We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maximilian Munich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maximilian Munich
Ranked #49 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
allentown, pa
Level Contributor
420 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Quiet and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here five nights, in room #1, a studio on the first floor, facing the garden. We had reserved a city studio, but were "upgraded", however you couldn't actually see the garden unless you stood on tiptoes and looked out the windows. But, it was nice to have the quietness of a room facing the garden, although the street was pretty quiet. The location was excellent, near Marienplatz, and about ten min walk from the subway. The service was excellent...we arrived at 9am, and were able to check in! The room was well appointed, and had plenty of closet space. I would have liked a comfy chair or couch instead of the table, since the room already had a breakfast bar. There was daily light cleaning, with one change of sheets and towels. Fresh flowers, nice robe and slippers and very spacious bathroom. Bed was kind of hard, but that is a personal preference. The breakfast buffet was generous, with some hot food, as well as plenty of fruit and cheese, and cold cuts. However, the price, at 18 euros, was too much. We ate there once or twice, for the convenience, because we hadn't been able to get groceries (note--stores are closed on sundays!).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerfromatown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    70
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
63
81
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel can be classified as charming boutique hotel. Very friendly staff, a small restaurant with a lovely and quiet interior garden (open and closed) and cosy rooms with small sauna and massage (upon apointment) and now new a Metabolism Health Coaching !
Innovative, friendly and clean - makes you feel home ! Do not miss it !

Room Tip: Try the restaurant and the open garden terrasse ! and choose a room with balcony to the inner garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WenskyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
277 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was my first experience at the Maximilian, so I don't know if every room was like mine, but I had a room with a bar, a kitchen in which you could actually cook, and all the glasses, dishes and flatware etc necessary. The bed was super comfortable, and the room was large and very clean. It was in a quiet location but still in the heart of the city, and you could walk to everything. There was free Wi-Fi, a lovely little patio outside the restaurant, and a real plus - a Senseo coffee maker in the room. The minibar was well equipped. All in all, I was very pleased with the Maximilian and look forward to staying there again on my next business or pleasure trip to Munich.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent three nights at the Maximilian Munich Hotel over the Easter weekend and were very happy with just about everything.
Great central location (close to the Hofbräuhaus, Marienplatz and Maximilian Strasse) in a very quiet street. All the sights are within walking distance.
We had booked the Easter package and were given an upgrade to a quiet garden suite that had everything we needed: a wonderfully comfortable bed (apparently with a brand-new mattress), kitchen facilities, coffee maker, mini-bar, two TV sets, a nicely-appointed bathroom with a window and deluxe Molton Brown bath products, the fluffiest and softest bathrobes we ever found in a hotel, free Wlan (Wi-Fi) and and and...
Breakfast was delicious too with lots of things to choose from the buffet and excellent coffee. On Easter Sunday they even did a special brunch with some hot food and additional specialty items from the buffet.
We also had a three-course dinner on Good Friday at their restaurant "Kleines Max", which was included in our package. Very good food in the nice winter garden of their small, intimate restaurant. Good selection of wines and digestifs and very friendly service!
Definitely a hotel we'll go back to on our next visit to Munich!

Room Tip: the garden studios and suites would be quieter than the city rooms, but Hochbrückenstrasse seemed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomCH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in early December 2012 and found the location, service delivery and friendliness of the staff from reception to those cleaning the rooms to be absolutely amazing.

This hotel is comprised of short term apartments or apartment type hotel rentals. This is really handy if traveling with a family as I was. You have a separate kitchen fully stocked with dishes, a stove, decent size mini-fridge, toaster, everything you would expect from a fully furnished apartment and a hotel combined. Everything was very clean and having this setup also allowed you to buy from a nearby grocery store (only about 3 blocks away) as well to save some money and maybe eat healthier.

I found the check-in process to be extremely efficient and friendly. Everyone greeted us and smiled and were really welcoming. The reception person walked us to our room and showed us all of the features. We required a baby cot (crib) to be delivered to the room and despite the room steward not speaking much English was extremely friendly. There was also a hand written thank you note in the room waiting for us from the hotel management thanking us for our stay and a list of different recommended sights within Munich for various Christmas markets. These extra touches go a long way.

The location was unbelievable. Only 4 blocks from Marienplatz, about 1 block from the famous and highly recommended Hofbrauhaus and about 4 blocks from the English gardens. This was truly in the heart of all of the action of Munich.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSL_Dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of Munich. Nearly everything is walkable (outside of the Olympic park). Other positives include, free Wi-Fi, very large rooms (by European standards) and very clean! Our room was spotless everyday upon our return. Another nice perk was the great staff, all were very knowledgeable, and very willing to help a first time visitor enjoy their Munich experience. I highly recommend this hotel to those who are visiting Munich for the first time as this hotel puts you in the heart of the city, and the staff really does a nice job making you feel at home. A++

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SullytheIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I was in Munich July 2012 for a series of operas (Wagner Ring Cycle) at the Bayerische Staatsoper. My room at the Maximilian was like having my own studio apartment in the city for a week. My room had a street entrance separate from the main hotel entrance so i had the wonderful feeling of coming home to my special apartment. The hotel location was perfect--less than a five-minute walk to the opera house. The street is very quiet with no street noise ever reaching the room. The location is also convenient for the main tourist areas and a very nice supermarket.

My room was light and airy. The small refrigerator doubles as a mini bar but the manager suggested they just remove all the mini bar items so I would have full use of the fridge.

The staff is very service oriented. As an example--I had to go to the office early my first morning because no one had shown me how to use the coffee machine. To apologize, the management sent me a nice fruit plate and bottle of wine.

I have been used to a breakfast buffet being included in the room rate in Germany but here they charge separately (E 18). I cannot comment on the value as I chose to get things from the supermarket.

The only reason i give four stars rather than five is that there were a series of small housekeeping problems, but they were nothing to prevent me from coming back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#15 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#11 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tulip Inn Concorde Munich
Tulip Inn Concorde Munich
#112 of 396 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#7 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Munich

Property: Maximilian Munich
Address: Hochbrueckenstr. 18, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Munich
#19 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#25 Family Hotel in Munich
#29 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#37 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Munich 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City tourists and businessmen, in particular, appreciate the first-class service and comforts at MAXIMILIAN MUNICH and its very central location in the heart of Munich. Directly nearby are the Maximilianstraße, the Bavarian State Opera, the Hofbräuhaus and the Marienplatz. And just a 10-minute walk from the Englischer Garten! Hidden behind our historically listed facade are 54 studios, suites, and luxury suites ranging in size from 32 to 90 m². 41 units are located in the main building and 13 are in the two popular garden houses amid an idyllic rose garden, the heart of this charming and modern apartment hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Maximilian Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maximilian Munich Hotel Munich
Maximilian Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing