We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a ZOO”

Tierpark Hellabrunn
Ranked #13 of 312 things to do in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Huge complex of buildings makes this one of the most enjoyable museums you will ever visit. Plan to spend a great portion of the day there since there are so many exhibits and rooms to see.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Bratislava Region, Slovakia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just a ZOO”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Even though I am not a huge fan of staring at locked up animals we visited the ZOO because of our kids. They enjoyed it a lot because they could feed goats and touch some very nice animals.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank brushjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,097
    473
    107
    19
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Perfect location for children and for adults. The area is huge, you should plan one day to see everything. So many animals, many educational events, we watched bird show and elephant show, they were lovely. There are good restaurants, so you are settled for the day :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank preveduvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimouski, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best experience ever with the lemurs.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

A very nice zoo where I had the chance to meet and feed the lemurs. It was the best experience I've had. A 99 euros well invested! Our guide took us "backstage" to show us where the food was prepared and store. He was nice enough to try to speak in english because my german is not good enough yet to understand everything. But we managed to understand each other. It was awesome and I would recommend this experience to every animal lovers who can afford this. I would do this again anytime. The best 45 minutes in my life.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank natachahuot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely day spent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We ventured out to the Tierpark which is very reasonably priced, very spacious and all animals being very easily viewed. Plenty of eating areas, large playground area for bigger children to play, small merry go round for the littler ones in the children's section. Worth seeing

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not your average Zoo experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

One of the first outings we went on after moving to Munich was to the Hellabrunn Zoo. With older kids, I wasn't expecting them to be very interested and thought it would be a short trip. We ended up staying the entire day and then bought season passes! We absolutely LOVE this zoo! There is always something new to see and can be enjoyed all year long. Our favorite part about this zoo is that there are minimal barriers between you and the animals...really feels like you could reach out and touch them. We also love the biergarten and large playground area where we can enjoy a bier while the kids entertain themselves (even the older ones!). The grounds are just gorgeous with lots of places to stop and sit to just soak up the beauty all around. Don't miss this one!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tierpark Hellabrunn also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Tierpark Hellabrunn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing