We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Ranked #38 of 388 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hotel is in a great location for walking to places of interest. Near to metro stop, Close to hop on hop off bus stop and walking distance to hauptbahnhof. Staff were helpful. Good breakfast especially the freshly squeezed orange juice. Free wifi but no top sheet on bed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TB12-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just visited this central hotel which is just a stone throw from pedestrian area in munchen. First positives:
- great breakfast - even freshly squeezed orange juice in 3 star hotel
- wifi access free of charge as well as non alcoholic mini bar drinks
- excellent location close to city center yet very peaceful
- our rate during octoberfest just a few days before was only 150 euros for double room with breakfast

Only one case takes star away. 50 meters from hotel there is a parking house ( which doesnt belong to hotel tough). It is not open on sundays so driving back home having your car behind the bars isnt the best way to start the day. After discussing this with reception problem seemed to be well known yet they were unable to provide any solution to problem. It isnt hotels facility but... Luckily we were able to lift the metal fence so that we could roll inside and drive the car out.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank jounianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkKupfer, Manager at Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your amazing recommendation.
We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay.

It is true, the public parking house in the opposite of our hotel is closed during night, Sundays and on holidays. But a big sign on their entrance is showing this information.
And on our hotel front desk and in the elevator you will find a separate warning regarding this matter. And if our staff knows that you are with a car, we will let you know and recommend other possibilities nearby.
But we are very happy that you could end your trip to Munich with a James-Bond-like stunt...

Hope to welcome you again.

With regards
Dirk Kupfer
-Assistant General Manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Clean modern hotel in the Altstadt, standard room size good. Breakfast buffet had good variety, I particularly liked the freshly squeezed orange juice machine and the bean to cup coffee machine! No complaints at all and I would happily return. Although Oktoberfest was on I paid 315 euros for 2 nights which is inexpensive compared to some other hotels. Hotel was within walking distance of city centre and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Visited with my son for Oktoberfest, nice hotel, but a tad expensive, the beds were firm and the duvets too small so fell off. Breakfast was OK, rather than good.

For its location it is a good bet, but at the price you can probably do better.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Dikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkKupfer, Manager at Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear guest,

we thank you for taking the time to post your review on our property on TripAdvisor.

We noticed your discomfort regarding our beds. We know, that american guests like it more softly and bigger. There are the very soft overlay on the brandnew matresses for.

Thank you again for your comments.

We look forward to serve you again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Dirk Kupfer
-Assistant General Manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Arrived at this hotel on foot from the train station which was a five minute walk. Stayed two nights at this accommodation, having arrived early one morning, and due to the hour our luggage required to be stored until our room was made ready. The staff were greeting and informative and provided adequate directions during our stay. The lifts to the room were small and could carry about 5 persons. By surprise, for a Mercure Hotel, the room size appeared quite small against other European hotels we had stayed at over the past 6 weeks. Again, as opposed to the other European hotels, they charged here for Wi-Fi connection. The accommodation was not particularly cheap so I expected a little more from this hotel chain.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkKupfer, Manager at Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you for taking the time to post a review here on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the services provided by our team.

Did you know that you can also book a double room for single use instead of a single room? It is just 7,- Euro extra per night. And for just 47,- extra you can also reserve our Junior-Suite for single use with 30m².

We are a little bit surprised, that you paid for WiFi... Everywhere it is written, that we are offering free WiFi, even in your confirmation. And also in all rooms on the desks you will find instructions how to use the free WiFi.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Yours Sincerely,
Dirk Kupfer
-Assistant General Manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in Aug 2013 after flying LAX-MUC. We booked the junior suite so that we'd have a bit more space as we got over the 9 hrs of jet lag. The room was split into a sleeping and a living area. The sleeping area was very compact with the bed taking up nearly all of the space. The living room had plenty of comfortable seating and was good sized. Our room was on the first floor. At first we were concerned about possible noise from the small alley street next to the hotel, however it was okay. The room was very clean and in excellent condition however décor was nothing special just a typical business hotel look. Some local character in the décor would be a nice upgrade. We used the A/C and it worked reasonably well but seemed challenged to get as cold as we really wanted. We greatly appreciated the no smoking policy of the hotel. The free minibar as also a good perk. The location of the hotel is excellent for seeing the sights and eating in the old city center. We ate and drank at the J.W. Augustiner a couple times and it seemed right around the corner. The hotel WIFI worked well consistently. The hotel breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank W7364GGCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Fred14818
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 388 in Munich
2,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#16 of 388 in Munich
971 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 388 in Munich
1,073 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.5 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 388 in Munich
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt

Address: Hotterstr. 4, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Munich
#49 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#55 Family Hotel in Munich
#62 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $144 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The non-smoking HOTEL Mercure Munich Altstadt is a fully air-conditioned facility in the heart of the Bavarian capital, just two minute's walk to the famous Marienplatz. All 80 of our suites and rooms have modern furnishings with free Wi-Fi access to the Internet. Drinks from the mini-bar and SKY-Entertainment are free of charge. Your room is also equipped with a safe for your valuables. For your car there are a number of nearby parking garages available (charges apply). Our lobby offers an internet terminal and a shoeshine machine for a polished appearance. House pets are also welcome for a small fee, and for those hectic business days we also offer a laundry service. Ask about costs. Our fax and copy service is of course free of charge. Our hotel rooms was renovated in 2011. In 2014 we redesigned our lobby and built a brand-new breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
Mercure Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing