We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Anna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anna Hotel
Ranked #57 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We travelled from the airport by train and were delivered to the door of the hotel - after a long flight what could be better.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Check in was a breeze.

The room was small but has everything in it, really comfortable bed. The toiletries were a bit scarce. This wouldn't have been an issue if our luggage had not arrived until about he time we checked out! The bathroom is excellent - great shower.

We had breakfast in the hotel. Really good selection, try the Lassi instead of the juice.

We had read about the hotel being noisy because of the bar downstairs. We had a first floor room directly above the bar and hardy noticed it at all. The convenience of a great bar downstairs far out ways a little noise.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank browney237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear browney237
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel with its location, with our rooms, and our breakfast. We thank you especially for the nice comment on our staff.
Hopeing to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards. Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    254
    80
    19
    13
See reviews for
84
276
45
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the sushi, hands down. I was traveling on business alone and felt perfectly comfortable in the restaurant despite it buzzing with people. Had two terrific meals with sashimi, nigiri and rolls. It is a nice change from the heavier German food.

Rooms are small and could have been cleaner (dead bug in the bathroom). My room was facing the street on the first level and it was noisy. Excellent, walkable distance to the main shopping drag.

The receptionist struggled to understand my English, which surprised me for Germany but overall the service was fine.

Hairdresser next door teased my hair into a Dallas/Dynasty like helmet. If that is your thing and it is definitely mine (they do not speak a word of English and I have no German), my hair lasted three days! Also, absolutely fabulous wine store just in front.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariacallasmaria74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales & Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear mariacallasmaria74,
We are glad to learn that you relish your time in our restaurant and your stay at our hotel. The more we regret you were disturbed by street noise in your room and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience. As our hotel is in the very heart of Munich this is sometimes not avoidable. You may ask for rooms facing the other direction of the hotel on a higher floor for your next stay. Spotless cleanliness of our rooms is our highest priority. Therefore we apologize that our service has not been executed accurately this time.
Looking forward to your next visit in our hotel.
Best regards Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Anna hotel has a nice restaurant just in front of karlsplatz. The setting is nice and the service good. They are famous for sushi in particular. It is a good place for cocktails in the evenings. It is usually crowded during the week ends when it is better to book in advance. Nice place in the city center.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristiano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales & Marekting Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Cristiano B
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and your time in our restaurant. Thanking you for your nice comment; we hope to welcoming you again.
Kindest regards. Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel & restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Had 3 days in Munich and tried this hotel and ended up in one of the top floor suites. Great sunset views and a nice bar/restaurant downstairs that spills over onto the outdoor mall. A short walk from the train station. Close to the plaza and great buildings (old and new) by foot. They arranged a driver for me to take me to Dachau and every thing they did was very well executed.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzman7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales & Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear jazzman7777
Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your observations with the travel community. With pleasure we have read your positive comments about our hotel and restaurant as well as our limousine service and our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the anna hotel in the not too far distance.
Best regards
Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdenoja
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Rude staff ,expensive and the food is very poor.
Noisy.
It is not worthy to spend monee in dinner or breakfast there.
The terrace in summmer is pleasant just for a cup of Coffe.
Before leaving the table the waiter check the tip even when he did not pay any atention to us while having dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AireValdenoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Sales & Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear AireValdenoja,
Thank you for your comments and observations following your recent visit to our anna restaurant & bar and for you taking the time to share your observations with the travel community. We are sorry to read that you were unsatisfied with your visit in our restaurant. If you could kindly inform us more detailed about the reasons why we could not meet your expectations in our culinary selection we might have the chance to improve ourselves in this issue. We would appreciate if you could contact us by phone +49(0) 89 599940 or mail anna@geisel-privathotels.de.
We deeply regret that you got such an impression of our employees. This is definitely not what we are known for as anna hotel and restaurant put great emphasis on warmth, courtesy and professionalism. Unfortunately, you experienced the opposite during your visit. Please be insured that we talked immediately to the concerned departments to make sure that our guest are happy from the first minute until the last minute of their visit.
Therefore we would be more than glad to get a future chance and convince you especially of our friendly and courteous staff.
With best regards
Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is located close to the Munich train station, and just 10 min walk from Marienplatz. It was a little bit hard to find the main door of the hotel, but you entered the service was super.
Modern and spacious rooms with free wi-fi, and a excelent breakfast. Big shower with tropical rain-shower. Great beds, and very good desk for working with lap top etc.
Karstadt shopping mall just 30 sec walk from the hotel, and a lot of other shopping and dining possibilities in the area.

Room Tip: Look for the main door just after the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Napoleon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Sales & Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Napoleon72,
Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us. We are glad to read your positive comments on our room product, our breakfast and central location. The satisfaction of our guests is our main aim and we all do our very best to provide our guests with the best possible service. We are proud to read that we could satisfy you in this aspect and that you enjoyed our free wireless lan with high speed connection.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the anna hotel in the not too far distant future.
Kindest regards
Julia Sprung and the team of anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Anna, Munich and were looking forward to our stay. We were impressed by the great photos on the website and decided to stay for our one night in Munich on Monday 25th March.

We checked in at the hotel BUT WERE NOT informed of the complete redecoration in the hallways on each floor and outside the bedroom. We were exceptionally tired but unfortunately unable to relax and rest in the room due to the noise of staff and work in the corridors.

No room service is available at the hotel and we were not informed of this upon check in either.
As a sales person working in a 5 star luxury hotel in central London I have high expectations and it is disappointing not to be informed or WARNED of the renovation works taking place or that everytime you would like refreshments you must leave your room and ask in the restaurant.

Unfortunately, the general decor of the bedrooms and the main areas of the hotel look nothing like the website photos and are certainly not as colourful!

The hotel is possibly the noisiest I have stayed in with delivery trucks and vans driving past the hotel and under your 2nd floor bedroom room constantly. Maybe this is down to the central location but there is not getting away from the fact that this hotel is very noisy.

FINALLY, after a terrible nights sleep due to the constant noise we expected to have at least some tranquility and a lie in in the morning. This was not to be the case!

This was completely destroyed by 3 separate visits to the room by housekeeping who did not appear to knock on the door, and just walked in to the room whilst we were asleep and in bed. Quite unbelievable!

The hotel is in a great location but really does not match up to the standards of the other hotels in the same group.

A very disappointing stay for a birthday treat to Munich!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MitchMichMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear MitchMichMoo,
Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your observations with the travel community. Your feedback is from utmost importance for us as the satisfaction of our guests is the first priority. Unfortunately there seemed to be some problems during your stay and we really want to apologize for the caused inconveniences especially as you intended to celebrate a specially occasion.
Due to certain circumstances the painting work in the hall way on your floor had to be arranged at short notice therefore we had unfortunately not the possibility to inform you prior your arrival. We deeply regret you have been disturbed by this operation. You are right we do not offer room service in our anna hotel in general, but on the other hand we offer drinks and snacks from the mini bar for only € 1.00 per item. In addition the anna restaurant and bar well known for young, modern and innovative cuisine with Eurasian influence and signature cocktails serves dinner until midnight and the bar is open ended on the weekend. This combination supposed to reflect the concept of our anna hotel as a modern, business design hotel.
We feel sorry that you were disturbed by street and additional noise during the night. As our hotel is in the very heart of Munich this is sometimes not avoidable.
Please allow us to deeply apologize that you have been annoyed by colleagues from housekeeping who apparently entered your room without announcement in the morning. We would like to put emphasize this is certainly not the norm and we can ensure you that we talked to the concerned department to make sure that this annoyance will not happen again.
Thank you for having stayed with us and your valuable comments. We deeply regret that we could not meet your expectations. We would appreciate to get in contact with you personally with good intent to get the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you a memorable stay in the anna hotel. Therefore we kindly ask you to refer to j.sprung@geisel-privathotels.de.
Best regards
Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#70 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#22 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#9 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.6 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#16 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Hotel

Property: Anna Hotel
Address: Schuetzenstr. 1, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Munich
#32 Family Hotel in Munich
#34 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#35 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#50 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "anna hotel" and its "anna next door" are located in the middle of the city centre of Munich, directly at the famous Karlsplatz/ Stachus. The hotel provides 75 exclusive rooms including the luxury Tower suite on the upper floor. The round balcony on the 6th floor offers a great view over Munich, the Frauenkirche and the magnificent palace of justice. The apartment "anna next door" is unique in the hospitality industry. Its own design is characterized not only by modern furniture as an iPod-Docking station or a flat screen-TV in the restroom but also by a kitchen and a free standing overflow bathtub. The 2 minutes walking distance to the hotel is highly appreciated by the guests. The hotel combines modern design with grace and comfort, which is emphasized by the membership of Lifestylehotels and awarded by the renowned magazine "Architektur & Wohnen" as one of the 100 best Design hotels in Europe. The "anna restaurant", a central hot-spot, is appreciated by the hotel guests and the locals for its modern restaurant concept, the individual service, the euro-asiatic cuisine and for a broad selection of cocktails. Due to its special ambience the "anna restaurant" offers the perfect event location for up to 180 persons ("anna rondell" for up to 30 guests). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing