We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time with a great staff!”
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Ranked #21 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful time with a great staff!”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This was our first time in Munich, and we stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Uhland. We loved the location of the hotel- very close to the plazas and Christmas markets, while being on a quiet little street. We ate the wonderful breakfast every morning of our stay. The rooms were well sized and clean, and every night we slept great. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and polite and added to the charm of this hotel. We recommend this to anyone staying in Munich. Great hotel! (Kids activities and pool are non applicable in our review section). We love the Hotel Uhland!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    257
    44
    11
    7
See reviews for
233
348
47
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed six nights at the Hotel Uhland, our first time in Munich. The staff are incredibly helpful, giving us some key recommendations that made our visit memorable. The rooms have these gorgeous high ceilings, and the hotel is a very short walk to the nearest U-bahn station (Theresienweise) right at the Festival Grounds. When we needed a Christkindlmarkt recommendation, staff had one and showed us exactly how to get there. Same for a beer-hall meal (Paulaner Brauhaus). Same for a neighborhood restaurant for a very comfy and delicious meal (Lenz). And we're spoiled now by breakfast at the Uhland. The hotel would be especially handy at Oktoberfest.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Level Contributor
352 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed at the Uhland for three nights and loved it. Great location within about 10-12 minutes walk from the main train station (Hauptbahnhoff). Room was a good size, very modern and clean and the beers in the mini bar were very reasonably priced at €2.50 for 500ml (and yes, we did partake).

Breakfast was included and was the typical European continental type but plenty of choice with cereals, cold meats, cheese, bread, boiled eggs etc.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, especially our friend Nate (from Philadelphia) on the front desk.

I would recommend the Uhland to anyone visiting Munich.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15MW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We are return visitors to the Hotel Uhland simply because we love it. It is an excellent small Hotel, well run in a professional and very friendly manner, the staff are always there to help you in any queries about Munich, day trips and so forth.

We usually walk there from the Hauptbanhof, with hand luggage it takes about 12 minutes, it is an easy walk, safe at night and we have often walked from the Hotel into the city centre and then got the Tube Back (U4/5 from the Hauptbahnhof).

At Christmas time, the Tollwoood Festival - a kind of arts and crafts Christmas market is located a few minutes walk away on the site where the Oktober fest is held, this is well worth a visit and there are many places on site to eat and drink,

An excellent buffet breakfast is provided at the Hotel in spotless environment, my tip would be to get down to breakfast pre 0830 if the Hotel is busy or leave until later as on one day people were waiting to sit down.

Our room on the second floor was spotless with a cosy toilet, wash basin, shower room ideal for our weekend needs.

Over the years, we have found the best way to enjoy the beer halls is to avoid the evening post 7pm and simply have a later lunch or an early dinner and then, if needs be sit it out with a few beers, that way, you avoid all the hassle of trying to find a table if you were to go out later in the evening with the intention of eating first.


On Friday we went on the Third Reich walking tour cost 15 Euros each, met under the glockenspiel at the Rathaus in Marienplatz, tour departs at 1015, look for the man with the yellow sign, we did not book but turned up and no problems. Ralph,our guide, highly knowledgeable, took our English speaking guide on a walk of about 2 and half hours showing us many sites of interest of what is still recent history. This is a highly recommended tour.

If you have not visited Munich before, may I suggest that you vista the MVV website which is the public transportation company, and look at the various ticketing and pricing arrangements, Munich is divided up into 4 zones of 4 rings each and it is pointless getting the wrongly priced ticket if you are just using the system on local hops, a day ticket is the one to buy if that's the case and to and from the airport if three are 2 or more of you the partner ticket (all zones). the system, as may be expected works like clockwork.

To and from the airport it is the S1 or S8 to get they both end up at the Hauptbanhof, one goes one way and one the other. From Munich to the Airport if you get the S1 make sure you sit in the compartments, clearly marked fro the Airport as the train divides just short of there, don't let this worry you, just be alert to it. You are looking at a journey time of about 45 minutes, the Partner ticket costs 20 Euros and 40 cents (Dec 13 prices).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sergeantyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connellsville, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Once again the Hotel Uhland did not disappoint. We stayed there 3 years ago and returned due to the excellent facilities and especially the staff. Bridgette is a lovely hostess, speaks perfect English and is eager to help in every way possible. Our room was small, as was the bath, but perfectly clean and adequate. The quiet neighborhood is within a 5 minute walk of the underground and Oktoberfest grounds. Would We stay there again? We already have and hope we can return in the near future. Well done Brigette.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLKConnellsville_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We visited in December, but I would imagine this hotel can't be beat for Oktoberfest location. We walked here from the Hauptbahnhof and while I was a little concerned by the neighborhood as we walked along, the hotel is actually on a nice quiet street. Everyone was very friendly and the room was comfortable and spacious. This was the 6th (and final) stop on our France/Germany tour and Uhland had the biggest shower of any place we stayed. Wifi was good, and the metro stop is a short walk which was welcome since it was so cold out. Agree with ColoradoHighlander that their website is odd, but they were very responsive via email. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Level Contributor
619 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife and I lived here during the fall of 1983, one of the eight years during which the hotel hosted students from The University of Wisconsin Stevens Point who were studying abroad. Imagine our excitement as we returned to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We loved it 30 years ago and loved it again now.
Rick Steves likes this hotel and so do we. First of all, it sits in a very elegant neighborhood with easy access to the U Bahn at the Octoberfest Grounds. It is close to St. Pauls and not far from the main train station.
Rooms are cozy and the staff is very friendly. We had a nice bottle of Champagne in our room as a welcome gift. Breakfast is included and the dining room was cozy. Nice selection of meats and cheeses made for a great start to each day. The hotel has been updated in the last 30 years but has not lost any of its charm. For price, quality, and location, this place is hard to beat!

Room Tip: There is an elevator so any floor is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piseu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#7 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Property: Hotel Uhland
Address: Uhlandstr. 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#12 Family Hotel in Munich
#13 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Flat screen TV in every room Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing