We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended!”
Review of Pension Westfalia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Westfalia
Ranked #270 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I had a good stay at this hotel, and it was good value for the money. I unknowingly planned my trip during a major conference, so most hotels in Munich were booked or charging ridiculously high prices. Even with slightly higher-than-normal prices, my room at the Pension Westfalia was inexpensive. The shared bathroom was not a problem. There are two toilets, and there was never anyone using the bath when I wanted to. You get keys to the building and to the room, allowing you to come and go when you want. The breakfast was very convenient and filling. A few minor quibbles that I didn't really mind, but that others might: the bed was a little hard (and the single room has two single beds for some reason), the wifi occasionally didn't work, and the shared bathroom only has a tub with a handheld showerhead. Overall, I would definitely still recommend Pension Westfalia as an excellent budget option.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chr15t0ph3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Pension Westfalia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 81 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

Pension Westfalia is fantastic and the rates really did save me plenty of money. Its location in Goetheplatz is ideal, not too far away from the city and not too close either, which makes it less "touristy" than the perpetually crowded Marienplatz area. Other than the location, there are also a few more things that made this place such a great stay - Peter's warmth and friendliness, the two bakeries/cafes nearby which served scrumptious cakes and croissants ( I was in these two cafes almost every day for breakfast and tea) and the fact that the building looks old but filled with character. Just a note for people who plan to stay here - bring a torchlight. When you return to the pension at night, the lift area on the first floor will be completely dark. And scary. But even this scary bit made my stay memorable. I heartily recommend this place, especially for solo travelers!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank weeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

The Hotel is Great. It is within an old building not too far from the center of Munich. The location is great since it is not too far from the U-Bahn station that will take you downtown. The Hotel is located right at the fairgrounds where the Octoberfest is held, so if you are attending the Octoberfest make sure to reserve a room at this hotel early! The rooms are small but very clean. Peter, the owner, and his family are very nice and prepare a very good breakfast in the morning. I would go back to this Pension in a heartbeat if I was to return to Munich.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BenniHupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Both Peter and Emilia were extremely helpful and kind during our stay. They arranged for a key to be left for us because we arrived after the desk closed and on our last day they let us store our bags and sit in the lobby area until our night train departed.

Our room (two single beds with a sink and couch) was extremely clean and the furniture was comfortable. It was cleaned every day - I believe our sheets and towels were changed twice during our three night stay.

While a bit far away from the center of town (we walked once and it took a little under a half an hour from Marienplatz), the area was beautiful and very quiet. The Pension is conveniently located just a few minutes from a metro station.

The complimentary breakfast was great and there were many options of breads, cereals, juices, etc. In the hallway there was a computer with free internet that could be used at any time.

The only negative is that there was only one shower for all of the rooms with shared bathrooms (not sure how many), so we had to wait a few times in the morning. Otherwise, this is a great place to stay for travelers on a budget. We very much enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dec88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Pension Westfalia is a small b&b place, which is quite nice and has its pros and cons:
Pros:
1) The owner Peter is very nice, always friendly and always ready to help with all possible and impossible questions
2)The breakfast was very good, very filling: variety of breads, rolls, cereals, cheeses and cold cuts; yougurt, jams, flax seeds and pumpkin seeds; tea or coffe
3) The room was quite specious by European standards, the beds were comfortable.
4) The room got cleaned every day, towels were changed every other day.
5) The price 72 Euro/night for a double room including breakfast is a rear find.
6) Free internet access in the room
Cons:
1) It's not in the center of Munich, you have to take a metro (2 stations) to get there. It is possible to walk to the center, but it took us about 30 minutes of walking through busy city streets (very uninmpressive walk)
2) The room had no fridge to store our wine/fruit/water, etc. It had no ventilation or air-conditioning either (could be a problem on a hot day/night)
3) Toilet had no ventilation or window
4) The room and the toilet had an unpleasant musty order although both were very clean (probably due to poor air ventilation, although we kept our window open at all times)
5) Right beside us there was construction going (it will continue till September 2011), so we were up at 7 a.m. every morning except weekend, could be a problem for some late sleep lovers.
All in all it was OK, worth the money we paid for sure. Would recommend it to anyone who travels on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Corinne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

This pension was perfect for our family of four. It is on a quiet corner but very near the U bahn. Emilia was incredibly kind and helpful during our stay. We would most definitely stay here again and will recommend it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank needavayK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stayed at Pension Westfalia Sept 16th, 17th, 18th 19th and 20th, 2010 on our first ever trip to Bavaria and Oktoberfest! We can’t say enough about the hotels location. If you want to be right across the street from the Wiesn, this is it. The room was clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly, which really helped a couple of Americans new to Bavaria. The breakfast was very good. The Pension was close to many things like a laundry mat and the U-bahn and S-bahn. We loved the town of Munich. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cardinal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Pension Schmellergarten
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mons am Gotheplatz
Hotel Mons am Gotheplatz
#361 of 385 in Munich
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Herzog
Hotel Herzog
#146 of 385 in Munich
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bold Hotel Munich Center
Bold Hotel Munich Center
#90 of 385 in Munich
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brack
Hotel Brack
#54 of 385 in Munich
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Pension Mariandl
Hotel-Pension Mariandl
#307 of 385 in Munich
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Westfalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Westfalia

Address: Mozartstr. 23, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $54 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Pension Westfalia Hotel Munich
Westfalia Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing