We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maximilian Munich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maximilian Munich
Ranked #50 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent two nights at Maximilian Munich and it was a wonderful experience. We stayed in one of the apartments which was large and comfortable. We had a balcony which overlooked the rose garden. The staff there were exceptional. Its location is perfect and everything is accessible via foot. We had a car but didnt use it for the 2 days we were there. The restaurant was fabulous, the food delicious. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Munich.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuitcaseStories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    70
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
63
81
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed there with my Son in early August for 4 days ... the reviews on this hotel are accurate and to the point ... as I have to be in Munich again in mid October, did not hesitate to book for a second stay. Clean cosy hotel, rooms with adequate space (by European standards) and a few minutes walk to the center... area is very safe till late at night....

If you are renting a car, there is a multistory garage opposite the hotel, which adds to the convenience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is literally 5 min walk for Marienplatz but it is an oasis of calm, charm and peace. The rooms are spacious, decorated tastefully with modern fittings and include a small kitchen space. The room has a small balcony overlooking the garden which has a very peaceful and wonderful fountain bubbling away. The service is excellent and this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at and I have stayed at a lot. It is not the cheapest hotel but it is worth paying for what you get.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfo1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Went for weekend stay to see the wonderful city of Munich. The Maximillan was a wonderful suite hotel that made us feel right at home. It was a short walk to many of the must sees....Haufbrauhaus, Glockenspiel, etc. The staff were able to answer any questions we had, and were more than helpful in assisting us with transportation, must sees, etc. Their ability to speak English fluently aided us in our comfort. Would definitely stay again if we visit Munich....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Located centrally in beautiful Munich this is a great place to make home, fr a few nights or a few weeks. The apartments are modern with everything you need, and walking distance to the key sights of Munich.

You can stock up and self cater, wander around the corner to eat at one of the many great restaurants and beer halls, or dine in at the Maximilian restaurant.

The central garden is tranquil, and we loved waking up listening to the trickling water feture and the birds. No street noise at all if you book an apartment overlooking the courtyard (some in the outer apartments, but still pretty quiet).

Helpful staff, the bet location, modern and well appointed - we will be back.

Room Tip: Business or holiday is great. Courtyard facing is quiet. Long term and return stays saw us upgraded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaileyC_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here in August 2013 with my infant daughter and husband.

Location is excellent - around the corner from the Mandarin Oriental and just a few blocks walk to the center of town, shops, restaurants, etc.

We had a 2 room garden suite with kitchenette. The refridgerator came stocked as a minibar but the staff removed the items within so we could use it to keep our own items cold. The bed was very comfortable and outfitted with fluffy pillows (none of those flat jobs that seem to be the norm at many hotels). The little fire escape terrace was a nice to have as well and overlooked the interior courtyard.

The hotel set up a travel crib along that was quite clean and served us well. We were able to "park" our stroller in an adjacent hallway since it would not fit in the elevator and I didn't want to have to drag it up up 2 flights of stairs.

There are pay per use washers and dryers in the hotel lobby which is a wonderful amenity albeit the coin operated system has its pitfalls (we essentially had to run down to the lobby at the exact moment or be shut out of the machine)

On the downside, our room only had a small shower which made bathing a baby a little bit difficult. And lastly as mentioned by previous reviewers, there were no non-news English channels which would have been very nice to have during our jet lagged evenings.

Overall a great stay and would highly recommend them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StefR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My daughter and I spent 12 days in June at the Maximilian Munich, it is an oasis of peacefulness in the middle of a very busy city. Its location was close to restaurants, stores and public transportation. We had a studio with a balcony overlooking a Rose Garden with 2 chairs and a table. For our length of stay we liked having the kitchenette in our room and the use of a washer and dryer. The bathroom was wonderful complete with bathrobes and a strong shower. The studio was very clean with updated furniture plus free WI-FI with no connection issues. We had the mini bar items removed and made good use of the refrigerator by buying food items at a nearby grocery store which is located an Tal (turn right at the end of the hotel's street) Another close-by store that was convenient was Muller also located on Tal (turn left). It carries familiar household, beauty and food products.
My only cons have already been stated in previous reviews by others: There were no English speaking TV channels except for the news-the DVDs were not offered to us. We were not told about the smaller breakfast which we would of enjoyed. Also I wished a suite for 3 adult family members would be offered. The Maximilian only offers 1 bedroom suites to families with 2 adults and 2 small children. I would of taken a 1 bedroom suite so another family adult member (who was only in town for a few days of our vacation) could of stayed with us but instead they had to stay at another hotel in a single room. The family apartment was not available during our stay.
Overall it was great to unpack and have a home away from home. I would return to the Maximilian Munich.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#15 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#11 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 849 reviews
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#12 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tulip Inn Concorde Munich
Tulip Inn Concorde Munich
#112 of 396 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#7 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Munich

Property: Maximilian Munich
Address: Hochbruckenstrasse 18, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Munich
#19 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#25 Family Hotel in Munich
#30 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#37 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Munich 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City tourists and businessmen, in particular, appreciate the first-class service and comforts at MAXIMILIAN MUNICH and its very central location in the heart of Munich. Directly nearby are the Maximilianstraße, the Bavarian State Opera, the Hofbräuhaus and the Marienplatz. And just a 10-minute walk from the Englischer Garten! Hidden behind our historically listed facade are 54 studios, suites, and luxury suites ranging in size from 32 to 90 m². 41 units are located in the main building and 13 are in the two popular garden houses amid an idyllic rose garden, the heart of this charming and modern apartment hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Maximilian Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maximilian Munich Hotel Munich
Maximilian Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing