We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A priority”
Review of Glyptothek

Glyptothek
Ranked #38 of 314 things to do in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Excellent collection of antique sculptures.
StevenRhodes
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A priority”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Sublime. Outstanding works presented with clarity. Have you ever wanted to know what was so special about the classical world? This museum is your best chance to learn. No gimmicks, no laser display boards, no shtick. These people know what they're doing and that is elevating your mind. Also, buy the official book if you get the chance. Read that after you have wandered round this wonderful space and your knowledge and appreciation of classical art will blossom.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank StevenRhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    86
    27
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Beautiful small museum”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My art history teacher once told me that if I'm ever in Munich I should go see the Glyptothek exhibition, and so I did on my first Munich visit.
I'm not much of a museum freak but this place is beautiful & worth seeing. The greek and roman sculptures are arranged beautifully in the light flooded halls in a spacious way.
The museum is not huge, an hour will be sufficient for most visitors, maybe more for experts or those who read all of the descriptions about the artwork.
There's a nice little cafe half way through the museum.
On sunday's the entrance is only 1 euro.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank twyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
165 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“As much a memorial to WWII as a museum of antiquities”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The glytothek was a beautiful building filled with precious and pristine Greek artifacts. During WWII it was all but destroyed and much of the collection was badly damaged. Photographs and paintings in each room serve as reminders that art too can be a casualty of war. What is remaining is stunning, especially the room of Gods and Faun room.

Perfect for a rainy day, near the city center, and the cafe is very popular. Only 1€ on Sundays!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DC20something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Classical Greece and Rome”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Philosophies of restoration are exemplified and explored in this wonderful project. Best place in Munich for art, archeology, history and philosophy fans.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank MirugaiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
342 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Very good if you're into this stuff”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

For my wife, the classical scholar, this was one of the Munich highlights. For me, the engineer, it was a bunch of old rocks. By far the coolest parts are the temple reliefs. Only go if you appreciate classical sculpture.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank scphil21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glyptothek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing