We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag, but relatively acceptable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Ranked #38 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 27, 2013

You can't beat the location - although I had a hard time finding the hotel when I arrived on the S Bahn at the Marienplatz. But once I figured it out, I realized how well placed the hotel is. And of course there are restaurants galore, tons of shopping and the beauty of the area to take advantage of. The hotel rooms are a little small, but very efficient. The bathroom was more than adequate and the shower (water pressure) was just about the best I've had in Germany after many years of going there.

The breakfast was the best I had this trip with a really good selection and a very cool machine that makes fresh orange juice. All in all, I would stay here again and would recommend this to people who didn't want to pay a fortune to stay at the big name hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,255)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just a few steps from marienplatz, and metro/train station. In the heart of the town, you could go almost anywhere on foot. Great value for money and quality, clean, comfortable rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff. A classic Mercure hotel with quality!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent ... Excellent Location ... Very close to Marine Platz ... A very short walk to shopping area, restaurants, tourism office& metro stations.
Rooms are spacious enough, very clean and pleasant, free internet, tea, coffee& mineral water ... Lighting of the room is very good as well.
Breakfast is just great ... Served in a very bright and pleasant room ... Layout of tables around the buffet is very convenient ... Orange juice is so fresh& Yummi ... A very good variety of cheese, bread, cereals, eggs, cold cuts& salmon.
I would definitely go again if I am in Munich ... Strongly recommend

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaliaRady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night because I wanted to be close to the Opera House where I was going to attend Lucrezia Borgia with the incomparable Edita Gruberova.

The rooms were simple but adequate.
Two small beds, nice hard mattress, good lighting.
Free bottles of water (2) and apple juice (1) and cola (1).
No alarm clock! I really hated that. When I wake up in the middle of the night I like to see at a glance what time it is.
The internet was fast.

Bathroom was ok (bath and shower, shampoo, lotion, soap - no special brands).

View from my room on the second floor (Rm 109) was not impressive.
There was a lot of noise from the street (people talking loudly) and also from the corridor (other people talking loudly).
Also there is some construction work going on a little further in the street so heavy cars are coming and going noisily from about 7 o’clock in the morning.
Maybe rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter. Maybe rooms on the top floors are quieter too.

I was not impressed by the personnel.
When we checked in (I was with a friend who stayed at a seperate room) the woman was efficient but not friendly. No ‘welcome’, no smiles.
The next morning when we walked through the lobby to go to the breakfast room three people were working at the front desk.
There were no guests standing there and I expected to be greeted with a friendly ‘good morning’.
No. They all just sat there, looking down at whatever they were doing.

Breakfast was very good, lots of variety and good quality.
The people working there did say Guten Morgen and asked what we wanted to drink and said a friendly Auf Wiedersehen as well.
Which was nice but at the same time it’s awful that you’re surprised if anyone *is* friendly in this hotel.

All in all: the location is good.
The price of € 177 for a very small room without a simple thing as an alarm clock and staff that makes you feel extremely *unwelcome* isn’t compensated by a good breakfast with nice people working there.

I didn’t really suffer staying here (let’s not exaggerate) but I don’t think I will stay here again and I would not recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank JDm452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Mercure Altstadt during the December christmas markets. After arriving at the airport, we took the Sbahn to the Marienplatz stop, and walked to the hotel with our wheeled suitcases through the main square. It was an easy walk, and the location just off the main square was convenient to everything, yet far enough away that it was relatively quiet for city center location.

Front desk personnel were friendly and helpful, arranging for us to get into our room early , and spoke English. The rooms were not large, but very clean and updated. Very comfortable bedding and excellent showers. Free internet in the lobby.

The breakfast buffet was especially good- loved the automatic coffee/cappucino/espresso machine, and the fresh squeezed orange juice dispenser was amazing!

We enjoyed this hotel for its convenience while we got to know the city and transportation system. Walked in the evenings to nearby markets, sights, shopping,hofbrauhaus and other restaurants, public transport-it is all easily accessible.

Recommend if you are spending time in the city center, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkKupfer, Manager at Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you so much for taking the time to post your review.
We are very delighted that you enjoyed the services provided by our Team.

Did you know, that we also provide free WiFi in the whole building for all our guests?

We hope to see you again in Munich.
Yours Sincerely,
Dirk Kupfer
-Assistant General Manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We booked this hotel purely for its location, and weren't disappointed. It is literally around the corner from Marienplatz and situated right in the lovely Old Town area. This was particularly convenient for us as our flight from Berlin to Munich only landed after 17:00 and we still had a +- 40 min journey from the airport by train. Marienplatz Station is also in close walking distance, which was an added bonus, and meant that by 19:00 we were settled in our room, and ready to take our first stroll through the square, find a restaurant and enjoy a lovely evening! If we were staying in a more remote location, this would probably not have been possible.

Having read some critical reviews about the hotel's staff, we expected a cold greeting, but, though they were quite business-like, the staff were extremely friendly on arrival, and throughout our stay.

Our room was 207, at the end of the corridor on the 2nd floor. It had no special view or anything like that, but was very spacious, cozy and just lovely (I'm not sure if any rooms in the hotel have views - probably a good idea to ask if that is a particular requirement). I have a feeling its location at the end of the floor had something to do with it being bigger than expected. It was fantastic having space for 2 large suitcases and other luggage, and not trip over anything for a change! Though not utra-modern, the room had everything we needed and was immaculately clean, as was the bathroom.

Breakfast was good, and freshly squeezed orange juice was a special treat not found in many hotels of this rating.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as an excellent and "safe" option if you're looking for a well-located base at a good price in Munich.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a room at the end of a corridor and whether this room might be slightly bigger than...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbruwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkKupfer, Manager at Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your detailed review on TripAdvisor further to your stay at our property. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Directly in the heart of Munich it is a little bit difficult to get a view over the city.
But with our Superior-Suite (60m²) in the seventh floor you will have a great view to the two towers of the famous church 'Frauenkirche' nearby.

Did you know, that the nonalcoholic Welcome-Drinks in the minibar are free?
Also the SKY-Entertainment with sports and movie channels is free of charge.

We really appreciate your comments and look forward to your visit again.

Sincerely Yours,
Dirk Kupfer
-Assistant General Manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The location of this hotel could simply not have been better! It is easy to walk to every major site in the beautiful Altstadt of Munich. Breakfast was probably the best we have ever had in Germany and the freshly squeezed orange juice was a real treat! The room and bathroom are both spacious, very clean and modern. The staff is friendly, efficient and helpful. I can't think of one negative thing to say about this hotel - it really was exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilzedewet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 385 in Munich
2,018 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#20 of 385 in Munich
924 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#8 of 385 in Munich
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
749 reviews
0.4 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
838 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt

Address: Hotterstr. 4, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Munich
#49 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#55 Family Hotel in Munich
#62 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $159 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The non-smoking HOTEL Mercure Munich Altstadt is a fully air-conditioned facility in the heart of the Bavarian capital, just two minute's walk to the famous Marienplatz. All 80 of our suites and rooms have modern furnishings with free Wi-Fi access to the Internet. Drinks from the mini-bar and SKY-Entertainment are free of charge. Your room is also equipped with a safe for your valuables. For your car there are a number of nearby parking garages available (charges apply). Our lobby offers an internet terminal and a shoeshine machine for a polished appearance. House pets are also welcome for a small fee, and for those hectic business days we also offer a laundry service. Ask about costs. Our fax and copy service is of course free of charge. Our hotel rooms was renovated in 2011. In 2014 we redesigned our lobby and built a brand-new breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
Mercure Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing