We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bavarian brilliance...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anna Hotel
Ranked #59 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bavarian brilliance...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just spent 2 nights for business at this brilliant hotel. Its In a great central location near the main station and the S bahn & the U bahn as well as numerous cabs and opposite Kardsat the dept store. The room was lovely, and quiet and I had a great nights sleep both nights. Downstairs is the bar and and restauarant and I had delicous Sushi my first night. All the staff speak excellent English and it was no trouble being a single female guest on business. The breakfasts are included and were delicious. Tons of lovely smoked salmon, fresh fruit, amazing bread. Good Coffee. The Reception staff were helpful, able to recommend a restaurant for the second night, give directions and offered me free bottles of water to take to the airport. everything in the minibar is a euro which I thought was a bargain. Will definitely come back here again!

Room Tip: I always ask for high up room but was on 2nd floor and no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales & Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear TaraH,
thank you for your comments and observations following your recent visit to the anna hotel. We are delighted to read that you do rate the hotel, its service and staff very highly. To enjoy our guests with the best possible service is our first priority and we are glad to hear that we could convinced you with our cordial and helpful service, our room product and the location of our Hotel. We are happy to find out that you relish your visit in our restaurant for dinner and breakfast.
Thank you for having stayed with us; we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Best regards
Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    251
    79
    19
    13
See reviews for
82
273
45
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have stayed at the Anna hotel three times over a period of a year and always had an excellent experience.

The hotel was recommended to me by a Munich local.

It is in easy walking distance to the main shopping district, Lowenbrau hall and metro station to access the airport as well as main station for ICE trains.

The bar downstairs does excellent cocktails and I have always been able to get the staff to recommend a decent bar to move onto next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed for two nights in December in a deck room while visiting the Xmas markets.

The room was spacious, Typicaly the double bed was split in two, so a gap between the two mattresses, not the most comfortable bed i have stayed in.

The location is ok, 10 minute walk into the centre of town.... We arrived late in the evening so we thought we would just grab a bite to eat in the hotel restaurant, when we went down we found out the entire bar and restaurant were closed for a private party.

Check in is low key, you have to lug your own luggage up to the room, not the best greeting after a 10 hour journey.

Breakfast is ok, day ones experience was average at best, on the second day a friendly waiter was on hand to at least communicate with us.

Will be visiting Munich again, but not at this property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear agjeaton, First of all I want to thank you for your honest comment on tripadvisor. We are delighted to read your positive observation on the size of our rooms and the location of our hotel. We apologize that you did not feel comfortable with our bed style. It is true that our restaurant and bar is sometimes booked entirely for a special event and not available for our hotel guests on this evening. However I can assure this is a rare event. Usually our hotel guests will be informed upon check in and we recommend the restaurant of our sister hotel Excelsior which is located just a few steps away from the anna hotel. As far as we understand your review this information has not been passed on you. For this failure we would like to apologize and we can truly understand your anger. The more we are glad to read your friendly words about our colleague from the breakfast service.
Your feedback is from utmost importance for us as the satisfaction of our guests is the first priority. We would like to apologize for any caused inconveniences and deeply regret that we could not meet your expectations. Therefore we would be more than glad to get a future chance and convince you entirely from our hotel.
With best regards

Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I brought my Mum here for a treat so had booked a 'boutique' hotel. I expected more for the money.
Positives were:
- friendly helpful staff
- fantastic location right in centre and seconds from the underground
- comfortable beds
- nice bathroom and lovely shower
- good breakfast and restaurant in hotel
- free bottle of good cava as we booked through Mr and Mrs Smith

Negatives were:
- a party was being set up in the restaurant when we arrived so the place looked a bit of a mess and I thought the entrance was poor for a good hotel.
- room was barren with a chipped bedside table and two of the same pictures, one just hanging upside down?!
- generally the place felt like it needed refurbishment

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 642Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear 642Anon,
Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your observations with the travel community. Please accept our apology for the delay of our reply. We are delighted to read your positive observation on our staff, on the guest room´s bed and bathroom, as well as on the location of our property and the restaurant. We all are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in this aspect. We would like to apologize that you felt disturbed by the organization of an event in the restaurant. Your comments regarding the table and the pictures in the room have been forwarded to the concerned department to improve and change this equipment. We can assure you that this standard is certainly not the norm. We arrange refurbishments and improvements for our hotel on a regular basis. therefore we just finished for example painting works on all floors of our hotel.
Thank you for having stayed with us and your valuable comments; we would be more than happy to get the chance to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Best regards
Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very nice and helpful staff, but this hotel needs some serious cleaning.
Dirty and dusty rooms!
Clean this place!
Good location to the train station, restaurant was ok. Bathrooms are small and lack amenities..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginos89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Ginos89, First of all we want to thank you for your honest comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to share your observations with the travel community and apologize for our late response.
On the one hand we are proud to read your positive annotation on our staff. The satisfaction of our guests is our main aim and we all do our very best to provide our guests with the best possible services. It is wonderful to know that we could gratify you in this aspect as well as with the location of our property and our restaurant. On the other hand we feel sorry to read your evaluation on the rooms not to be cleaned. This is definitely not the norm. Spotless cleanliness of our guest rooms as well as of the whole public area of our hotel is first priority for us. We are embarrassed that we could not convey this to you. Please be insured that we have forwarded your comment to the concerned departments in order to find out more about the reason of your discovery and of course to avoid this in the future.
We would be more than glad to get a future chance to convince you completely of our hotel.

With best regards from Munich

Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

If you're looking for a centrally located hotel that is easy walking distance from Central Station and Marien Platz, you can't go past the Anna Hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and the best things were the great all inclusive breakfast, the rain flow shower and the comfy bed. The breakfast was a godsend as we were in Munich in the middle of Xmas and all the Xmas Markets which are limited to sausage, mushrooms and cabbage treats. At least by eating a good healthy breakfast each day we didn't miss out on substance other than meat and potatoe!!

I wouldn't say it was the cheapest or best value Hotel, but by the time you factor in the breakfast and location (which saved on travel, etc) it was worth it.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Marien Platz is only 1 stop on the S-Bahn, Central Station is only 1 stop the other way and both are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qldkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We spent six days in Munich just before Christmas and couldn't have chosen a better hotel. The Anna is an easy walk from the train station and right at the hub of the city. Having said that, it felt calm and quiet (we had a room overlooking the pedestrianised side of the hotel rather than the street side).

The staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating. We arrived on a very early train, but were able to check in at 10.30, rather than having to walk around in a half-dazed state till the 3pm normal check-in time.

The room was large with lovely picture windows, so it felt airy and light. The bathroom was big too, with a great shower. The bed was comfortable and the furnishings just right. Strangely, it also had the cheapest mini bar we've ever come across. Usually, you steer clear of using them because you're likely to find some huge additions to the bill. Here, though, every item was 1 euro, so it was actually a useful addition to the room.

Breakfasts were included in our 185 euro/night price and were delicious. A buffet of fruits, cereals, lots of different kinds of bread, meat, cheeses, smoked salmon, eggs and more. Best of all, though, they were served until 11am (12noon at weekends). That made mornings feel luxurious rather than rushed.

We'd recommend it absolutely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pedestrianised side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TasteTestersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#21 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#68 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#10 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#36 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Hotel

Property: Anna Hotel
Address: Schuetzenstr. 1, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Munich
#32 Family Hotel in Munich
#34 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#35 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#50 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "anna hotel" and its "anna next door" are located in the middle of the city centre of Munich, directly at the famous Karlsplatz/ Stachus. The hotel provides 75 exclusive rooms including the luxury Tower suite on the upper floor. The round balcony on the 6th floor offers a great view over Munich, the Frauenkirche and the magnificent palace of justice. The apartment "anna next door" is unique in the hospitality industry. Its own design is characterized not only by modern furniture as an iPod-Docking station or a flat screen-TV in the restroom but also by a kitchen and a free standing overflow bathtub. The 2 minutes walking distance to the hotel is highly appreciated by the guests. The hotel combines modern design with grace and comfort, which is emphasized by the membership of Lifestylehotels and awarded by the renowned magazine "Architektur & Wohnen" as one of the 100 best Design hotels in Europe. The "anna restaurant", a central hot-spot, is appreciated by the hotel guests and the locals for its modern restaurant concept, the individual service, the euro-asiatic cuisine and for a broad selection of cocktails. Due to its special ambience the "anna restaurant" offers the perfect event location for up to 180 persons ("anna rondell" for up to 30 guests). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TravelClick so you can book your Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing