We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Munich”
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Ranked #21 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
707 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Munich”
Reviewed December 1, 2010

This was our third stay at Hotel Uhland. We spent two nights this time in room 21. Nice room, very comfortable bed, mini-fridge in room, and small bathroom. The room was super clean and comfortable. The small bathroom was not a problem. While the hotel is outside the city center, the location is still good as it's about 200 meters from the Oktoberfest grounds and maybe 300 meters from a U-bahn stop. It's probably a 20 minute walk to the fussganger zone (walk platz). Not a problem for us since he had bicycles. Great breakfast and free parking included. We will return here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmeisteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    260
    44
    11
    7
See reviews for
234
353
47
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Spent 4 nights at this delightful venue. The room was huge, clean and comfortable. The staff, Brigitta, Andrea and all the others were so helpful and charming. No matter the time of day or night, there was always a cheerful greeting and plenty of help for the guest. We are two "senior ladies" who were made to feel like family!
Thanks for a wonderful experience!

Nancy from Boston, MA

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

My husband and I just returned from Munich and Hotel Uhland, where we stayed the first two and the last two nights of a 2-week holiday in Central Europe. This beautiful older hotel is meticulously well maintained. It is close to the Hauptbahnhof Station ,( a 10-12 minute easy walk, even pulling luggage) and the Theresienwiese underground station is basically around the corner.
We arrived after Oktoberfest was finished and we appreciated the very quiet neighbourhood, and its friendly, helpful staff. Brigitte ,Maria, James and the lady in the breakfast room all contributed to make our stay most pleasant. The access to the internet on the main level was convenient as was the use of the ironing board and iron.
Room #22 was spacious and had a separate foyer with a large closet and area for luggage, as well as a good sized bathroom with shower and hair dryer.
The breakfast choices were varied and delicious, with juices, coffee,teas, cereals, toppings, yogurts,eggs( soft or hard boiled),meats, cheeses, buns, breads, preserves and spreads .
We would highly recommend Hotel Uhland and would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heeljoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We just returned from a two-week tour of Germany, Austria and Switzerland, and this was my favorite of all the hotels we visited. The room was lovely and the people who run the place were so kind and helpful and welcoming. The price was very reasonable and included a lovely breakfast. High-speed internet access was free and worked great all the time. My only minor gripe was 1) you have to climb about 8 steps to the front entrance, no fun with heavy bags, and 2) we had a little difficulty locating the hotel. For some reason our GPS turned us off the main road one street early. Not the hotel's fault, but my advice is, bring a very detailed map, particularly if you're arriving in the evening. Otherwise, perfect!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CocktailMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in October, 2010. It was a mere 3 days after Oktoberfest ended, and the hotel is perhaps 100 meters away from the Theresienwiese Oktoberfest grounds. However, the neighborhood was incredibly quiet. It's an easy 10-15 minute walk to the Marienplatz.

The hotel building is a bit old, but very charming and actually quite beautiful on the outside. Our room was fairly large, with a nice balcony, and was immaculately clean. There is free Wifi, and the breakfast was excellent. Even the prices for the minibar were reasonable. The bed seemed to be an actual large bed instead of two twin beds shoved together, and the the standard german feather bedding as well. It was very comfortable. The bathroom was not huge but plenty big enough, very clean, and everything worked well. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Really, it would be tough to beat this place for the price and we will certainly stay here agin when we return to Munich

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJeffW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

This was our first hotel in Germany. The staff is extremely helpful (fluent in English). We had a room for four which was very spacious. Breakfast was great, though the "service" a little slow with turnover. The location is good, though it is a walk into the city center. It wasn't a problem for us. Right next to Oktoberfest though it wasn't going on yet. Close to train station, but not a lot of restaurants nearby. Quiet. We stayed again at the end of our trip and our room, though non-smoking, smelled of stale smoke. We didn't ask to switch because it didn't seem to bother the other members of my family.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trumps4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

This is the second time my wife and I has stayed at this hotel. We stayed here during the 2008 Oktoberfest with other members of our families. We stayed in room 34 on the top floor, I think this was a newly renovated room and it was huge and modern. It had a separate area for your bags, a sitting area and a huge bathroom. The room was clean a comfortable and as I said huge. There was free parking and Wifi internet and the breakfast was decent. This hotel is perfect for the Oktoberfest and not too far from the Hauptbahnhof. The staff were friendly and we had a good time here. Just one negative is for the Oktoberfest bookings, you can not reserve a room by credit card, you have to do a money transfer by bank or UPS. This is a hassle and there are fees taken out from both ends. Can you please just take the money from my credit card, I am will to pay for the transaction fee. We might be coming next year again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
1,537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
829 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 383 in Munich
2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
1,499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 383 in Munich
915 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#7 of 383 in Munich
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Property: Hotel Uhland
Address: Uhlandstr. 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#11 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#12 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Flat screen TV in every room Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing