We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel with good service”
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Ranked #19 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Basic hotel with good service”
Reviewed January 20, 2006

This hotel is in a residential area a couple of blocks away from the Oktoberfest grounds. The manager is a very accommodating, nice woman. I really liked the desk staff - they were helpful and friendly. One of the night staff, while very nice, smokes a lot, and when he's on duty, the hotel, including the non-smoking floor, reeks of smoke. It was overwhelming at times (it was freezing December but at times, I had to open the windows at night just to air the room out)

The rooms are basic and pretty dated -- very '70s, worn carpets, well worn furniture. The non-smoking floor rooms facing the street have small balconies (you're not looking at much though) but get good light. First floor rooms are large as well, with same dated furnishings.

Breakfast is the typical bread, cheese, yoghurt, juice. It's fine.

The first floor has a wireless network (very convenient if you're staying on the first floor) and a small sitting room with a desktop computer with fee based internet access and library. Unfortunately, it's also a popular place for guests and desk staff to smoke -- a lot. Which makes it not very fun for everyone else who doesn't smoke...

Location: Good for Oktoberfest if that's your thing (I came for the Christmas markets) and the train station, a bit of a hike through a crappy neighborhood (I wouldn't recommend staying closer to the train station unless you like strip clubs) to get to the Ratshaus/Center of Munich.

On a side note, don't count on using their free bikes -- was probably once useful, but now they're rusty and as old as the room furniture.

Overall, inexpensive, very good, friendly service. Might stay there again but would probably look for something a bit nicer and a tad closer to the center.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank MusicFoodTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    260
    44
    11
    7
See reviews for
234
352
47
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2006

A traditional, not luxurious, German hotel in a primarily residential area. Three of us reserved two rooms (a double and a single) for two nights .

The positives: Staff were friendly and helped with good suggestions for transportation and places to eat. Rooms were comfortably sized and quiet, equipped with closet, desk, TV -- the basics. (the single was smaller, of course, but still with a double bed). There was free wifi in the lounge downstairs and also a PC available for a small charge if you don't have your own laptop. Breakfast was fine with enough variety but nothing hot except the coffee/tea or the boiled eggs (both hard and soft). The breakfast room was clean, and though busy, we didn't have to wait. The cost was very reasonable (rooms under 100 euros per night) and reservations by email were quick and easy.

I can't rate the Uhland more than average though, because: it is not centrally located (except for Oktoberfest); The extra linens in the single room were questionably clean (a pillow and duvet without covers in the closet - had some stains); Furniture and carpeting are basic (industrial carpet tiles, very plain furniture) and no real amenities in the bathrooms, which were standard sized, tiled, and clean (I think there was a wall mounted container of liquid soap); The typically small elavator is tempermental so we took the stairs a lot (probably not a bad thing!); The heat is also tempermental - the radiators take quite awhile to warm up. Our floor was very creaky - I felt sorry if anyone was in the room below us whenever we walked around.

With all that said, it's a great value at the price. If you don't mind walking (or figuring out the public transportation - the staff will happily help with this), and are looking for basic lodgings, very nice people, and a decent breakfast, the Uhland will work for you. It is functional and equivalent to a decent Holiday Inn. If you prefer a Marriott, Westin, or Hilton, you will probably not be happy here.

Oh, and watch out if you take a taxi from the Hauptbahnof - we were overcharged by a driver who drove WAY out of the way (all the way around the Oktoberfest grounds, pretending to be lost, taking a maze of one way streets) even though we had a map and were able to show him exactly where we wanted to go. It really is about 5 blocks away from the station, relatively direct/easy to find and walkable if you don't have too much luggage.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank flyiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2005

We booked into this hotel because of positive review comments on the tripadvisor site and we were not disappointed. It's a little tricky to find, because it's located away from the city centre in a quiet side street - but for us, that was fine. The staff were nice and friendly and the room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast (included in the room charge) was generous. On the down side, the decor is functional and a little worn, bathroom shampoo (etc) was missing and it's a shame there's no restaurant on the site. However, I'm happy to give the Uhland a four star rating and would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank jim.crisp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2005

I stayed at this hotel for a week and loved the bed and breakfast atmosphere. The room was spacious and very clean. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was perfect to get me going every morning. I found the hotel to be very convenient to the U Bahn and the main train station. It was also nice that the Tollwood festival was going on right next to the hotel. I would definitely stay here again if I went back to Munich.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank annettebms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 28, 2005

I stayed here 3 nights with my family. 3 kids and my wife. I got 2 rooms and they were clean and large. The location is on a residential street not really close to tourist sites, but it was fun and I would stay there again.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2005

We stayed at the Hotel Uhland for three nights in late October/early November. It was a bit of a walk to the Marienplatz (we took cabs in the evening) but the hotel was lovely, the breakfast was wonderful, the room was large, parking was free. The night manager is a lovely and helpful man. We would stay here again. We stayed at several hotels during our swing through Germany and this was a special find and good value.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pen2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streamwood, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2005

My wife and I stayed here for three nights as a part of our honeymoon trip. We liked it very much. It's a good location with respect to the Hauptbahnhof and it's a nice walk to Marienplatz.

Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. We were very pleased with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. They made our stay more enjoyable.

The breakfast had a nice variety of items and the service was brisk and efficient

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Travel Guy 03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
828 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 383 in Munich
2,151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 383 in Munich
907 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Property: Hotel Uhland
Address: Uhlandstr. 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#11 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#12 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Flat screen TV in every room Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing