We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel near train station”
Review of Hotel Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Helvetia
Ranked #213 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel near train station”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed a couple of days in this hotel, very well located just a few meters from the main train station. Breakfast was very good and the price is quiet affordable. The room distribution was a little bit awkward, but for a couple of days is ok.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    123
    59
    19
    13
See reviews for
34
72
26
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, NY
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Let me start of by saying the rooms are incredibly small. it barely fit two twin beds and even then, only one of us could walk around. the other had to sit on the bed. there was no TV in the room. there was a small table but we used it to put our suitcases and purses on top since there was barely any room for us to put our belongings. The bathroom was a decent size at least but it was cold and not very kept. Outside of our window, there was a brick building. lovely view
The location of the hotel seems very shady. I did not feel very safe coming home late at night. The train station for the Tube was up the street which was helpful to go downtown Munich. The main train station is 2 blocks away which was convenient if you are traveling throughout Germany and/or Europe. There is a stripper bar across the street from the hotel.
The one good thing I can say is that the night front desk attendant was very nice to us and helpful. There is a restaurant in the hotel which is helpful to dine and run in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nki65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

If, like me, you will be travelling a lot from your hotel base then this is a good choice for getting around Munich. There is an underground access to the Munich transport system just 30metres from the hotel, or you can walk 100-120 metres to the tram station and main central station. The main shopping street is just a 5-minute walk away.

The room was clean, slightly on the small side, but had all the main amenities you'd expect. The room was air-conditioned, but we didn't need it. We didn't try the breakfast either. The mattress was surprisingly comfortable.

The main negative, which wasn't really a problem, was the immediate neighbourhood - a little bit on the seedy side, as is the case with most main train stations in big cities. However, the reception desk is staffed 24/7 and the hotel is near the start of the street and it was not threatening despite the noisy bars across the road.

Room Tip: I imagine the rooms giving onto the street could be noisy at night with the bars opposite, so go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dg2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

One swish room worthy of a much more expensive hotel: well laid out and beautifully lit. Very short walk from train station and twenty minute stroll from Marienplatz which affords people-watching, beer drinking and eating opportunites aplenty – at a surprisingly affordable price. Other leisure activities are on offer should one turn right out of the Hotel door – not a bit like home ! Supermarket just around the corner. Excellent free Wi-Fi. We would be tempted to return to Munich on the basis of the Helvetia alone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foyle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I booked this hotel last minute and it fulfilled its purpose in the sense that I had a place to sleep that was close to the train station. However: when hearing "Swiss" or "Helvetia" I used to think of "high quality" and "clean". From my experience those terms do not apply for this hotel. It was not clean and that is all I can blame them for. The location is of course not nice but it's conveniently situated almost opposite the railway station, the room was small and very dark and I couldn't open the window because there was a fire staircase outside that connected all the rooms. So it was like a common balcony with the whole hotel. But room size was no priority for me to book the hotel.

To sum up: it's a place where one can stay for one night with no great expectations if not too picky about clean rooms. For what you get it's still overpriced although in absolute terms it's already not expensive.

Room Tip: I guess you either pick a room that looks into Schillerstrasse (where it will be loud at night) or y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koberecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The location is very good, just across the main train station. The department store is also just across the street. Some consideration on the location is that it is near the red district as there are some strip clubs and casino around the hotel. But we find it safe and no any issues.
Staff were also very helpful and they are work fast and effective.
As for the size itself, it's a bit small (esp. the elevator where it may only fit 2 people with 2 luggage), but the hotel was clean.
One comment on the double bed, it's actually two single beds that was combined not real double bed.
It's a good choice, esp. if you are travelling with train.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erwin_Widjaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in December and overall we had a good experience. The rooms were clean and the staff were helpful. The hotel was only a few minutes walk from the station, which is handy for tired travelers. Everything was easily accessible-the underground station is literally on your doorstep and the main square is just down the road.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
#166 of 382 in Munich
307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#120 of 382 in Munich
373 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monaco
Hotel Monaco
#181 of 382 in Munich
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#62 of 382 in Munich
825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#165 of 382 in Munich
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#136 of 382 in Munich
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Property: Hotel Helvetia
Address: Schillerstr. 6, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helvetia 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing