We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location! Terrible Service!”
Review of Hotel Condor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Condor
Ranked #163 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was our third trip to Munich, and we like to try different hotels each time. We tried Hotel Condor due to its close proximity to the Hauptbahnhof & Marienplatz. It was a very convenient location. However, staff is extremely unhelpful. First, I booked rooms not including breakfast. When we went to check out, they charged us for breakfast, and advised it was not optional. So although we were paying for it (and had no idea) we didn't have breakfast at the hotel once. It would have been nice of the staff to tell us upon check-in that we were paying for breakfast. Secondly, they accidentally put through charges on my credit card for the room twice, so when they went to refund it, I lost $80 on the exchange rate. They were extremely un-accommodating on reimbursing me for the lost $80. Luckily I phoned my credit card company & they handled the discrepancy with them. I would not recommend this hotel due to the fact that when on vacation you don't want to have to deal with things like this.

Room Tip: Ask to face courtyard not street for quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaclyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 269 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Very well located in the centre of Munich. Quiet at night too, having stayed at the Anna Hotel on previous stays (no trains rumbling underneath this hotel). A bit of a dark and small room but spotlessly clean and a very comfortable bed. Free WiFi too. We visited during Oktoberfest so the prices were artificially high, but very reasonable at other times. So, basic but clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Foonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

breakfast was lovely. a nice courtyard where you can eat
the staff were extremely helpful
perfectly located - near the train station and marienplatz
sure - the rooms were a bit small but the outdoor sit out was perfect. The bathrooms a bit small but this is a city hotel - what can one expect.
very safe
the street on either side may have looked a bit dodgy but the hotel staff assured us that this is among the safest cities in the world.
strongly recomended bt book early - it was a bit steep on price.

Room Tip: the first floor looked nice and quaint but we got a 5th floor room facing the coutryard which was pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MumbaiK-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

What the others have said sum it up pretty well, it is a very convenient location, and they do their best....that being said, it was average. Our room was small as a riverboat stateroom, (same with bathroom). Coffee is instant, but plentiful. Sweet rolls, fruit, meats & cheeses, no bread or rolls. Choice of an egg or a broken egg "omelet", fried in oil, for 7.50 Euros...not worth the price. Beds were comfy, good pillows. No ice to be had. (I raided the bar freezer, found one half small bag of very old ice). Old lady comes in every afternoon, sits facing entry, scowling at everyone, but she gets a free meal, I guess, since the kitchen isn't open and they cooked for her. Room refer on the fritz, they were helpless, but gave me a bottle of water that was cold, since the one in the room was warm, and there was no bottle opener available anyway. Arrived with temps in the high 80's, no AC rooms available. Faced the courtyard, that was nice. But so did a lot of rather noisy neighbors from adjoining properties and rooms nearby.

Long story short, it rained for two days, we went stir crazy and left 2 days early. Good news, we got a little refund after penalty.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NilaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We needed a hotel very close to the Hauptbahnhof railroad station and came up with this one. We booked late and paid too much - such is life.
But - it's a very short walk from the station and right at the beginning of the shopping walk to karlsplatz and then down to marienplatz. Excellent location! As we didn't have a car, this worked out very well.
The room was small and didn't have air conditioning. We did get a fan, which helped because there's a fire escape balcony door to open and place the fan in. It helped!
The room is very nice - in excellent condition and with a remodeled bathroom (Corian sink/countertop)... but very cramped with little room to move. But - we're out and about so it mattered little. It does come with a small refrigerator and safe. Note: the lift is very small - we were on 2nd floor (two flights up) so once we got our stuff upstairs, it was easy to walk.
Breakfast is wonderful! Eggs are available and the buffet included a great variety of yogurt, cheese, meats and breads - plus granola, fruit, paté and much, much more. A great way to start your day.
The bar never opened, but my guess is that the front desk person (always spoke English) would get something if you needed it. A supermarket is a block away. Bonus: Yorma's convenience store at the railroad station has GREAT sausage on a bun. A favorite, and cheap as well.

Room Tip: If you're walking, stick to a low level. Our room (201) had a balcony (fire escape) door which r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is located in between the Hauptbahnhof and the Munich town centre. Just a 5 minute stroll in both directions. It is a no-frills hotel, so don't expect a lot of fanfare. Complementary breakfast is of the common kind, nothing to shout about. If you have large suitcases, there might be a problem, since the lifts are quite small, need to squeeze a little.

Helpful staffs with a good knowledge of the surrounding area. I think the only negative thing to say would be to avoid staying here if there is a football match going on. Firstly, the prices are slightly higher, and you would have football fans mingling around the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank two5kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Spent 4 days at Hotel Condor earlier this month. Location is great: close to main train station, and to the city centre. Staff was friendly and helpful. Stefano - no matter what we asked, always responded "no problem". Since we speak only, English - we were grateful for the ability of the staff to answer and questions in English. The room was small by North American standards, but fully equipped, very clean, and the nicest towels we had anywhere in 3 weeks in Europe. Just a little thing, but very nice! There is a breakfast included and it is very good. Large selection sliced cheese, & meats. Lots of bread and buns; cereals,fruit and yogurt, and each day something different: smoked salmon or a special treat would show up. Cooked eggs offered and good coffee! I would stay at Hotel Condor again and recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room faced the inner court yard - so didn't notice much noise. This hotel is on a short side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gatrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
#182 of 385 in Munich
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meier City Munich
Hotel Meier City Munich
#157 of 385 in Munich
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#209 of 385 in Munich
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eder
Hotel Eder
#64 of 385 in Munich
633 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpen Hotel Munchen
Alpen Hotel Munchen
#113 of 385 in Munich
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#40 of 385 in Munich
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Condor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condor

Address: Zweigstr. 6, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $93 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Condor 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Condor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condor Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing