We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good choice for excellent price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
Ranked #45 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really good choice for excellent price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

It was absolutely a perfect choice. Sits on a quiet street a block from the marienplatz. Clean, great breakfast and exceptional location. what's not to like. They were doing construction across the street, and it looks like it will be going on for a while, so if you're sensitive to the noise you might want to call and check the status. We wore earplugs and it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthShoreZfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    535
    160
    39
    23
See reviews for
184
417
127
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Recently stayed with a group at the Mecure Muenchen Altstadt and was pleased with the hotel. Very clean rooms, the rooms are a bit small. Clean bathrooms with nice modern fixtures and showers. Excellent breakfast, variety of items: eggs, sausage, cheeses, breads (croissants, toast, rolls), cereals, yogurt, wonderful jams/jellies. Fresh squeezed orange juice machine, cappuchino machine. The only negative thing is the front desk staff, they were not friendly and seemed put off if you had a question. They should put the ladies from the breakfast area at the front desk...the breakfast area staff was very friendly and happy to help out if you needed anything. The hotel location is perfect, easy walk to the Marienplatz.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parispls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Small but cozy hotel is one of the very few located steps from the main market and Marienplatz. Modern, clean with great breakfast offering freshly squeezed orange juice (well, that is important for me). Being a frequent traveller to Munich I have stayed in many hotels indeed and I this is the one I like the most. It was not my first time here and certainly not the last one. Excellent value for money concerning the location and service!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirl189400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano Marittima, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

we arrived the hotel in the night after hard trip from milano by car and when we make the check in the staff who is in the night shift made mistake by giving us twin room and when i informed him about his mistake he don't care by saying just move the bed and it will be double ???????? also he don't care about us when we pull our luggage and he don't offer trolley, actually this man should not work in front office because he don't know how to smile,finally the hotel location is good but we don't feel comfortable after the first impression from the staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank abadi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MucAltstadt, General Manager at Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear guest,
first of all please accept our apologies that you were not happy with your stay with us. Regarding your complaints:
We are very sorry that you did not get the Double Bed Room as expected. Our Twin rooms are a bit bigger and offer two seperate beds. These can be pulled together so the room is exactly like a double bed room (they also have two beds pulled together). Of course we offer the service to arrange the beds for our guests but during the night we do not have a lot of staff working and the receptionist couldn't leave his working place.
Regarding the trolley there must have been a misunderstanding. Our receptionist went to the basement to get a trolley for you but you didn't use it then.
Porterage service is not a standard for 3* Hotels - whenever we have time our employees help our guests with the luggage. But during the nights - again - we have the problem that only one person is on duty.
We understand that you were upset about not getting the double bed room you wanted but we think it is not fair to therefore rate the whole hotel with only one point.
Next time you stay with us we are happy to invite you for a drink at our hotelbar.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#19 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.4 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.5 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt

Property: Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
Address: Hotterstr. 4, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#55 Family Hotel in Munich
#62 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The non-smoking HOTEL Mercure Munich Altstadt is a fully air-conditioned facility in the heart of the Bavarian capital, just two minute's walk to the famous Marienplatz. All 80 of our suites and rooms have modern furnishings with free Wi-Fi access to the Internet. Drinks from the mini-bar and SKY-Entertainment are free of charge. Your room is also equipped with a safe for your valuables. For your car there are a number of nearby parking garages available (charges apply). Our lobby offers an internet terminal and a shoeshine machine for a polished appearance. House pets are also welcome for a small fee, and for those hectic business days we also offer a laundry service. Ask about costs. Our fax and copy service is of course free of charge. Our hotel rooms was renovated in 2011. In 2014 we redesigned our lobby and built a brand-new breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
Mercure Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing