We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Ranked #6 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delightful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I stay at Hotel Uhland for one night (June 4) and had an excellent experience. Hands down, we stay here again.

The room was clean and bright, the bath a generous size and the location very good (a short distance from the train station). Breakfast was wonderful and included with our room charge. All in all a great place to stay. We highly recommend Hotel Uhland

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    257
    44
    11
    6
See reviews for
231
346
47
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This a nice place located about a 15 minute walk from the main train station, but tucked away off a side street to give you a feel that you aren't in a big city. They have a nice buffet breakfast. The building and rooms are clean. You are about a 30 minute walk from the Marienplatz Square with the glockenspiel, historic buildings, beer halls, shops, restaurants, etc. Free WiFi.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank rjuricich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family of 5 stayed here for one night before departing for Venice. We had 2 rooms right next to each other and they were clean, beds very comfy. The location is great for train station as we walked there the next day to catch the U bahn to Venice. It is about a 15 minute walk to the center of town but all in a very safe area. I know the location is fantastic for Oktoberfest! Staff was really friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed the breakfast and it filled us up which is not easy as I have 3 teenage boys! I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCB0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We first stayed at the Hotel Uhland 11 years ago and thought it would be fun to return and see how the place was doing,we did and they are doing fine! Thought its not super close to old town (15-20 min. walk) it is close to the U bahn station and to a very good restaurant, Lenz. The room we had was a larger room, and it was very nice,like staying at your German friends house. Everything you need,you have,big bathroom,LOTS of closet space and a big comfortable bed. The breakfast room was the home of Nate,a great guy with a super personality,ready with advice on where to go and where to eat and how to get there! We spent the most of one morning talking to him whilehe completed his work,it was great fun. The entire staff at the Uhland is very helpful,they even had breakfast waiting for us at 5:30 AM the morning we left. These are the things that make this place a great place to call home in Munich!

Room Tip: Our room was in the front on the 2nd floor,with big windows so we could let the air into the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arcoccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

A reaaly beautiful old hotel hotel in great condition. rooms are large and clean and the hotel staff are very helpful and dressed in traditional outfits. there is off street parking available for free and there is an underground station about a five min walk from the hotel. perfect for Oktoberfest, but about 20 mins walk from Munich's centre.

Room Tip: The wifi on the top floor isnt good, but it works on ground and first floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikehiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great little hotel for a short stay. My friend and I were on our way from London to Cyprus by train and stopped off here for two nights as it was fairly close to station and centre and tucked away in a side street. It's a very welcoming place with adequate clean rooms. Breakfast was excellent and the reception staff, with the exception of one who was very abrupt on the phone and face to face, were very friendly and helpful. I found the WiFi patchy although they do have a small lounge for PC use.

I would recommend it to anyone for a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyeemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We traveled to Munich in May 2013 and the hotel is situated in an excellent location. Everything in walking distance including the must see Marienplatz. Bathrooms may be small, but the character and age of the hotel are truly unique assets. Breakfast staff is delightful as well as the front desk folks. We used a local restaurant, Lenz, twice while there and it was just great. Lovely neighborhood and walking distance to Ocktoberfest grounds as previous reviews indicate.
We rented a car as we were traveling to Rothenberg ob der Tauber after a five night stay in Munich. We drove out of Munich for various day trips while there. Parking was on property and in mid May we had no problem. Helpful hint: bring your own shampoo, conditioner as well as a bar of soap.

While we visited the well known Hofbrau House, we also ate at a large restaurant called Hacker- Schorr, which " appears" to be a chain serving good beers and good German fare. We have never eaten such delicious bratwurst and sausages in our lives and the sauerkraut is simply so different from that in the States. Easy to eat Low carb diet in Germany. Although must admit that the bakery rolls at breakfast are too hard to resist! When in Munich, right off Marienplatz, ask for the locals favorite bier garden/ restaurant called Andechser am Dom, or Augistiner am Dom..locals ate here and it was packed. Inside as well as outside where we enjoyed fabulous German fare.

Anyway, all within walking distance from Hotel Uhland! Enjoy!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MercyMe94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#10 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Property: Hotel Uhland
Address: Uhlandstr. 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#7 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#12 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Flat screen TV in every room Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing