We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location friendly staff”
Review of Anna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anna Hotel
Ranked #50 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Have just returned from a few days staying at this hotel. Staff where friendly with the hotel in a great location just across the road from the town centre and at this time of year the Christmas markets.
The room was a good size clean and tidy and could not be faulted a thoroughly enjoyable stay
the bar always had a good few people in

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iandartford13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear iandartford13,
We truly appreciate that you have taken the time to summarize your impressions of our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us with our location, rooms and especially our staff. The next time you are in town we look forward to seeing you again. Best regards
Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
There are newer reviews for Anna Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 684 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

Booking: Online, direct at their homepage

Checkin: Arrivied around 01:00pm, room available.Quick checkin, easy, all fine
Checkout: Efficient, friendly. Nice touch: Got a bottle water

Location: Close to the main station, near the city center. Subway and commuter train close. --> perfect

Rooms: Enough space, standard room, nothing special

Restaurant: Was packed in the evening. Good food.

Overall: Hotel is ok, but it is not special. Location is key. Stuff is friendly. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear TMG001,
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate that you have taken your time to effectively summarize your impressions of our hotel and are pleased to hear that overall you have been satisfied with your stay. It seems that we did not meet your expectations on our hotel entirely which we regret. It would be helpful for us to get to your opinion in which areas we could improve ourselves. Nevertheless we hope to welcoming you back.
Best regards. Julia Sprung (j.sprung@geisel-privathotels.de) and the team of the anna hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you're heading to Munich, Germany for any reason; be it a business trip or just a hop over while holidaying, then Anna Hotel is the place to stay in. Anna Hotel made my stay of 2 nights very comfortable in Munich.

We had gone to Munich just to get a feel of Germany as we were exploring new holiday destinations in Europe. Anna Hotel is not just affordably priced when compared with other 3-4 star expensive European hotels, but also has the best location possible. It is situated right in the heart of the city centre of Munich. So we had lots of cafes, a Mc Donalds outlet, shops and boutiques, malls and even taxis right outside the hotel.

The hotel has a small reception on the right side of the entrance and a huge breakfast buffet on the left side with comfortable long chairs and outside seating also. The breakfast looks tempting and has a decent spread inspired by the traditional American breakfast. It was also great to have a warm service first thing in the morning at our breakfast table.

Now coming to the rooms, we had taken two rooms. One for my parents and the other for my brother and myself. They were close to the lift and were compact and clean. I must comment that the toilets in the rooms were excellent. They were spacious, clean and very well made with rich tiles. The staff at the Reception were friendly and happy to guide us in our sightseeing plans. They suggested us the best things to see in Munich; the BMW museum was a nice place to visit with family. On our way to the museum we saw some historical buildings as well.

To be concise, Anna Hotel offers a comfortable stay and lot of convenience especially if one is traveling to see what Munich has to offer on the tourism front. The evenings around the Hotel become very vibrant and happening. Lots of tourists, couples and families roaming around the clean streets outside. There are street shops selling waffles, bagels, coffee and tea. These things gave us a relaxing vacation and made us like Anna Hotel. I would strongly recommend it to tourists/ business travelers to Munich to stay here and enjoy the city like no place else.

Room Tip: Talk to the hotel directly to reserve a good room instead of booking online. At times you get a good...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RavishaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear RavishaK,
Thank you for chosen our hotel for your stay in Munich. We truly appreciate that you have taken the time to describe in detail your impressions of our hotel and thank you for your kind words. It´s nice to hear that you were so satisfied with your residence. We hope to seeing you again soon in our hotel. Best regards Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We enjoyed our 5 nights at the Anna hotel in a Panorama suite. The room was on the 5th floor, good views of the rooftops, with a small terrace. The room was large, with 2 reclining chairs and a desk. Loved the shower with its coloured lights and the TV set into the bathroom mirror, and great toiletries. There was plenty of closet hanging space, with robes and slippers provided, but no drawers, which I thought a bit odd. The bed was very comfortable, excellent linen, towels regularly replaced. The breakfast was very good, well presented, with eggs cooked to order. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our only problem was the fact that the afternoon sun baked into our room which had floor to ceiling windows on two sides and made the room feel like a sauna. The air conditioning could not cope and nor could we. The staff attempted to lower the room temperature but no luck. They were concerned, however, and helpful, and really did try their best. I suppose most guests are out all day and do not notice this but because the hotel is very central, we often popped back in the afternoons to refresh.
We loved the food hall at Karlplatz right next to the hotel, having Karstadt dept store opposite, and sitting at the outdoor tables of the hotel watching people go by. The location was amazing. From the Karlplatz subway there is a direct train to the airport..

Room Tip: Room 003 is too hot in the afternoon. Choose a Panorama suite on the other side of the building.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thalia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Thalia8,
How nice! We are honored and want to personally thank you for your efforts and your kind words especially on our staff. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel with the style as well as decoration of our rooms, location and breakfast selection. Please accept our apology for the incorrect working air conditioning. We will discuss this issue with our maintenance department to repair this problem for the future. The next time you are in town we look forward to seeing you again. Best regards Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Literally in front of the Karlsplatz stop on the Sbahn (as long as you take the right exit). Just across the ring from the Karlstor gate to a big shopping boulevard and the Marienplatz and everything that's in Old Town. 15 minutes walk from the art museums. We never took any public transportation or taxis...just walked everywhere. We had a terrace room with a view of the city building tops (tho the parking garage next door does feature prominently and the evergreens separating the terrace areas were brown and dead). In spite of those small drawbacks, it was superbly pleasant to sit outside with a glass of wine, going over the day's adventures. No street noise, but we were on 6th floor. Hip, minimally decorated room, great bed, fun colored light shower, rainforest shower head. Best breakfast buffet of the trip, with eggs cooked to order. Then, when came time to take the train to Vienna, the Ubahn is also just a few blocks away. Service was friendly, with perfect English...but this is a big hotel, so they're not particularly chatty or warm. But we weren't looking for a B&B vibe, so we were good with that. My husband and I liked this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: We had room 2, on the sixth floor with a terrace. Pretty, though there's a parking garage next d...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChristyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear ChristyC,
It was entirely our pleasure having you and your husband as guest. Good that we were able to inspire you with our popular breakfast buffet and our design as well as facilities of our rooms. It is lovely to hear that you take the possibility to go for a walk instead of using the public transportation during your stay. We understand this feature as a great opportunity to get to know a city. We are happy to seeing you both again soon in our anna hotel. Best regards Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Perfect location to all of the walkable sites of Munich and situated immediately adjacent to the S Bahn and U Bahn for traveling longer distances, including the airport. The room was very nice, clean and well appointed, staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was quite good. The evening crowd at the outdoor restaurant was a little questionable, but we just avoided it. This is not a luxury hotel, but if you want convenient and comfortable, look no further.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank friscobased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Friscobased,
thank you very much for your review following your recent stay. With pleasure we found out that you have been satisfied with your residence in our hotel with our staff, rooms, location and breakfast. We hope to welcoming you again soon. Best regards. Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Anna Hotel in Munich is designed and operated to ensure its guests have an enjoyable stay in the very walkable city of Munich. The location is great if using trains and the subway, but its important to get you bearings right to ensure you find it quickly - I accidentally left the Hauptbahnhof by a side entrance and walked several hundred metres in the wrong direction before re-tracing my steps through the "wrong" part of town.
The reception is friendly, warm and efficient, making you feel very welcome. The room was well equipped, clean and up to date.
The bed for me is critical and it was just right with a firm mattress making for a great night's sleep.
Breakfast was great, plentiful, tasty and served by friendly staff eager to get your day off to a great start.
Oh, the bar and bar service had a buzz that made a solo traveller feel great.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are quirky (nice and fun) but odd in shape and you should potentially ask about th...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dudeskewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Dudeskewl,
Thank you for letting us know that you relish your stay with us. We are very proud to hear that our staff did all to make your time with us most enjoyable and that you have been satisfied with our location, rooms and breakfast. The next time you are in town we look forward to seeing you again in our hotel. Warmest regards Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#20 of 385 in Munich
591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#81 of 385 in Munich
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
837 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#39 of 385 in Munich
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#21 of 385 in Munich
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Hotel

Address: Schuetzenstr. 1, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Munich
#29 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#32 Family Hotel in Munich
#35 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#50 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $171 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "anna hotel" and its "anna next door" are located in the middle of the city centre of Munich, directly at the famous Karlsplatz/ Stachus. The hotel provides 75 exclusive rooms including the luxury Tower suite on the upper floor. The round balcony on the 6th floor offers a great view over Munich, the Frauenkirche and the magnificent palace of justice. The apartment "anna next door" is unique in the hospitality industry. Its own design is characterized not only by modern furniture as an iPod-Docking station or a flat screen-TV in the restroom but also by a kitchen and a free standing overflow bathtub. The 2 minutes walking distance to the hotel is highly appreciated by the guests. The hotel combines modern design with grace and comfort, which is emphasized by the membership of Lifestylehotels and awarded by the renowned magazine "Architektur & Wohnen" as one of the 100 best Design hotels in Europe. The "anna restaurant", a central hot-spot, is appreciated by the hotel guests and the locals for its modern restaurant concept, the individual service, the euro-asiatic cuisine and for a broad selection of cocktails. Due to its special ambience the "anna restaurant" offers the perfect event location for up to 180 persons ("anna rondell" for up to 30 guests). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing