We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Ranked #40 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Had a great stay at this centrally located hotel in Munich. The rooms are very clean and modern, and internet and a full European breakfast is included now. You can walk to most of the major city attractions and the U and S Ban (subway and trains) are a short 5 min walk. The staff was very friendly and knowledgable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I prefer room -01 or -02 as they face the walkway to the Marinplatz (-02 is a single room). The oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mswsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    560
    161
    42
    23
See reviews for
195
444
132
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The room was espensive. Although big, it felt a bit like being in a hostel as the single beds in the twin rooms feel very small. The staff were incredibly friendly and the breakfast, basic. One night on a business trip was enough for me, though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cellomedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

There's nothing particularly special about this hotel, but for a one-night business trip to Munich it was spot-on. Good location. Nice, clean room with comfortable beds. Efficient reservation and check-in service. And a decent breakfast at a reasonable price. Overall, it's value for money too - and you can't really say fairer than that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londoner5870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was my second time in this hotel, we came with my daughter to visit my elderly parents who live in Munich. Though a bit pricey, this hotel is worth every euro. Rooms are spacious enough, all amenities in place, even a tea pot with free tea and complimentary drinks in the fridge, a safely deposit box as well.

Reception is very helpful, recommending nice dining options and ordering our taxi to the airport.

Nice touches-a large bowl with apples and oranges at the reception, booklets with full description of shopping streets and shops locations.

Breakfast excellent, as usual, good choice of cold cuts, cheeses, bread, yoghurt, fruit and hot dishes like meatballs, sausages, eggs etc.

Three drawbacks
-the entrance staircase has no rump for heavy luggage, you have to pull it upstairs
-windows too thin and therefore room noisy, you can hear people talking in the street below
-pillows are AWFUL

however, the construction next door is finished, so you do not wake at night to the awful construction noises.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllaMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

On our way back from the October fest fair grounds to Marienplatz we walked right by this hotel. We were planning to return to Munich for the Christmas Market and thought this hotel would be an excellent location because we were not planning on renting a car. Boy were we right. This hotel is located one block from the main pedestrian street Kaufingerstrsse and a few blocks from Marienplatz's town hall and all the Christmas Market activities. We took the S-Bahn 8 from the airport to Marienplatz and walked the few blocks to the hotel. The hotel is about a 30 minute walk to the October fest fair grounds and about a 15 minute walk to the main train station. We walked to the train station and took the train to Nurnberg Christmas market. If you do have a car there is a parking garage across the street from the front of the hotel. Everything is so close to this hotel yet it is in a quiet side street away from the main shopping street and in a safe area. There are some hotels closer to the train station but the area is not very good to be walking around in at night. This is a relatively small hotel with very basic services, a small lobby, and a nice breakfast area. There is a steakhouse restaurant attached to the hotel that was very good. Be sure to make reservations especially on a Sat night as it gets very busy. While this is a basis hotel with a very small elevator and rooms but everything was immaculately clean. The front desk staff was friendly, helpful and very responsive. We had a problem with our safe and they came up immediately to fix it. While the room was small it had everything you need, the beds were comfortable, and they even stocked the fridge with free softdrinks and water. A very nice touch that you don't very often see. The breakfast buffet was great. It included hot dishes like eggs, bacon, sausages, assorted pastries, breads and rolls, cold cuts and cheese, cereal, fruit, coffee, tea, and juices. The best part was the fresh orange juice. The machine dropped whole oranges down to be squeezed and dispensed into your waiting glass. The breakfast room was bright and cheerful and each table and window sill was decorated with greens and christmas colors. There were colored glass balls hanging from ribbons above the buffet table making it very festive. The breakfast was included in our rate which I though was reasonable given the excellent location to the Christmas market. It was wonderful to walk one block and be in the heart of the Christmas Market activities, trying the various foods, spiced wine and the wonderful market stalls. There are several different Christmas Markets so be sure to check them all out. There is the manager market on Neuhauserstrasse, one at the Residence, at Stenenplatzl and a small one at the Sendlinger Tor. There is musical entertainment from the balcony of the town hall nightly. All of the stores have wonderful window displays and lights. Many restaurants are a short walk from the hotel. I would highly recommend staying here when visiting the Christmas markets.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the hotel which is actually the front. These rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Although not my favourite hotel in Munich, I decided to try this as the location of this hotel is excellent - it being in the Altstadt. This gave ample opportunities for pleasant evening walks and plenty of eating out and shopping opportunities.

The room was clean and equipped as I would have expected.

The breakfast was excellent (I particularly liked the provision of a fresh orange juice machine).

Staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 383 in Munich
859 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.4 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 383 in Munich
723 reviews
0.4 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
809 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#11 of 383 in Munich
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt

Property: Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Address: Hotterstr. 4, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#55 Family Hotel in Munich
#62 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The non-smoking HOTEL Mercure Munich Altstadt is a fully air-conditioned facility in the heart of the Bavarian capital, just two minute's walk to the famous Marienplatz. All 80 of our suites and rooms have modern furnishings with free Wi-Fi access to the Internet. Drinks from the mini-bar and SKY-Entertainment are free of charge. Your room is also equipped with a safe for your valuables. For your car there are a number of nearby parking garages available (charges apply). Our lobby offers an internet terminal and a shoeshine machine for a polished appearance. House pets are also welcome for a small fee, and for those hectic business days we also offer a laundry service. Ask about costs. Our fax and copy service is of course free of charge. Our hotel rooms was renovated in 2011. In 2014 we redesigned our lobby and built a brand-new breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
Mercure Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing