We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Cafe at Schloß Nymphenburg” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schlosscafe im Palmenhaus

Schlosscafe im Palmenhaus
Ranked #350 of 3,655 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: Cafe, European, International, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: SCHLOSSCAFÈ IM PALMENHAUS is a historical location directly in the park of the castle of Nymphenburg: a botanical glasshouse with various possibilities: breakfast, brunch, lunch, coffee break and an exclusive location for private individual events and parties.
Los Gatos
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Cafe at Schloß Nymphenburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice lunch for two for E30, great setting in the Schloß. Just what we needed that day after weeks of rain in Germany. Outside service available but not that day because of the weather. Would happily go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TaktLosGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    46
    34
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hnl
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little crowded and expensive, but a nice place for a coffee pause”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Was here during the winter. It was quite crowded, and we waited a while to get a table, but we eventually sat down and had coffee, cake, and Kaiserschmarm. It was nice to warm up and enjoy the snowy day from inside a warm space. The service was fine, if a bit distracted and brusque, and the prices are a little high for the quality of the food, but nothing more than one would expect eating at a cafe on a palace grounds. That said, I have had the opportunity to go there again, and I have chosen instead to go to cafes outside of the palace grounds where it doesn't feel quite so frenetic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cithri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
511 reviews
413 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“overpriced and poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had the option of the fast food dining either outside the cafe or in schlosscafe im palmenhaus and with it being so cold outside, we chose the latter. It was warm and cosy in the restaurant and the settings green and beautiful. The food here was nice, but compared to other places in Munich, the portions were considerably smaller for the price. I ordered the dampfnudel for dessert and was disappointed with the thin vanilla sauce which lacked flavour. Also, the waitress brought me a steudel by accident and when I said I ordered the dampfnudel she said this was the dampfnudel. On asking another waiter, he sorted it out. However, service was slow and unfriendly. Would not come here again. Also, have to spend more than 30 euro to use your credit card, but this isn't hard to do with the prices here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank huge_appetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanticoke, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
199 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Delicious meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

During our visit to the Nymphenberg Palace we stopped at this restaurant. I had iced tea (eistee) which was white tea pomegranate (delightful). Also I enjoyed potato pancakes with applesauce and assorted fresh fruit. The potato pancakes were not greasy. They were great and went fabulously with the applesauce and the fruit. We followed this with apple strudel with vanilla ice cream which was to die for! Absolutely scrumptious--best apple strudel I had tasted in Europe.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“palatial splendour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

sited in the grounds of the magnificent Nymphenburg Palace, this café/restaurant boats a lovely lawned garden to dine in - with potted palm trees, of course - with an imaginative menu of main courses and magnificent looking deserts. our waiter Freddy seemed the happiest man alive, serving cakes that good it's no surprise! the place needs to be special to do justice to the surroundings, and it is, highly recommended if wandering through the palace's gardens.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonGraeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schlosscafe im Palmenhaus also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Schlosscafe im Palmenhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing