We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RECOMMENDABLE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Munich City South Hotel
Ranked #92 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
“RECOMMENDABLE”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

good room, clean, comfortable, cosy, quite with the window closed. Excellent bed.
Service is good, but they "forget" too often to clean your room.

Nowhere around to have diner.

The internet connection in the room is awful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank just_a_guest_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    241
    105
    13
    12
See reviews for
104
176
26
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Location was not so good, but it was quiet. Service, comfort and cleanliness of the rooms were impeccable!! The breakfast all u can eat buffet was very adequate, so was the wireless internet signal. Would definitely stay there again the next time i'm in Munchen.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cadillac_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Relatively new hotel located at the residential area, within 5 minutes walk to U stations (U1 & U2).
Avg. breakfast, comfortable bed, clean amentities.

(Room rate during Oktoberfest is around 200 which is more than two times of their regular rate...)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fanlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have stayed in the Ibis Muenchen Sued for a week during a major fair. The hotel seemed to be close to fully occupied and thus I guess this was a good way to prove its preparedness.

The hotel is newly refurbished, for what I can gather, so it is all up to the new Ibis standard. On the one hand, this means from now on it can deteriorate as the hotel ages, on the other - the hotel, probably with new personnel, passed the test brilliantly despite operating, for what I can understand, only for months or weeks prior to our arrival.

The hotel is not really anywhere close to any points of interest, and in the middle of an "Arbeiterviertel", as I was explained. The surroundings do not appear to be dangerous, but there is nothing and nothing to do and scantily anywhere to eat around the hotel (we spent our evenings in the town centre).

There is no easy way to get to the hotel from the airport - you either need to change trains or take a taxi. There is a short 5-10 min walk to the U-bahn station Silberhornstrasse, which takes you either into the centre (10 mins) or to the fairgrounds (15-20 mins).

Tegernseer Landstrasse is one of Munich's major thoroughfares, but this makes reaching the hotel by car/taxi harder than on foot, as the Landstrasse is divided into one-way multi-lane sections. The hotel is new, so even the taxi drivers get confused. Make sure you or the taxi driver do not confuse the Ibis Muenchen Sued with a nearby "Ibis Budget" (blue pillow logo).

Navigation tip: put in "Reintaler Strasse" rather than "Tegernseer Landstrasse" into you nav device or ask the taxi driver to do so. The hotel is at the corner of the two, but the nav should provide a shorter and clearer way to Reintaler Strasse

There is little to write about the actual setup of the hotel and the rooms, as this is the same in all new or refurbished Ibis properties. I find the design and the details well thought-out and absolutely satisfactory.

Three minor issues one can have are:
1. The shower has no door or curtain, so it is very easy to get the bathroom floor wet in no time.
2. There was no actual closet (only a set of open shelves and a space for hangers), and there were only three garment hangers. Take your own ones if you intend to stay at an Ibis for longer :p
3. The rooms are smallish - you will have a hard time being comfortable there with two persons in the room if you stay for longer, as part of my party experienced

On the other hand, the room window did open, which to me is majorly important as I prefer fresh rather than air-conditioned air.

On the service front, the hotel was again totally satisfactory. Despite the full occupation, the staff proved very efficient. Everybody I interacted with spoke good English and German, even though the team had an interesting mix of nationalities so typical of the service industry in contemporary Germany.

One letdown was that once that we left a bit later than the housekeeping started (and they DO start early!) and left the "do not disturb" notices on the door handles not to be interrupted during our morning preparations, we have found our rooms barely touched by housekeeping on arrival. It was far too late and not distrubing enough to notify the front desk.

Then there was an issue of the hotel staff informing me repeatedly how they only had ONE iron and ironing board, and keeping strict tabs on borrowing those. I've had no problem with that, but found this a bit amusing in a Fawlty Towers way.

Still, the hotel offered free Internet that worked brillianty. You have to log in each of your device separately using a code you get at the front desk, but one login suffices for the entire stay.

I also have to command the breakfast buffet - for an economy hotel, I have had nothing to complain about regarding the range or quality of products available. This is no lavish five-star buffet, but I really enjoyed it.

I can't say that the hotel was great value, as we paid 200 EUR per room per night as the Muenchen hotels know very well how to take advantage of the fair/Oktoberfest season.

Room Tip: Rooms ending with x01-x08 overlook the courtyard/parking/garden and are thusly quite quiet. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTCz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We drove to Munich during Oktoberfest. We parked our car in the underground car park and used the U-Bahn to get around.
Hotel is typical Ibis. All new, very clean. Rooms not huge but definietly larger than some tourist hotels. For an American, having a bed that doesnt sit near the floor is a welcome relief. Plenty of electrical outlets to plug in all of the stuff (Ipad, cell phones etc).
Staff was very helpful. It isnt a 5 minute walk to the U-Bahn station. More like 10, but its all flat and decent sidewalks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joetul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Muenchen City Sued
2.6 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City Ost
Ibis Muenchen City Ost
#73 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Muenchen City Sued
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City West
Ibis Muenchen City West
#69 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
1.1 mi away
Bold Hotel Muenchen
Bold Hotel Muenchen
#48 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Munich City South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Munich City South Hotel

Property: Ibis Munich City South Hotel
Address: Raintaler Str. 47, 81539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Munich City South Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an exciting stay in the Bavarian capital. The ibis München City Süd hotel has 133 air-conditioned rooms that really make you feel at home with their fresh design and innovative, extra-comfortable beds. WIFI is free of charge throughout the hotel. Breakfast is available between 4AM and midday, and the bar serves drinks and snacks around the clock. You can reach the city of Munich, which is 1.9 miles (3 km) away, in just 8 minutes on the U-Bahn. Secure parking is available in our indoor car park. Thanks to the excellent location of the ibis München City Süd hotel, you can quickly reach all of the city's key destinations and attractions. And you can breathe easy as our hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Munich City South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing