We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but surly unhelpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Ranked #36 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Our group of 3 friends booked two rooms at this hotel. A 4th friend accidentally booked a room at a different Mercure hotel in Munich. When we tried to explain the situation to the receptionist, she was completely unhelpful. It would have taken her 3 minutes to call the other hotel and explain if they could transfer the reservation but she wouldn't even try. My friend tried in vain to work with the other hotel before giving up. Maybe the other hotel still would have said "no", but she wouldn't even TRY! The hotel itself was pretty basic by Mercure standards. Our room was about the size of my bathroom at home. There was barely enough room around the bed to place our luggage. The hotel claims to offer parking, but there was none available when we arrived so had to pay 20 euros to leave our car in a public lot several blocks away. About the only good thing I can say is the breakfast was plentiful and the nice ladies in the dining room were very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TwoCrabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkKupfer, Manager at Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and your review on TripAdvisor.
As responsible hotel manager I am taking every case very seriously.
First of all please accept my apologies that you were not happy with your check-in.
And of course I reconstructed your case with our staff, our hotel system and the other Mercure Hotel.
And now I am a little bit surprised about your view to this matter.

It is totally correct, that one of you had a reservation with the Mercure Hotel Aufkirchen (nearby Munich airport).
Our reception staff contacted them by telephone to ask, if it is still possible to cancel the reservation there. After a positive feedback we offered a room with our hotel. The reception staff even made a new reservation in our hotel system and called the other hotel a second time. But the guest was unsure which hotel he want to use and decided to think about it. He spent some time on our lobby computer and about one hour later he decided by himself (!) to keep the reservation in the other Mercure hotel, because he needs to stay nearby the airport.
Maybe you should contact your colleague again, to clarify this matter.

We are looking forward to welcome you in our Mercure Hotels again.

With regards
Dirk Kupfer
-Assistant General Manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,253)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for just 2 nights. The hotel is just across the pedestrian shopping street. Great location. Room was a good size, very comfortable beds, Impeccably clean. Breakfast was superb with a variety of choice - can't even list all the items available for breakfast. Everything freshly prepared and nicely presented, including a wide selection of freshly cooked pastries. Jummy!!! My husband appreciated most the freshly squeezed orange juice machine, which is very rare to find, not even in 5 star hotels. I would certainly recommend anyone to stay at this hotel and I would definitely stay here on my next visit to Munich.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ELHNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkKupfer, Manager at Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for your amazing recommendation here on TripAdvisor.
We are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay so much.

Hope to welcome you again.

With regards
Dirk Kupfer
-Assistant General Manager-
HOTEL Mercure München Altstadt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Just returned from staying here for 2 nights. We chose this hotel because it was in the centre of Munich, within walking distance of 2 S Bahn stations for travel to and from the airport, Marienplatz, and the opera house the reason for our visit. The room was a good size with comfortable beds and lots of storage space. The bathroom was also a decent size and clean with the usual toiletries provided. Staff at the front desk were extremely helpful and friendly.We appreciated the fact the hotel was able to provide free of charge an electrical adaptor as we had forgotten to pack ours. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice which was regularly replenished. The freshly squeezed orange juice was an added bonus. We would certainly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay here on a return visit to Munich.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the stay. It is certainly value for money. Comfortable, clean with friendly and very helpful staff. The location is just fantastic right in the heart of Marienplatz and a 5 minutes walk to the shopping area, main quare and Viktualienmarkt. I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhuwanpurohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkKupfer, Manager at Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your very positive feedback and your recommendation.
We are very happy that you enjoyed staying with us.

We are hoping to see you again.

With regards
Dirk Kupfer
-Assistant General Manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights early January. Great location, so close to shops, Marienplatz & trains. Easy 10 minutes walk to main train station or between 2 S bahn stops. Our room on level 6 was a good size, plenty of storage space, good size bathroom. Breakfast was excellent with a good variety of food to choose from - the orange juice machine is great! Staff at reception were helpful. Steakhouse attached not bad for a meal - handy when it was raining, didn't have to walk outside. Price of room was not cheap but compared to other hotels in same location, much better value. Would stay here again as the location and facilities were great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have stayed here a few times. The rooms are clean, staff is helpful and the location is great. Plenty of mass transportation in the area to get around the city. I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Headed to Munich for a relaxing pre-Xmas weekend, and chose this place as it is very central and close to all the sights.

I travelled in from the airport using the S-Bahn, there are several stations around the hotel so very easy to get to. I'd stayed at the hotel once before during the World Cup in 2006, so finding it wasn't a problem. It's less than a few minutes walk from the metro station.

I arrived very late on Friday night (around 11.30pm) so check-in was very fast, and also very cheery which is quite unusual on the night shift!

I had a room on the 3rd floor at the front of the hotel, as the hotel is situated in a quiet side street there is no problem with traffic or extenal noise, even though you're slap bang in the centre of town.

Room itself is an ok size (mine was a single, so maybe a little smaller than a usual double room) with a flat screen tv and free w-fi. The free wi-fi is fine for basic surfing, although there is a speedy version available. Bathroom was also a good size, with a stand up shower and selection of products.

Breakfast buffet is also quite good, a good choice of items means something for everyone. The little German Xmas biscuits on the reception desk were also very nice and I couldn't help but take one every time I walked past!

Recommended, great spot in the city means you can nip back several times a day when you're passing. Friendly staff, nice breakfast and I'm sure I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blackheathbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkKupfer, Manager at Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear guest,

we thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
We are very delighted that your stay has been such a positive experience and that you enjoyed the services provided by our team.

And as small note:
Today we speeded up our WiFi to VDSL50. Now you can surf in the internet very fast - for free.

We are looking forward welcoming you again.

With warm regards
Dirk Kupfer
-Assistant General Manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 385 in Munich
2,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 385 in Munich
921 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#8 of 385 in Munich
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
749 reviews
0.4 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
837 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt

Address: Hotterstr. 4, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Munich
#49 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#55 Family Hotel in Munich
#62 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $161 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The non-smoking HOTEL Mercure Munich Altstadt is a fully air-conditioned facility in the heart of the Bavarian capital, just two minute's walk to the famous Marienplatz. All 80 of our suites and rooms have modern furnishings with free Wi-Fi access to the Internet. Drinks from the mini-bar and SKY-Entertainment are free of charge. Your room is also equipped with a safe for your valuables. For your car there are a number of nearby parking garages available (charges apply). Our lobby offers an internet terminal and a shoeshine machine for a polished appearance. House pets are also welcome for a small fee, and for those hectic business days we also offer a laundry service. Ask about costs. Our fax and copy service is of course free of charge. Our hotel rooms was renovated in 2011. In 2014 we redesigned our lobby and built a brand-new breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
Mercure Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing