep chatting to each other. They gave me no information whatsoever and didn't offer any help. The hotel structure is old, however the hotel rooms are new, but very basic. The shower handle is not removable, the room has basic services and very limited space. The hotel is located near the train station, the neighbourhood is surrounded by erotic stores and kebab restaurants. I tried to use the Internet, but it didn't work.
The quality/price ratio is poor, I paid 148 euros for a single room and the rate didn't even include breakfast!
I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank silvergirl_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#54 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eder
Hotel Eder
#58 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.0 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#10 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.0 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#112 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoon Stachus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoon Stachus

Property: Cocoon Stachus
Address: Adolf-Kolping-Str. 11, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocoon Stachus 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the lobby at the bar, from the room to the Alps, from the house door to the Oktoberfest, new ideas from your neighbours of the whole world: 69 rooms for contrarian thinkers and late risers, swift-travellers and dawn-breakers, evergreens and striplings, business people and holiday-freaks. City-located, fresh and last but not least… keep-smiling priced. Cocoon: designed with mind open for new impressions to touch your soul. Offering you nights to remember in the pumping heart of Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Cocoon Stachus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing