We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Der Tannenbaum
Ranked #333 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great price, Great location!”
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed during the Christmas markets the weekend after Thanksgiving.I had read previous reviews so when we arrived I knew that I would check in at one location but the hotel was around the corner. I had booked the room through hotels.de and found a great rate for Christmas market season. I later received and email that the rate was a mistake (only 49 Euros)., but the hotel agreed to honor it. Our room was clean, quiet and the bathroom had a window that opened up and looked onto the rooftops and a nearby church steeple. What a view!

The location is great. Only a few blocks from the Marienplaz. Only bad thing is the lack of parking. You have to find a spot on the streets.

The hotel staff was excelletn. I needed access to a computer and they allowed me to use one of theirs in their office and didnt charge me the normal usage fee. Breakfast was an awsome european breakfast with fresh rolls, cheese, yogurts and coffee. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skubachick4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    25
    15
    7
    10
See reviews for
16
11
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We were planning to stay for a weekend, but when Munich airport shutdown we ended up staying for a week. The rooms were clean, well lit, and the beds were comfortable. There was no noticeable noise from the street, apart from what you'd expect in any city. Breakfast was very good! A good location for transport, restaurants, and tourism. Staff understanding of customer service was variable, ranging from minimal plus to excellent. We made sure to talk to the most helpful staff!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwallace650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sverige
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2010

When I arrived late to Hotel Der Tannenbaum the staff came up with a lame excuse that
it had been a water damage (!) in my room så I was transferred to Münchner Kindl,
to which I did NOT have the address, phone number or knew where it as in the city map.
(The staying at Münchner Kindl was perfect but that was NOT thanks to Hotel Der Tannenbaum.)

Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2009

We booked 3 double rooms 6 months in advance only to be told on arrival that there had been a mistake and we had been moved to the inferior and cheaper Hotel Herzog-Wilhelm next door. We ended up in tiny twin rooms, dirty, poor quality,one room with a broken toilet, no security box or hair dryer. By the scene at reception with another couple this seems not to be an isolated problem. Avoid at all costs as this seems to be a front to fill the lesser sister hotel on false pretences. Stay clear.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leicestershireduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Sure, the location is excellent, and the rooms are plain but clean, but it's just not worth it. My husband and I were traveling with 2 other couples, and when we arrived we were unapologetically informed that one of our 3 reserved rooms had been given away and that 4 of us would just have to share a room. Overbooking seems to be the norm with this hotel. Also, the windows and walls are flimsy, and even though we were on the 4th floor we could hear every single noise from the extremely busy, noisy streets below. We were kept awake all night for 2 nights listening to people screaming and shouting and singing and police sirens. I'll give them a "poor" instead of "terrible" simply because of the location which is walking distance to everything, but do not recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MissKittyColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We (couple with two teens, and a family friend) stayed five nights at the Hotel Der Tannenbaum. Excellent staff, very good breakfast (what a surprise, though, for Americans. The variety was amazing, but a bit strange. Best cherry yogurt in the world...), very clean, affordable hotel.
At first we thought the neighborhood was a bit iffy, but it was really not a problem. There was some loud conversations outside when area bars closed, but no traffic noise. The location was actually terrific in many ways. Easy walk to Altstadt with all the shopping, attractions, and restaurants. Short walk to UBahn and SBahn stop. The beer garden appeared closed during the day, but was a very pleasant, quiet place for an evening beer. Excellent Italian restaurant located in the nearby shortcut (alley? Walkway?) through the block on the way to the Marienplatz.
Our teenage kids were disappointed with no free Internet, but the Apple store located about ten minute walk away saved the day. We all checked email during business hours, and even sat outside with our iPod Touches after it closed (free wireless stayed on a while).
Munich was wonderful. I want to go back, and would stay at the Hotel der Tannenbaum again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2009

I was there 1 night on a business trip. It's a short walk from the HBF. The internet connection was on the pricey side. If you are planning on being on-line a lot, there may be better values. The room was clean, roomy, and comfortable. Breakfast was fine. All-in-all, a good place for the price.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YogiYogiYogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Acanthushotel
Acanthushotel
#245 of 382 in Munich
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Am Sendlinger Tor
Am Sendlinger Tor
#353 of 382 in Munich
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asam Stadthotel
Asam Stadthotel
#248 of 382 in Munich
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.1 mi away
Centro Hotel Mondial
Centro Hotel Mondial
#254 of 382 in Munich
401 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Aparthotel Munich
City Aparthotel Munich
#187 of 382 in Munich
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Der Tannenbaum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Der Tannenbaum

Property: Hotel Der Tannenbaum
Address: Kreuzstr. 18, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #333 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Der Tannenbaum 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our reception you find at our main entrance: Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 23 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Der Tannenbaum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Tannenbaum Hotel
Der Tannenbaum Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing