We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel in Munich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Creatif Hotel Elephant
Ranked #203 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed October 20, 2013

If you are looking for a place to spend some nights in Munich at a low cost, this is the option. The location is unbeatable, only 2-3 minute walk form the main station. The surrounding are not the best but you can find all you need within walking distances. Book ahead for Oktoberfest.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 551 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had booked a one night deal here as we were traveling elsewhere in Germany. First of all it's ideally situated, being only 2 minutes' walk from the main station. It looks quite quirky from the outside. We were given a warm welcome and our room was fine. The decor was very modern and bright. Breakfast was the usual varied selection of mainly cold snack, but there was scrambled eggs and a bottle of prosecco as well. If we were staying in Munich again, we'd certainly use this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrie96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2712
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is only a few steps away from the main train station. You can get anywhere from there. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is not the cleanest ( I was disappointed for what we paid ) but we did go during Oktoberfest and so I am sure the prices were higher than usual.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Rude staff, put out by questions to basics like "how much is breakfast, Where is someplace to grab a bite to eat, how do we connect to WiFi.

Uncomfortable rooms due to no A/C, no care or thought put into making it feel warm and a sketchy location at night

Got off to a bad start in Munich due to the staff at this property. I am not Diva and have traveled to Europe often so my expectations are reasonable. This was a very disappointing experience. I would have moved if our stay was longer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly-Maddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I booked this hotel back in November 2012 in order to get a reason price for staying in Munich over the Oktoberfest period the following year. To my utter shock, I received an email from booking.com (the agent) on the 20th of September (the day before Oktoberfest starts!) to tell me that room has been cancelled! Upon calling the agent, I discover that the hotel had checked my card to ensure there were funds on it before arriving. Because it was so long ago, I had since changed bank accounts and there was only a small amount remaining on that card. I understand that this was, to a certain extent, my mistake. However, the agent informed me that in 99% of cases that this happens, the hotel are required call you to address the problem, and call again if they haven't sorted it to tell you there about to cancel the card. Obviously neither of these things happened and it also obvious why, the agent informed me that the same room was now 3 times the price since it was so close to Oktoberfest! I wish I could have got there and I could have posted a positive review, but BEWARE, these guys could seriously let you down and were completed unhelpful and uncompromising! Cancelling a booking and now telling the customer is a serious problem, particularly during a time of inflated hotel prices!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for a quick overnight stay in between train rides. You can't beat the convenience since it is directly across the street from the station. We were also able to walk to the Marienplatz area with ease. Our room was on a higher floor, so we did not notice much street noise, despite its location. We did, however, notice the lack of air-conditioning as we stayed on quite a hot night, and there was little airflow. The room was very sparse and basic and was small for our party of 3, with little wiggle room. All in all, it served its purpose for a very basic hotel to sleep at when we had an early train ride in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibertyLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a budget hotel near the train station. The room was small, and there isn't any aircon. But, I've no complaints for the price. It was modern and clean, the staff were friendly, and it's a good location. If I'm honest, it's more like a 3 out of 5 than a 4, but I think that gives an unfairly negative impression. For the price, I'll give it an extra point.

You should be out in Munich's biregartens and gasthauses anyway, not sitting in your hotel room. As a clean, comfortable bed for the night this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesubtleknife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Novum Hotel Muenchen Am Hauptbahnhof
0.7 mi away
Hotel Westend
Hotel Westend
#285 of 387 in Munich
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amba
Hotel Amba
#344 of 387 in Munich
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City
Ibis Muenchen City
#90 of 387 in Munich
1,924 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#266 of 387 in Munich
736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eder
Hotel Eder
#63 of 387 in Munich
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creatif Hotel Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creatif Hotel Elephant

Address: Laemmerstr. 6, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $52 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Creatif Hotel Elephant 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Splitty, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Creatif Hotel Elephant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creatif Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing