We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned from Pension Westfalia”
Review of Pension Westfalia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Westfalia
Ranked #273 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed April 26, 2005

Just returned from spending one night at Pension Westfalia in Munich. It's a delightful place - very simple, but very charming. The breakfast was excellent and the room it was served in was beautiful. Our room was very comfortable, and right across from the bathrooms. The desk people were extremely helpful, especially with our not knowing German. The first 2 floors seem to be permanent residents, the desk was on the 3rd floor, accessible by a small lift. The location was excellent - just one block from Goetheplatz and the U & S-bahns. When looking on-line, I was getting info that there were no rooms available, but I e-mailed the hotel and they answered back within the hours that they had a room available. So I would recommend this hotel.....it was $58 for a double without bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Scratcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 81 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2004

I have stayed at Pension Westfalia several times over the past few years. I give it a five-star rating not for its luxiuriousness, but for its great value for the money, location, and homey atmosphere. It is located along the Theresienwiese, the fairgrounds where Oktoberfest is held each year. At all other times of the year, it's quiet and lovely, occupying a few floors of an old and venerable corner townhouse building. In my view, Westfalia represents what is best about German hospitality. For a very reasonable price, you get a comfortable room (not fancy) with everything you need, and an absolutely delightful breakfast in a charming family-style dining room. Rooms are available with or without private baths. I've tried both, and the shared bath is very nice and costs a bit less money than having your own. The place is family-owned with friendly service. You can't go wrongh here.

Getting to the Pension Westfalia is easy, too - it's an easy stroll from the Goetheplatz U-bahn station. In addition, it's very convenient to all the sights of the old town center (Marienplatz, etc.). I couldn't recommend a place more highly!

15  Thank Jik76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2004

I've stayed at the Pension Wasfalia once a year for many years. It's plesant rooms are not fancy, but are exceptional at that price level.
The most important thing is the friendly, home like atmosphere, convienent location and plesant breakfasts. I've also enjoyed many of the guests I've met there. It may be a budget stay, but I've met a number of wealthy Europeans staying there over the years.

12  Thank SmowmassGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2004

Right across the street from Octoberfest, which might have been noisy but we were there on the last day only so no worries. The staff is friendly, the non-smoking room was clean and spacious. The breakfast is VERY good. I would definitely stay here again. About 2 blocks from the train station.

12  Thank SueFritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
Thank gmp868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled solo
Thank Ellen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank francesca v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
19 mi away
Hilton Munich Airport
Hilton Munich Airport
#27 of 390 in Munich
2,588 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 390 in Munich
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
1.3 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 390 in Munich
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Westfalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Westfalia

Address: Mozartstr. 23, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $55 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Pension Westfalia Hotel Munich
Westfalia Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing