We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel, Great price!”
Review of Pension Westfalia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Westfalia
Ranked #275 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed August 2, 2011

The Hotel is Great. It is within an old building not too far from the center of Munich. The location is great since it is not too far from the U-Bahn station that will take you downtown. The Hotel is located right at the fairgrounds where the Octoberfest is held, so if you are attending the Octoberfest make sure to reserve a room at this hotel early! The rooms are small but very clean. Peter, the owner, and his family are very nice and prepare a very good breakfast in the morning. I would go back to this Pension in a heartbeat if I was to return to Munich.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BenniHupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 81 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2011

Both Peter and Emilia were extremely helpful and kind during our stay. They arranged for a key to be left for us because we arrived after the desk closed and on our last day they let us store our bags and sit in the lobby area until our night train departed.

Our room (two single beds with a sink and couch) was extremely clean and the furniture was comfortable. It was cleaned every day - I believe our sheets and towels were changed twice during our three night stay.

While a bit far away from the center of town (we walked once and it took a little under a half an hour from Marienplatz), the area was beautiful and very quiet. The Pension is conveniently located just a few minutes from a metro station.

The complimentary breakfast was great and there were many options of breads, cereals, juices, etc. In the hallway there was a computer with free internet that could be used at any time.

The only negative is that there was only one shower for all of the rooms with shared bathrooms (not sure how many), so we had to wait a few times in the morning. Otherwise, this is a great place to stay for travelers on a budget. We very much enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dec88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Pension Westfalia is a small b&b place, which is quite nice and has its pros and cons:
Pros:
1) The owner Peter is very nice, always friendly and always ready to help with all possible and impossible questions
2)The breakfast was very good, very filling: variety of breads, rolls, cereals, cheeses and cold cuts; yougurt, jams, flax seeds and pumpkin seeds; tea or coffe
3) The room was quite specious by European standards, the beds were comfortable.
4) The room got cleaned every day, towels were changed every other day.
5) The price 72 Euro/night for a double room including breakfast is a rear find.
6) Free internet access in the room
Cons:
1) It's not in the center of Munich, you have to take a metro (2 stations) to get there. It is possible to walk to the center, but it took us about 30 minutes of walking through busy city streets (very uninmpressive walk)
2) The room had no fridge to store our wine/fruit/water, etc. It had no ventilation or air-conditioning either (could be a problem on a hot day/night)
3) Toilet had no ventilation or window
4) The room and the toilet had an unpleasant musty order although both were very clean (probably due to poor air ventilation, although we kept our window open at all times)
5) Right beside us there was construction going (it will continue till September 2011), so we were up at 7 a.m. every morning except weekend, could be a problem for some late sleep lovers.
All in all it was OK, worth the money we paid for sure. Would recommend it to anyone who travels on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Corinne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

This pension was perfect for our family of four. It is on a quiet corner but very near the U bahn. Emilia was incredibly kind and helpful during our stay. We would most definitely stay here again and will recommend it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank needavayK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stayed at Pension Westfalia Sept 16th, 17th, 18th 19th and 20th, 2010 on our first ever trip to Bavaria and Oktoberfest! We can’t say enough about the hotels location. If you want to be right across the street from the Wiesn, this is it. The room was clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly, which really helped a couple of Americans new to Bavaria. The breakfast was very good. The Pension was close to many things like a laundry mat and the U-bahn and S-bahn. We loved the town of Munich. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cardinal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Room was small,but contained everything required for a stay in Munich - bed, wardrobe, bedside table, chair and small TV with cable. The room (number 12) was double glazed and incredibly quiet - no street noise. There are no coffee making facilities and you might want to take your own soap.

Conteninental style buffet breakfast - muesli and other cereals + ham,cheese, bread yoghurt etc.

Staff were charming and very helpful - all spoke English.

Apart from being close to the U-Bahn and Haupbahnhof the Pension is a pleasant 15 - 20 minute walk to the town centre. There are plenty of shops / bars / restaurants within easy walking distance.

PC available in reception and I think it is wi-fi enabled (better check if this is important to you).

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Munich, but don't require luxuries I can thoroughly recommend Pension Westphalia.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GentlemanJimC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

I recently stayed here based on TripAdvisor.com reviews, and I got what I expected. The room was very small, with a 15" color TV, comfortable bed and small bathroom. The furnishings were in excellent condition, but they looked like they they could have been in a dorm setting. The shower stall was tiny, just barely enough room to manuever. But the water pressure was excellent and the water temperature stayed hot. As other reviewers have noted there was no soap provided. The breakfast was very good, buffet-style that included standards like cold cuts, cold cereal and rolls, plus juice and milk. The owner Peter is a very nice gentleman who serves you coffee or tea. He provides a set of keys that allows you entry into the building and hotel any time. The hotel itself is on the top floor of an older, well-kept apartment building. The location is great, about a half-mile south of the main train station (Hauptbahnhof) and an easy three-minute walk from the nearest metro (U-Bahn) station (called "Goetheplatz"). The neighborhood is quiet and upper-middle-class. I felt like I was staying in an inner suburb rather than a large city. If you're on a tight budget but want to stay in a quiet, safe area then this the place. But only if you're willing to accept the limitations I mentioned earlier.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wonderwall88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Holiday Inn Munich-South
#198 of 387 in Munich
723 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
19.0 mi away
Hilton Munich Airport
Hilton Munich Airport
#23 of 387 in Munich
2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
10.8 mi away
Hotel Dependance Erb
Hotel Dependance Erb
#337 of 387 in Munich
17 reviews
7.4 mi away
Novum Hotel Seidlhof Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Westfalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Westfalia

Address: Mozartstr. 23, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $53 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Pension Westfalia Hotel Munich
Westfalia Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing